Director & Producer Nick Gregorio: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Artist

If someone offers you a budget, no matter how small, always say YES! Any time someone is willing to fork over cash for you to express yourself artistically you take it and make the most of it.

As a part of our series about “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Artist” I had the pleasure of interviewing Nick Gregorio.

Nick Gregorio is a producer and director, known for Old Strangers (2022), Happy Birthday, Harris Malden (2008) and Green (2010).

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up

Hey, I’m Nick Gregorio, writer, director, and producer of the new indie sci-fi thriller Old Strangers. I was born and raised in an Italian-American neighborhood in south Philadelphia. I graduated from Drexel University with a bachelor of arts and sciences majoring in Digital Media and minoring in Film and Video Production. I grew up as a huge fan of comics, anime, video games, and, of course, movies.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I had a fine arts background but was fascinated by how digital media was transforming traditional art forms. I was always drawn to visual storytelling but screenwriting is where my passion for the industry started. Screenwriting, and its visually motivated structure, clicked for me.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your filmmaking career?

I produce marketing materials and talk shows for larger studios and companies. One day at the “old studio” Michael Madson was a guest on a show. A few weeks earlier I directed and acted in a sketch spoofing the “ear mutilation scene” from Reservoir Dogs. A PA awkwardly pointed out to Michael that I made a spoof of his famous scene. Michael Madsen and I had a very interesting exchange that I can’t repeat…

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

I had the opportunity of directing Kevin Smith for the DC Daily, 2-hour live stream launch and that was a big career highlight for me. I’ve come across so many interesting people throughout the course of my career but the crew and producers that I’ve worked with are like family to me. We’ve been on so many production adventures together and those experiences have been priceless.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

There are different people who’ve helped me in different ways. I haven’t had a true mentor and that’s been difficult. This industry doesn’t have a mechanic/apprentice relationship like other trades. At times, it feels very dog-eat-dog and that can be disheartening. Who I look to for support are my contemporaries. Drew Marion, my co-EP and lead editor has been with me on hundreds of productions. Blake Gaytan, my cinematographer, is always down for a challenge. Kait Matlock, my HMU and make-up effects person, has been with me from the early days of my career. But the person who I’m most grateful for is my wife, Mary, she’s been supportive of my career and that’s so important. I’m so grateful to have a significant other that understands the difficulties of this industry.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“If it was easy, everyone would do it.” I’ve found that there are always points in a production where everything goes wrong — you doubt yourself, the hard drive crashes, the cut doesn’t play, the location doesn’t work — and in those moments that’s when I try to grit down and push through. Yes, it’s very tough when you are in it and it can feel hopeless but I promise it will pass.

I am very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

I think different opinions are important. I think that the arts are for everyone, not just a certain group of people. I think a product can only benefit from outside perspectives.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I am working on the promotion of my new feature film, Old Strangers. It’s currently available to rent or purchase on every VOD platform: Amazon, iTunes, Vudu, Google play, Youtube, Vimeo, etc.

Which aspect of your work makes you most proud? Can you explain or give a story?

Seeing a project through from conception to completion. Articulating and executing my vision.

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. I wish someone told me that filmmaking is more of an industry than an art form. You need to understand the business of the industry and I don’t mean the dramatized, Entourage version of it. I mean the day-to-day “How the heck am I gonna make ends meet?” version of the industry.
  2. Find a marketable trade like editing, cinematography, sound design, etc. to help break in and make a living while you are trying to get your career off of the ground.
  3. It’s gonna take a while! No, for real, it’s going to take decades to establish yourself. If you don’t have a cousin at CAA or an aunt at WB, you’ll have to start at the bottom and hustle for a very long time.
  4. If someone offers you a budget, no matter how small, always say YES! Any time someone is willing to fork over cash for you to express yourself artistically you take it and make the most of it.
  5. There may be a day when you lose your passion for the industry and that is okay. If you can do anything else, do it… you’ll be much happier.

When you create a film, which stakeholders have the greatest impact on the artistic and cinematic choices you make? Is it the viewers, the critics, the financiers, or your own personal artistic vision? Can you share a story with us or give an example about what you mean?

When I started out with my first film, Happy Birthday Harris Malden, I was only trying to please my own artistic vision. Then I went in the opposite direction and spent years trying to please contemporaries and executives. Now, I only have one rule: make something I would watch. It’s a combination of artistic integrity but also an understanding that audiences have a lot of choices and a lot of distractions. Your movie needs to be watchable. I know that sounds obvious but it is very hard to execute.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I want people to know that they are in control of their lives. That they can accomplish whatever they want. If you don’t like what you’re doing or you don’t like your situation then change it. It will be hard, but knowing that you are taking control and working towards a goal is the most satisfying thing you can do.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

Martin Scorsese, in my opinion, the greatest living director. I’d try to glean some insight into how he makes films so fearlessly. How is it possible to have that level of artistic integrity and still appeal to a mass audience?

How can our readers further follow you online?

I’ve made the choice to leave all social media platforms personally but you can follow @OldStrangersMovie on Facebook, Instagram, and Youtube.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.