Danielle White of Myraid Advisors Solutions On How to Grow Beyond Your Comfort Zone to Grow Both Personally and Professionally

An Interview With Maria Angelova

--

Embrace the challenge. Identify a vision or goal, even if you are unsure of how to attain that goal in the moment. If a goal or vision stretches my creativity and challenges my perception of control, I find that striving to achieve it is the easiest way to ensure that I step outside of my comfort zone.

It feels most comfortable to stick with what we are familiar with. But anyone who has achieved great success will tell you that true growth comes from pushing yourself out of your comfort zone. What are some ways that influential people have pushed themselves out of their comfort zone to grow both personally and professionally? As a part of this series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Danielle White.

Danielle White, CEO of Myriad Advisor Solutions, has been with the firm since 2009, using her experience in the financial services industry and business arena to lead a team of approximately 50 as they seek to provide a broad array of all-encompassing, premier solutions for small business owners who, like Myriad, are always seeking to become more efficient, effective, and profitable. Her passion is educating and empowering small business owners across the nation, helping them to achieve their goals by alleviating the operational demands and challenges that new and growing businesses invariably face.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we start, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your childhood backstory?

Absolutely. I grew up just outside of Seattle in Woodinville, Washington. My most formative years were spent there until the position my father held with his company was transferred to Iowa. Since my parents were originally from there, we took the opportunity to move closer to family, and I have lived in Iowa since then.

My mother was an entrepreneur so I grew up in an entrepreneurial household from an early age. I was always assisting my mom with odd jobs, helping out with her business whenever I could. And of course, there was also sports.

I’ve always loved sports from as far back as I can remember. In fact, most of my childhood was built around sports; I was involved in one sport or another year-round. I love the work ethic and discipline required as well as the comradery and team work. I continue to be involved in recreational sports today.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Learn as if you were going to live forever, and live as if you were going to die tomorrow.”- John Wooden

I apply this quote to my life each and every day. I focus in on every detail and minute of my life because there is value everywhere that philosophy is applied. I try not to waste a minute of my time, investing not only for the short-term but for the long term as well. Focusing on the long game is essential to success. Understanding long-term goals carves out the path for my team so that we can all work together toward common goals and, ultimately, a unified vision.

Is there a particular book, podcast, or film that made a significant impact on you? Can you share a story or explain why it resonated with you so much?

Mindset: The New Psychology of Success by Carol S. Dweck has been extremely impactful to me when entering any challenge, conversation, or experience. A person’s mindset is the starting point for all development and growth. Embracing your perceived deficiencies while simultaneously using a growth mindset to see the value within yourself and others is incredibly empowering. Looking at all engagements throughout life with a focus on growth allows you to learn from each moment, enhancing your future in ways both large and small. And the best part is that it works whether the experience was a success or even a failure. There are always lessons to be learned, situations to build from, and experiences to expand our perspectives. Not a single person in the world has had the same opportunities or experiences. Every single person you interact with has a different perspective and life experiences so they can all teach you something, allowing you to grow.

Let’s now shift to the main part of our discussion. Let’s start with a basic definition so that all of us are on the same page. What does “getting outside of your comfort zone” mean?

Your comfort zone is a place you feel safe and comfortable, it is familiar territory where things are easy and predictable. Getting outside of your comfort zone is anything you do to push those boundaries and enter uncharted territory. Very exciting stuff.

Can you help articulate a few reasons why it is important to get out of your comfort zone?

Getting out of your comfort zone is exciting. Pushing those boundaries allows for the opportunity to grow and learn more about yourself. Expanding your exposure to new things, broadening your experiences, your awareness and your development invariably also broadens your horizons. You have a chance to learn new things: different problem-solving skills, new perspectives, how to retrain your habits. All of these things increase the quality of your life and the lives of those around you.

Is it possible to grow without leaving your comfort zone? Can you explain what you mean?

No, ultimately, I do not believe you can grow without leaving your comfort zone. There are different levels of risk and discomfort when you leave behind things that are familiar. They have the potential for exponential growth. A comfort zone is a place of steadiness and control based on things you already know.

Can you share some anecdotes from your personal experience? Can you share a story about a time when you stepped out of your comfort zone and how it helped you grow? How does it feel to take those first difficult steps?

I think I took the largest step outside of my comfort zone when I moved to China for a year without knowing the language, customs, or even one other person there. It was the most eye-opening experience of my life. I entered a completely new world and as a result was forced to push past my fears and what I thought were my limitations. I had to understand a new culture and its customs, and then develop a entirely new way of living. It was incredibly humbling and frightening not to know how to do basic things: order food, navigate public transportation, even something as basic as how to find a bathroom. This was one of the only times in my life I actually thought about quitting, but I am beyond happy that I decided to see the commitment through. I had so many new experiences and was exposed to so many new things. They simply would not have been possible if I hadn’t been willing to face my fears, to push past my comfort zone. As a result, I grew far beyond what I thought were my limitations. It’s one of the best things I have ever done for myself.

Here is the central question of our discussion. What are your “five ways to push past your comfort zone, to grow both personally and professionally”?

  1. Say yes to as many new opportunities as possible, within reason.

I try not to over-commit myself to responsibilities I can’t fulfill, but being open and broadening my exposure to new things has opened so many doors for me.

2. Be inquisitive and curious.

I enter every conversation with the mindset that I can learn something from the other person.

3. Travel.

By the way, the travel does not necessarily have to be far away. You can attend an organizational event on the other side of town that you have never been to or experienced. Being introduced to different cultures, perspectives and people will always push me outside of my comfort zone.

4. Lighten up.

I try not to take myself too seriously. I’m aware that I have a high probability of failure when I step outside of my comfort zone. I’ve decided to be ok with that. There is growth in failure. In fact, some of my biggest failures are now responsible for some my greatest wins. Converting the knowledge and experience from a failure definitely leads to future success.

5. Embrace the challenge.

Identify a vision or goal, even if you are unsure of how to attain that goal in the moment. If a goal or vision stretches my creativity and challenges my perception of control, I find that striving to achieve it is the easiest way to ensure that I step outside of my comfort zone.

From your experience or perspective, what are some of the common barriers that keep someone from pushing out of their comfort zone?

  1. Fear of the unknown.
  2. Potential for failure.
  3. Lack of perceived control.
  4. Imposter Syndrome; feeling not equipped to take something on our lacking the self confidence.

There is a well-known quote attributed to Eleanor Roosevelt that says, “Do something that scares you every day”. What exactly does this mean to you? Is there inherent value in doing something that pushes you out of your comfort zone, even if it does not relate to personal or professional growth? For example, if one is uncomfortable about walking alone at night should they purposely push themselves to do it often for the sake of going beyond their comfort zone? Can you please explain what you mean?

I believe that Mrs. Roosevelt’s quote means that we should all be willing to face our fears in order to live bigger and better lives. That philosophy of “doing something that scares you every day,” essentially forces you to step outside of comfort zone into new experiences and new situations. Personally, I believe it is enough to do something that challenges you every day, not necessarily scare you. Something that scares you could instill those feelings for a reason, and may not illicit a positive response. A challenge, however, is something that I believe adds value as well as growth while enabling you to face healthy fears. Stepping outside of your comfort zone will always provide inherent value to your life, as it opens your awareness and enhances your perspective.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be?

Without a doubt, when I think about inspiring a movement that would bring the greatest amount of good to the most people, it’s the concept of “paying it forward.” I try to live by that ideal every day. It can be in big ways or small, but every person has the ability to make an impact on someone else. If people live intentionally and are more aware of their interactions with one another, our world will be a much better place.

Is there a person in the world whom you would love to have lunch with, and why? Maybe we can tag them and see what happens!

What a great question. I would love to have lunch with Peyton Manning. I grew up watching his games and have followed his career not only as a professional athlete but into his business profession. I believe it would be fascinating to learn from him, to understand his approach to life and business, and to find out what inspired him, what pushed him early in his career and what continues to feed his drive.

How can our readers follow you online?

Twitter: https://twitter.com/white_danielle

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/danielle-white-949a4b1a

To track my events and in the news: www.myriadas.com/Resources

Thank you so much for sharing these important insights. We wish you continued success and good health!

About The Interviewer: Maria Angelova, MBA is a disruptor, author, motivational speaker, body-mind expert, Pilates teacher and founder and CEO of Rebellious Intl. As a disruptor, Maria is on a mission to change the face of the wellness industry by shifting the self-care mindset for consumers and providers alike. As a mind-body coach, Maria’s superpower is alignment which helps clients create a strong body and a calm mind so they can live a life of freedom, happiness and fulfillment. Prior to founding Rebellious Intl, Maria was a Finance Director and a professional with 17+ years of progressive corporate experience in the Telecommunications, Finance, and Insurance industries. Born in Bulgaria, Maria moved to the United States in 1992. She graduated summa cum laude from both Georgia State University (MBA, Finance) and the University of Georgia (BBA, Finance). Maria’s favorite job is being a mom. Maria enjoys learning, coaching, creating authentic connections, working out, Latin dancing, traveling, and spending time with her tribe. To contact Maria, email her at angelova@rebellious-intl.com. To schedule a free consultation, click here.

--

--

Maria Angelova, CEO of Rebellious Intl.
Authority Magazine

Maria Angelova, MBA is a disruptor, author, motivational speaker, body-mind expert, Pilates teacher and founder and CEO of Rebellious Intl.