“Don’t Get Caught Up In Your Idea” The 5 Lessons I Learned Being a 20-Something Founder

Jean Ginzburg
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readJul 13, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Jimmy Tomczak. Jimmy lives to inspire. He’s an inventor, author, and speaker, serving doers who want to do more. Jimmy founded Wet Star to help people with big ideas take massive action. He regularly consults with bold brands, startups, and individuals in the marketing, strategy, and innovation space to help them grow.

Jean: Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory” of how you become a founder?

I was the first in my family to go to college. I won scholarships to pay my way through my degree (BS Neuroscience 2010 + Program in Entrepreneurship, University of Michigan) but instead of going to medical school, I invented a product, started my own company, and was even selected to appear and taped for an episode of Shark Tank. Most recently I successfully launched the hardcover edition of my now #1 book, Lakeside & Tide: Inspiration for Living Your Best Life Now. You can see other top publications and podcasts where I’ve been featured here: http://www.jimmytomczak.com/press

Jean: What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

I love the water. It’s so symbolic, perfect, and inspiring. I can look out over an infinite horizon and feel small but…

--

--

Jean Ginzburg
Authority Magazine

#1 best-selling author, serial entrepreneur, digital marketing expert, founder of Alpenglo.Digital