Dr Naana Boakye of Bergen Dermatology: 5 Things You Need To Create A Successful Career As A Dermatologist

An Interview With Luke Kervin

Luke Kervin, Co-Founder of Tebra
Authority Magazine
6 min readJul 28, 2022

--

Life is full of experiences. Some of them will be positive and many will be negative. The key is to appreciate all of them because they shape who you are. While going through these experiences, it is important to be respectful, kind and empathetic. This is what I teach my kids all the time.

As part of my series about healthcare leaders, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Naana Boakye.

Naana Boakye, MD is founder of Bergen Dermatology, co-founder of Karité, and Chief Medical Officer of AFrame, a brand building company that focuses on celebrity-led skincare brands. As a dermatologist who specializes in the health and appearance of the skin, creating products with scientifically backed ingredients that nurture the skin and optimize its health is her passion.

She received her BA at Wellesley College, her MPH from George Washington University and her MD from Temple University. She completed her dermatology residency at State University of New York Health Sciences Center in Brooklyn, New York, where she also served as Chief Resident. Dr. Boakye is affiliated with numerous professional societies including the American Academy of Dermatology.

What is your backstory?

I moved to the US from Ghana when I was two years old and I recall at the age of six, my parents asked, what do want to do when you grow up? I answered that I wanted to be an artist. My parents at the time stated please consider being an accountant, lawyer, or physician. I chose being a physician because my parents were physicians and many of my family members are in the healthcare field. Throughout my journey to becoming a physician and now a dermatologist, I realize that I am a visual learner and funny enough I enjoy the art of medicine.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! What is your “backstory”? What led you to this very interesting career?

My mom had acne in her mid-thirties, and I went to a few of her dermatology visits. I was fascinated by the experience. I then found out I had an aunt, Dr. Mercy Alexis, who was a dermatologist who helped my mom tremendously with her acne journey. I owe this experience and my conversations with my family members to where I am now.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career?

Wow there are so many stories. However, I always appreciate when patients come back to the office and state that I have transformed their life whether it is their mindset, that they lost weight, that they feel more confident in their skin, or I made an impact on their kids.

Are you working on any new or exciting projects now?

I am currently working on a new custom formulated skin care line and I am super excited about it. I currently have a skincare line with my sister’s called Karité , a shea butter based skincare brand. In addition, I also am the Dermatology Director for A-Frame brands which solves solutions for those that have not been heard such brands include KINLO by Naomi Osaka which is a sun protection and recovery line for melanated skin and Proudly by Gabrielle Union and Dwayne Wade is baby skincare line for melanated babies.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

To be honest, I am grateful for my parents, Drs. Kwadwo and Cynthia Boakye for their hard work, love and support in my journey. I also want to thank my late Aunty Mercy Alexis and my cousin Dr. Andrew Alexis for their inspiration. Dr. Andrea Alexis is the Vice-Chair for Diversity and Inclusion for the Department of Dermatology and Professor of Clinical Dermatology at Weill Cornell Medical College in New York City.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

Through my work with Karité, we give back to the community of women who pick our shea nuts for our brand. My sisters and I have provided these amazing women with wide brim hats, protective gloves for picking the nuts in the bush, and sneakers. We are hoping we can provide them with a community car in the future.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson”?

Life is full of experiences. Some of them will be positive and many will be negative. The key is to appreciate all of them because they shape who you are. While going through these experiences, it is important to be respectful, kind and empathetic. This is what I teach my kids all the time.

Can you share a story about how that was relevant to you in your own life?

LOL… as a business owner and dealing with patients on the day to day, customer service is so important. It is so key to be humble, kind and respectful.

Thank you for all of that. Here is the main question of our interview. What are the 5 Things You Need To Create A Successful Career As A Dermatologist and why? (Please share a story or example for each.)

  1. Be patient. It takes at least 5 years to grow your business.
  2. Think outside the box
  3. Stick to your core values and treat everyone with respect
  4. Talk with others
  5. Hire experts

When I started my practice, I talked to so many physicians prior to starting and I had mixed feelings about commencing. I remember, when I opened my doors back in 2012, I was seeing 3–5 patients per day. There were many days, I was like how am I ever going to make ends meet? Now, I look back and smile. I made many mistakes along this journey, but I am still enjoying the ride.

What are the “myths” that you would like to dispel about being a dermatologist? Can you explain what you mean?

As a dermatologist we do not only do aesthetics. As a dermatologist, we can see a disease on someone’s skin and provide guidance on how to control their condition holistically. As mentioned, I love my field because your skin is the largest organ and it is a canvas that displays how it is feeling.

If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of wellness to the most amount of people, what would that be?

I would start a “change your lifestyle movement”. First by looking in your fridge and pantry. I am a strong believer that if you fuel your body with the right nutrients your skin glows. It also helps ward off chronic diseases. There are other lifestyle changes that are important such as physical fitness and sleep. I wrote a book called Inside Out Beauty: Your Prescription For Healthy, Radiance and Acne Controlled Skin that discusses some of these lifestyle pillars and how it impacted my life and I truly feel that it can impact others.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them :-)

I am so inspired by Oprah Winfrey and Michelle Obama. Their journeys are incredible and I am a fan. I loved their memoirs and would love to have lunch with them :)

What is the best way our readers can follow you online?

Drnaanaboakye.com

Thank you so much for these wonderful insights! We wish you continued success.

--

--

Luke Kervin, Co-Founder of Tebra
Authority Magazine

Luke Kervin is the Co-Founder and Chief Innovation Officer of Tebra