Danielle Schulz Of The Triangle Sessions On How Live Arts Helped Teach Courage, Authenticity, Vulnerability & Career Success

An Interview With Vanessa Ogle

Vanessa Ogle
Authority Magazine
13 min readApr 19, 2024

--

Photo credit: Justin Patterson

Patience and adaptability. Sometimes you have to be patient and sometimes you have to adapt. Finding the balance is a dance (terrible pun intended). It took me five years after graduating college to land the job at the Met Opera. Had I landed a contract right out of school, I wouldn’t have been artistically ready and likely not hired back. Putting in the work and having patience led me to longevity at my dream job.

The stage is a powerful platform for personal and professional growth. Through live arts, individuals learn to embrace vulnerability, project authenticity, and muster unparalleled courage. These experiences not only shape artists but also prepare them for varied career paths with a distinctive edge. From actors and dancers to directors and behind-the-scenes creators, the lessons learned in the limelight often translate into profound career success beyond the footlights. As part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Danielle Schulz.

Danielle Schulz is the founder of The Triangle Sessions, a corporate wellness company specializing in team building and virtual experiences. She’s worked with over 100 companies such as a Google, Meta, Deloitte, and more. The company’s mission is to help build camaraderie in the workplace while emphasizing individual well-being.

Danielle has been a dancer at the Metropolitan Opera since 2014 and has danced in iconic productions such as Aida, Don Giovanni, Parsifal, and more. In addition to performing, she’s a certified yoga teacher, certified nutrition counselor, and former Ballet Beautiful trainer for celebrity clients. Danielle has traveled to over 50 countries and loves bringing people together through unique experiences.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series. Before we dive in, our readers would love to get to know you” a bit better. Can you share with us the backstory about what brought you to your specific career in live arts?

Like many little girls, my mom put me into ballet class at the age of 3…except I never stopped. By the age of 10, I knew that this was what I wanted to do with my life. When it came time to graduate high school, I wasn’t sure if I could make it as a ballet dancer. To hedge my bets, I went to the Tisch School of the Arts at NYU to strengthen my training AND have a backup plan in place in case a professional dance career didn’t pan out. The program changed my life. It helped me become more versatile artist, all while deepening my academic pursuits.

By the time I graduated, it was 2009 and the job market was tight. I was offered an apprenticeship with a ballet company, but turned it down to perform on a cruise ship — surprising many people. A single week performing on a cruise ship equated to one month’s pay with the ballet company…and with no expenses on the ship. I opted for a bit of financial security right out of school, plus the chance to visit more than 30 countries around the world.

After the cruise ship contract, I alternated between dancing in small companies and taking more lucrative commercial contracts. In 2014, after four attempts, I received a contract for a new production at the Metropolitan Opera in NYC. It was a dream job — one that was both artistically fulfilling as well as financially rewarding. I’ve been there ever since, and it’s provided some of the happiest years of my life.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

I came to a crossroads in 2014, just months before I landed my first contract at the Met. I had been up for some big jobs, but none of them panned out. I was getting frustrated, not to mention broke. On a whim, I auditioned for an iconic production in Las Vegas as a showgirl. I was offered the job, although I was insistent that my role NOT be topless…the producers agreed. I flew out to see the show and, although the dancers were beautiful, I knew it wasn’t right for me. I respectfully declined, despite not having a backup plan.

One week later, I auditioned for a new production at the Metropolitan Opera, Bluebeard’s Castle. Two hundred women showed up for 5 spots. There were multiple rounds over the course of two days. From 200 girls, the group was slowly whittled down to 100, then 50, then 20, then 10….I was still there. Finally, the choreographer and director picked their 5 women. I was one of them. Completely elated, I couldn’t believe my luck. Then, the director said, “one of you will be doing a dramatic solo.” He looks around the room and nods at me. Again, I’m ecstatic, but he nonchalantly mentions, “by the way, you’ll be topless.” I chuckled to myself at the irony and accepted.

I learned two things from this experience:

1. Trust your gut and wait for the right opportunity

2. Life requires a bit of flexibility

Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

1.) Consistency — Despite the ups and down of my career, I always take ballet class on a consistent basis. Not only has this practice kept me in shape, but it keeps me focused and on track. I use this same concept with my business, The Triangle Sessions — if I’m having a frustrating day, I don’t give up — I take a breath, work through it, and good things result.

2.) Positive Attitude — I don’t audition particularly well, nor do I pick up material quickly. However, the fact that I work hard and exude positive energy has helped me obtain roles onstage and in business. Equally important, this positive attitude helps get me rehired. It worked in dance, and has worked equally well with my wellness business — more than half of the companies with which I have worked have hired me again.

3.) Respect — I always show utmost respect for my colleagues, directors, and support staff. When I graduated from NYU — Tisch, Whoopi Goldberg was our commencement speaker. She encouraged us to be nice to EVERYONE: make-up artists, dressers, PAs, caterers, crew members, etc. I took these words to heart and try to demonstrate respect in every one of my interactions, both in the theater and for The Triangle Sessions.

Ok, thank you for that. Lets now jump to the primary focus of our interview. How has a live performance experience directly influenced a critical decision or leadership style in your professional career?

Don’t underestimate the value of preparation. Dancers have to train constantly to maintain a certain level of technique. There’s no faking it. Then, countless hours of rehearsals are required to learn a show. Rehearsals and run-through minimize the likeliness of a mishap.

However, with live theater, mishaps occur. It’s part of its beauty. But with a lot of rehearsal comes a strong foundation in which performers can recover. If the foundation is weak, the entire piece can fall apart. However, the way in which a performer recovers is often more interesting than a perfectly executed piece. And 99% of the time, the audience rarely notices.

Preparation has been at the backbone of The Triangle Sessions. I host the vast majority of our experiences, most of which are performed via Zoom. Lighting and sound are of high-quality; music levels have been solidified. The material itself has been practiced, work-shopped, and rehearsed. Since the experiences are performed in real time with the participants, there’s a level of spontaneity to keep the material fresh. As a host, I’ve learned to quickly read the room and adapt to the comfort level of the attendees. All of this is possible because of a strong foundation and a lot of preparation.

Can you describe a moment on stage that taught you a profound lesson about vulnerability and how you’ve applied that lesson offstage?

I got hit with a sudden, violent stomach bug while performing Aida at the Met Opera. I literally vomited all over the stage at the end of Act I. Luckily, the curtain had JUST come down so the audience missed the puke-fest. I was still mortified. Despite my embarrassment, my biggest takeaway was this: always have a backup plan. People DO get sick at inconvenient times, accidents happen. As soon as I started to feel ill in the warm-up, I let my understudy know. She had time to prepare, both mentally and physically. She had been well-rehearsed for this kind of scenario for months, and danced the ballet in Act 2 beautifully.

This taught me to always have a Plan B. It provides peace of mind for everyone involved. Preparation is key for all kinds of scenarios. It’s something that I’ve never forgotten and has served me well when hosting experiences for The Triangle Sessions….back-up plans are instrumental for success and customer satisfaction.

In what ways has the discipline and creativity demanded by live arts shaped your approach to career challenges and opportunities?

Ballet requires YEARS of discipline. The way one performs movement on stage often requires tremendous creativity. The two go hand-in-hand when running a business. Sometimes, you don’t want to write that newsletter, design a class, or practice a workshop. But not unlike ballet, it has to be done if you want to succeed. And guess what? It’s rewarding when it’s over. I think dancers — and most likely business owners — get addicted to the feeling of accomplishment.

On the flip side, creativity has been crucial to the success of The Triangle Sessions. Our creative programming such as ‘Foam Rollers & Fizz’ and ‘Malbec & Murals’ has been a driving success. The ability to capture both corporate wellness AND team building has set us apart. Plus, clients keep coming back for more. It’s all about putting in the work and getting creative to stand out in a competitive marketplace.

How do you think the authenticity required in live performances has impacted your personal brand or leadership identity in your career?

Martha Graham has a quote: “Bodies don’t lie.” I believe this wholeheartedly, especially as a dancer. You can tell when a performer is phoning it in. When a dancer isn’t fully authentic and committed, the audience can tell. It’s disappointing.

Being fully authentic and committed is at the core of The Triangle Sessions. We stick with what we know and what we can deliver at a high-quality. There’s no phoning it in. We’re present and mindful in everything we do when it comes to client interactions and team building experiences. It’s cemented customer loyalty.

Photo credit: Devin Cruz

Based on your experience and research, can you please share 5 Ways That Live Arts Helped Teach Courage, Authenticity, Vulnerability and Career Success?”

1 . Courage — A career in the arts is not for the faint of heart. It comes with a lot of rejection. It takes courage to show up to auditions and put yourself out there doing the thing you’ve trained your entire life to do, only to be cut 15 minutes later (aka not get the job). This is part of the process. I’ve been to hundreds of auditions over the course of my dance career, only to book a dozen or so jobs. There are a lot of factors out of your control; and you can’t take it personally. Rejection never feels good, but it definitely builds resilience. This has come in handy when running one’s own business. If a prospect says “no,” it’s not the end of the world. You move onto the next. But when the stars align and you receive that “yes,” it’s all the more rewarding.

2 . Mindfulness — Mental and physical well-being come first. If I’ve learned anything from my dance career, it’s that taking care of my mental and physical well-being has to be a priority. I’d fail otherwise. To perform at my personal best, I’ve had to figure out what my body and brain need — a certain amount of sleep (8+ hours); the time of day I’m most productive (I’m at my worst around 2pm); eating foods that give me energy (eating small meals every few hours until dinner time); cross-training (yoga, not running LOL); etc. Taking all of these factors into account and incorporating them into my day-to-day has been paramount to my career. If I didn’t figure out what worked (and what didn’t), I wouldn’t have had the success I’ve had. This idea of self-awareness is incorporated into nearly all our events at The Triangle Sessions. The experiences are always fun, but they touch upon a broader theme of self-reflection and habit formation.

3 . Vulnerability — Performing comes with a certain element of vulnerability but, for dancers, it feels particularly heightened. Your body IS the instrument. There’s no hiding. That’s why being pregnant as a dancer felt particularly vulnerable. When my body started to change, I felt out of control and on display. Luckily, the Met Opera was incredibly supportive. They gave me the opportunity to understudy The Magic Flute when I was 6–8 months pregnant. I was self-conscious at first, but that instantly melted away. Management and my colleagues were amazing. I performed with a visible baby bump and was proud to be on stage. They cheered when I went on and threw me a baby shower on my last day. It was this period of vulnerability that led to building stronger connections. I felt more grateful than ever for such an encouraging community.

I learned that vulnerability is an opportunity to deepen relationships. Vulnerability isn’t a sign of weakness; it’s a sign of strength. Showing vulnerability in the building of The Triangle Sessions has led to healthier connections. Our experiences nudge people out of their comfort zones, stimulate creativity and, ultimately, develop stronger connections in the workplace.

4 . Patience and adaptability. Sometimes you have to be patient and sometimes you have to adapt. Finding the balance is a dance (terrible pun intended). It took me five years after graduating college to land the job at the Met Opera. Had I landed a contract right out of school, I wouldn’t have been artistically ready and likely not hired back. Putting in the work and having patience led me to longevity at my dream job.

At the same time, it’s okay to adapt. My diehard ballet years as a teenager led to multiple injuries and a borderline eating disorder. I began to explore other types of dance such as modern, jazz and contemporary dance. Ultimately, this made me more versatile and led me in a different direction than what I had originally planned. Ballet is still very much my foundation, but I’m glad I didn’t abandon dance altogether. I just adjusted the route.

The same has been for The Triangle Sessions. When I first started offering corporate wellness classes via Zoom at the beginning of the pandemic, no one was interested — they just wanted an excuse for a party. Then, I began to incorporate fun educational components into the sessions, and business started booming. We now offer an array of classes (e.g. Terrariums, Paint & Sips, Bonsais, Saké and Wine Tastings, and more), but there’s always a wellness theme. I’ve learned that I can adapt without throwing principles and passions out the window.

5 . Team work — Probably my biggest takeaway from being in the arts is the power of collective effort. There’s something really magical about a group of artists coming together and collaborating. What’s special about working at the Metropolitan Opera is that it’s the amalgamation of some of the best artists in the world working together on a single production. The final product can be awe-inspiring. It’s proof that the sum can be greater than its parts.

This is satisfying for both the artists involved AND for the audience. The same goes for more traditional business environments. When people do their best as individuals, the outcome can be exponential. Having experienced this first-hand in the arts gives me hope that the same approach can be applied to teams in the corporate world.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Wow, that’s a great question. I’m a firm believer that daily, mindful movement can have a huge impact on one’s well-being. If I could create an easily accessible program or method that could inspire this daily habit, I believe it would have a ripple effect. It would positively influence one’s work, home-life, and community. That feel-good, grounding mentality would inspire people to do their best work and become the best versions of themselves. From there, people can challenge themselves to grow, learn, and explore, thus having a positive impact on the world. It can all start with a commitment to move in a mindful way each and every day.

How can our readers further follow you online?

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

About The Interviewer: Vanessa Ogle is a mom, entrepreneur, inventor, writer, and singer/songwriter. Vanessa’s talent in building world-class leadership teams focused on diversity, a culture of service, and innovation through inclusion allowed her to be one of the most acclaimed Latina CEO’s in the last 30 years. She collaborated with the world’s leading technology and content companies such as Netflix, Amazon, HBO, and Broadcom to bring innovative solutions to travelers and hotels around the world. Vanessa is the lead inventor on 120+ U.S. Patents. Accolades include: FAST 100, Entrepreneur 360 Best Companies, Inc. 500 and then another six times on the Inc. 5000. Vanessa was personally honored with Inc. 100 Female Founder’s Award, Ernst and Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award, and Enterprising Women of the Year among others. Vanessa now spends her time sharing stories to inspire and give hope through articles, speaking engagements and music. In her spare time she writes and plays music in the Amazon best selling new band HigherHill, teaches surfing clinics, trains dogs, and cheers on her children.

Please connect with Vanessa here on linkedin and subscribe to her newsletter Unplugged as well as follow her on Substack, Instagram, Facebook, and X and of course on her website VanessaOgle.

--

--

Vanessa Ogle
Authority Magazine

Vanessa Ogle is an entrepreneur, inventor, writer, and singer/songwriter. She is best known as the founder of Enseo