Doug Haynes Of Coucil Advisors: Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started My Consulting Business

An Interview With Ben Ari

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine

--

Build knowledge and know-how: Consulting offers the opportunity to learn certain aspects of management at a faster rate than being an operator, due to the number and diversity of companies and situations one sees. This breadth of experiences creates the possibility to build depth of understanding on industries, functions, and leadership. This doesn’t happen magically or automatically. It requires work and investment to distill what you learn into reusable, repeatable insights.

As a part of my series called “Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started My Consulting Business,” I had the pleasure of interviewing Doug Haynes.

After over 20 years at McKinsey & Company and four years running one of the world’s leading hedge funds, Doug Haynes founded The Council, now part of Council Advisors, a firm that provides advice and counsel to CEOs and top executive

--

--