Daniel McCarthy of Musicbed and Filmsupply: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Began Leading My Company

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readMay 9, 2021

--

The journey is more fun than the destination. You set out to build something, and you accidentally set your sights on a prize. Big or small, here’s a spoiler alert: it won’t fulfill you. You hit the goal, the prize, the finish line, and you realize that the fun part was actually the journey. Enjoy every day with your team, solving problems for your customer, and creating the best possible company culture you can while you are at it.

As part of my series about the leadership lessons of accomplished business leaders, I had the pleasure of interviewing Daniel McCarthy. As CEO of Filmsupply and Musicbed, Daniel empowers creatives around the globe to do what they love.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

My co-founder Nic and I were running an ad agency and doing a ton of film/commercial work. There weren’t any good options for indie music or cinematic…

--

--