Dr. Mary-Ann Etiebet of Merck for Mothers: “Good leaders open doors and look for opportunities for team members to move on and move ahead”

Christina Diane Warner
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readMar 22, 2020

--

I have found that many of my leadership lessons crystallized when I recognized them through the prism of motherhood:

When my daughters tell me to let them do things on their own and ask me to trust them, I am reminded that good leaders leave their teams feeling empowered.

When my daughters try and make me choose whose cookies are the best, I am reminded that the diverse contributions of team members need to be acknowledged and valued.

When I discover how different my daughters are from me, as well as from each other, I reminded that good leaders allow team members to lean into their strengths.

When I find myself frustrated because I receive monosyllabic answers from my teenager, I am reminded…

--

--

Christina Diane Warner
Authority Magazine

Recognized marketing leader with a proven track record in driving growth