Devin Reeve: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Content Creator

An Interview With Susan Johnston

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
7 min readMay 1, 2024

--

I can’t think of 5 things, but here are two things that I wish I was told when I was first getting started. That agents don’t care about how passionate you are about your craft. Instead, they want to know what makes you different than all the other actors. I learned this the hard way when I was younger and interviewing with agents. I’m so passionate about my craft that’s all I would talk about, but then a mentor of mine said, “Devin all artists are passionate, but not all are successful. You need to show them why you are above the rest”. Second thing is…It really is all about who you know. However, when you know the right people, you have to be ready and can’t mess up the opportunity. So, stay prepared, master your craft and show the world what you are about.

As a part of our series called “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Filmmaker”, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Devin Reeve.

Devin Reeve is a classically trained Actor, as well as Director, Producer and Writer, who has built a successful career by instituting hard work, integrity and innovative creativity. His past projects have received domestic and internationally distribution and have been seen on Netflix, HULU, Amazon, Showtime and SyFy. In addition, Reeve is a proud member of S.A.G.-AFTRA, the Television Academy and the Producers Guild of America.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up?

Originally from Atlanta, I grew up in a loving family that supported my dreams and aspirations. My parents were all about family, so we took a lot of family road trips, watched a lot of movies and had what my dad would call good ol family time.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

As I mentioned above, we watched a lot of movies, so I was always fascinated with cinema. But what really did it was when we took a family trip to Universal Studios. While visiting the park I was picked out of the crowd to be a part of a VFX show. The show tech took me backstage, put me in a flight suit and lead me to a spaceship that was in front of a greenscreen. During the show I got to fly the ship while projections of it flying through space were showcased on the screens for the audience to see. As a 10-year-old that was the coolest thing I had ever got to do. After the show I told the show tech that I was going to come back to Universal one day and be an actor. He replied “following your dreams kid. Anything is possible”.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your content creator career?

During the filming Transient in Santa Monica a beautiful moment happened. While Luis was filming Danny crossing the street, I was off in the distance as a line of reference for Danny. Since I wasn’t sure what Luis shot was going to be I stayed in character just in case he caught me on camera. As I stood there all alone, looking lost and numb, a random pedestrian walked by and said, “God bless you man, hope you get better”. That was such an amazing moment, because his words are what our film is all about. Giving hope to others.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

I had just gotten back to LA and was rushing to get an upscale event that my manager had set up for me to attend. With no time to change I rushed to get there wearing jeans and hoody. As I approached the check in, I was thinking there is no way they are going to let me in with this outfit. Fortunately for me they did. but I felt a little out of place as everyone else was dressed in black tie and gowns. Fast forward about an hour into the event, I was at the tea/coffee bar making a cup of tea and suddenly I hear a voice say with a small laugh, “At least two of us dressed up. They got any earl grey?” I turned to see Dave Chapelle standing right next to me. Great dude and always fun to talk with.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I’ve been fortunate enough to have had a few great coaches and mentors. Some for years and others just for a short period time. The ones who stand out the most are Stephanie Feury, Billy Ray and Sifu Jason Lau. The knowledge they shared was valuable and it guided my career path forward. Of course, I can’t leave out the love and support from my beautiful wife Jocelyn Kuan.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I live my life by this quote…”If one does not begin with the right attitude, there is little hope for the right ending.” If you keep an open mind the possibilities are endless and that is how I choose to approach my personal and professional life.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Right now, I’m in development on a few projects, but the one that has the most momentum is called “The Illum” which is based off our Graphic Novel that shares the same title.

Which aspect of your work makes you most proud? Can you explain or give a story?

Diving into a great character that is the complete opposite of myself is like nothing else. Similar to my character in Transient.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why?

I can’t think of 5 things, but here are two things that I wish I was told when I was first getting started. That agents don’t care about how passionate you are about your craft. Instead, they want to know what makes you different than all the other actors. I learned this the hard way when I was younger and interviewing with agents. I’m so passionate about my craft that’s all I would talk about, but then a mentor of mine said, “Devin all artists are passionate, but not all are successful. You need to show them why you are above the rest”. Second thing is…It really is all about who you know. However, when you know the right people, you have to be ready and can’t mess up the opportunity. So, stay prepared, master your craft and show the world what you are about.

When you create a film, which stakeholders have the greatest impact on the artistic and cinematic choices you make? Is it the viewers, the critics, the financiers, or your own personal artistic vision? Can you share a story with us or give an example about what you mean?

For me it’s all about the artistic vision, but it’s really a balancing act between artistic vision and financiers. I’m a firm believer that a financier should leave it up to the creatives to do the creative work. However, we have to respect the budget we are given and make the best decisions for a film that does not jeopardize the quality on the screen. As a film maker it is our job to make the best possible film, so we can protect the financier’s investment. After all, my goal is to do great work that the entire team is proud of so we can build a long-term working relationship.

You are a person of great influence. If you could spread an idea that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can prompt. :-)

I would spread the idea of it’s okay to have different opinions and ideas and still have respect and love for one another. Our beautiful world is made up of many different people and cultures that I believe it’s important to learn from each other and accept others with understanding and kindness, even if you disagree.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? They might see this. :-)

A private lunch with a Studio Head or VC Funding person would be fun. The conversation would be light and casual mixed with a little bit of business. But one thing I’ve learned in my career is that people only work with people who they like. My goals are building long lasting relationships for business ventures, playing a good round of golf and making amazing content with amazing people.

How can our readers further follow you online?

You can follow me at @DevinReeve on all the socials. Company site is www.innovateprod.com

If you would like us to tag you on social media when we share it, please list your profiles:

@devinreeve on IG, X, Thread

About The Interviewer: Susan Johnston is a Media Futurist, Columnist as well as Founder and Director at New Media Film Festival®. The New Media Film Festival® — honoring stories worth telling since 2009, is an Award-winning, inclusive, and boundary-pushing catalyst for storytelling and technology. Susan was knighted in Rome in 2017 for her work in Arts & Humanity.

--

--