“You can’t control the conditions of another human, and you never will”, with Chelle Neff

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readMar 23, 2020

--

It’s okay to say I’m sorry or I don’t know. Give yourself permission to be human and let yourself be vulnerable in front of your staff. People around you don’t want you to be a robot.

As a part of my series about leaders who integrate mindfulness and spiritual practices into their work culture, I had the pleasure of interviewing Chelle Neff. Chelle has been a leader in the U.S. salon industry since founding Urban Betty in 2005 and has more than 20 years of experience creating innovative practices in the salon and beauty worlds. Neff has successfully grown Urban Betty’s revenue year after year and today has a space that houses more than 60 employees. The first location was so successful that she opened the second Urban Betty Salon in 2019.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you please share your “backstory” with us?

I began my journey as an entrepreneur first as an employee in the salon industry. I knew from a young age that I wanted to do hair. At the age of sixteen, I enrolled in Cosmetology school at my high school. During my junior and senior years of high school (1993–1995), I attended half days of regular…

--

--