Dorien Rose Duinker Shares Her Top Self-care, Wellness, and Beauty Tips

An Interview With Maria Angelova

--

Eat healthy, drink enough, exercise, be outside, breath fresh air, be with the ones you love and do what you love. Be where you want to be and love and trust in yourself.

At times it feels like wellness or elevating one’s well being, is diametrically opposed to high achievement and high performance in one’s career. The stress, mental energy, long hours, lack of restful sleep and preoccupation that result from a high-achievement life seem to directly inhibit wellness. And yet, in order to sustain the creativity, flexibility, mental acuity and resilience that are necessary for high performance, wellness and wellbeing of the mind, body and soul are also mandatory. So how do we achieve both? This is the question I’m hoping to answer through conversations with high-achieving leaders and influencers who are practicing their own philosophies about how to maintain their wellbeing.

As a part of our series about “Social Media Influencers Share Their Top Self Care, Wellness, and Beauty Tips, I had the pleasure of interviewing Dorien Rose Duinker.

Dorien Rose Duinker, a Hong Kong native, made her foray into theater at the tender age of four. Her journey into the world of modeling took her to the covers of over sixty magazines, including notable publications like Glamour, Elle, Cosmogirl, Elegance, Playboy, and Marie Claire. Her striking presence was further amplified through global campaigns for esteemed brands like SAPPH lingerie and REVLON.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you share with us the backstory of how you came upon this career path to where you are today?

Thanks for having me! My career started hitting off when I won the first Dutch playmate of the year contest back in 2004. From there I had a modeling career and from there I started acting.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

No actually not. Opportunities came on my path as soon as I had my face published for the first time. There have been some people who believed in me and it just started rolling naturally.

It has been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story with us about the most humorous mistake you made when you were first starting? What lesson or take-away did you learn from that?

I don’t believe in making mistakes. Everything happens for a reason even though it might have been a bad decision looking back. I don’t know if I would start my career with a playboy shoot because I’ve been type casted a long time as an actress as a sexy type when there are so many more types I love to play. But I don’t regret things I can’t change:)

As an influencer, you have been blessed with great success in a career path that many have attempted, but eventually gave up on. In fact, perhaps most people who tried to follow a career path like yours did not succeed. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path but know that their dreams might be dashed?

Never try to be someone you’re not. Just be yourself and be confident even though you may fall sometimes. Bless every experience and learn from them. Be happy with yourself and the rest will flow

Can you share with our readers some of the strategies you’ve used to build an engaged, loyal, and large online community?

I am not a strategic person at all. Things just came my way and then I decided if I wanted to take the job if it felt right. When I started my career there was no social media. Maybe only hyves and MySpace but that was more a social aspect and not career wise. When I did tv shows like tempation island the followers came flowing in. As long as I bring out my message along with my photos people are engaging. Make it personal to what is important for you. My fans like me because I’m outspoken. They don’t follow people with just sexy photos and a kind of look at my fabulous life kind of vibe. I touch subjects that are important to people. Make your page who you are and that will make you stand out.

Ok thank you for all that. Now let’s shift to the main focus of our interview. In my work, I focus on how one can thrive and care for oneself in three areas: body, mind, and heart. You are a busy person with a demanding schedule, can you share with our readers two self-care routines, practices or treatments that help your body thrive?

First I have my tea and a very light joint and then I do my daily one hour work out at home. Then I have a nice breakfast, shower. Then I do whatever is scheduled that day and when I come back I love to take a bath. I dance Zouk occasionally with my boyfriend Willem, who besides being human rights activist also is the best Zouk teacher in Holland. Watch nice movies and I go to the spa a lot. Also traveling is my way of being happy so we decided not to live in rainy Holland anymore and to live in a Portugal where I bought a village with my family: Freedom Ville. We’ll be welcoming our first guests this summer and we are also build another resort in Fuerteventura. I need sun to be in my life every day. Family, sun and love are my medicine.

Can you share with us two routines that you use to help your mind or heart to thrive?

Going to the spa, feeling the sun on my skin, swimming, dancing, making love and working out.

Can you help articulate why self-care is so important for your mental wellness?

Just did here above

Can you share five ideas that anyone can use “to feel beautiful”?

Eat healthy, drink enough, exercise, be outside, breath fresh air, be with the ones you love and do what you love. Be where you want to be and love and trust in yourself.

Is there a particular resource, a practitioner, expert, book, or podcast that made a significant impact on you and helped you to thrive? Can you share a story about that with us?

Nobody in particular. We all know what’s best for ourselves if you just listen to learn to yourself.

As an influencer, you are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

I think it would need to start with stop watching tv and start listening from within. There is no movement for that yet i guess.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world with whom you’d like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this. :-)

I hope to see Robert Kennedy jr again soon. I’ve met him in Berlin at a freedom protest in Berlin and he is an amazing inspiration. Would be great to see him again as the next president of the US. The world would look a lot brighter then.

What is the best way our readers can follow you on social media?

Instagram.com/dorienrose

Twitter.com/dorienrose

Onlyfans.com/dorienrose

Facebook.com/dorienroseduinker

And visit our family project Freedom Ville: freedomville.pt and come meet us in one of our amazing locations and get a taste of what real freedom is like for us!

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We wish you only continued success in your great work!

About The Interviewer: Maria Angelova, MBA is a disruptor, author, motivational speaker, body-mind expert, Pilates teacher, and founder and CEO of Rebellious Intl. As a disruptor, Maria is on a mission to change the face of the wellness industry by shifting the self-care mindset for consumers and providers alike. As a mind-body coach, Maria’s superpower is alignment which helps clients create a strong body and a calm mind so they can live a life of freedom, happiness, and fulfillment. Prior to founding Rebellious Intl, Maria was a Finance Director and a professional with 17+ years of progressive corporate experience in the Telecommunications, Finance, and Insurance industries. Born in Bulgaria, Maria moved to the United States in 1992. She graduated summa cum laude from both Georgia State University (MBA, Finance) and the University of Georgia (BBA, Finance). Maria’s favorite job is being a mom. Maria enjoys learning, coaching, creating authentic connections, working out, Latin dancing, traveling, and spending time with her tribe. To contact Maria, email her at angelova@rebellious-intl.com. To schedule a free consultation, click here.

--

--

Maria Angelova, CEO of Rebellious Intl.
Authority Magazine

Maria Angelova, MBA is a disruptor, author, motivational speaker, body-mind expert, Pilates teacher and founder and CEO of Rebellious Intl.