Journalist Alexandria Cannito: “Don’t Be Offended If Someone Changes Your Writing”

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readJul 8, 2018

--

“The power of storytelling is incredible. People connect with strangers by reading or watching a story about someone they have never met, but their experience is what relates the two people. I love connecting people and making a true difference in communities by bringing awareness to important issues.”

I had the pleasure of interviewing Alexandria Cannito. The young journalist began her career at 19 years old as a video editor for a morning news show. She quickly worked her way up to an associate producer and then an on air reporter and fill in anchor. She has gone on to create a blog, homemeans.org, that focuses on simply telling people’s stories and shedding light on important issues.

Thank you so much for joining us Alexandria! What is your “backstory”?

It was my dream to be a reporter since the age of eight. My father, a former police captain, was watching an interview he did for the local news and was frustrated that the reporter skewed his words. That was when I got my first lesson in ethical journalism, and decided I would dedicate my career to…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator