David Yontef of the Behind the Velvet Rope Podcast: Be a Fan and Have Fun to Create a Bingeable Podcast

Tracy Hazzard
Authority Magazine
Published in
13 min readJul 28, 2020

--

I ask the questions the listeners REALLY want answers to. Those aren’t always the easy questions to ask but since I know a lot of the talent I am interviewing they feel safe and relaxed and I often get the answers I need for my audience.

As part of my series of interviews about “5 things you need to know to create a very bingeable podcast”, I had the pleasure of interviewing reality TV and pop culture connoisseur David Yontef.

David is a superfan of reality stars, ‘Bravolebrities’ and celebs. He’s since turned his fandom into friendship, appearing in scenes with ‘Real Housewives’ across franchises, rubbing shoulders with them at countless events, and even making their “main feeds” on Instagram. His popular podcast, Acast’s “Behind the Velvet Rope” is an inside look into his hobnobbing with the stars behind our screens and rise from superfan to “super friend.” The show has grown massively since its creation in January of this year, appearing in the top 10 on Apple Podcasts, and has attracted guests like Patti Stanger of The Millionaire Matchmaker, Tamra Judge of Real Housewives of Orange

--

--

Tracy Hazzard
Authority Magazine

Podcasting Expert Strategist; Host of 7 top podcasts: The Binge Factor; New Trust Economy; Feed Your Brand; Product Launch Hazzards; WTFFF?! Podetize Co-Founder