Education Revolution: Amanda Schenkenberger Of Homeschool Family Legacy On Innovative Approaches That Are Transforming Education

An interview with Eden Gold

Eden Gold
Authority Magazine
13 min readMay 5, 2024

--

As an entrepreneur, I believe we’re on the brink of an educational renaissance. Traditional educational methods are being challenged, paving the way for new philosophies and technologies. Looking back, I wish I had known about the changes that 2020 would bring because I would have started my business earlier, positioning myself as a leader in this evolving field.

The landscape of education is undergoing a profound transformation, propelled by technological advancements, pedagogical innovations, and a deepened understanding of learning diversities. Traditional classrooms are evolving, and new modes of teaching and learning are emerging to better prepare students for the complexities of the modern world. This series will take a look at the groundbreaking work being done across the globe to redefine education. As a part of this interview series, we had the pleasure to interview Amanda Schenkenberger.

Amanda Schenkenberger empowers homeschool moms to calm the chaos and confidently homeschool. She focuses on creating a supportive schedule and building strong bonds so that everyone can experience joyful connection and rigorous academics at the same time. She leverages her own experience as a homeschooled individual and homeschooling mother of four inside her homeschool mom program with Homeschool Family Legacy where she coaches other moms to educate curious minds and cultivate courageous spirits.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share the “backstory” behind what brought you to this particular career path?

My journey as a homeschool coach began during my childhood when I was homeschooled myself. My parents opted for this alternative form of education because they felt that traditional schooling didn’t prioritize the fundamentals: reading, writing, and arithmetic. Homeschooling provided me with the freedom to explore and play, and it also gave me the opportunity to pursue athletics. I even had the chance to travel internationally for competitions in Europe.

However, my life took a different turn during my teen years due to my parents’ divorce. I landed in public school and I was terrified. Having had minimal experience with formal learning, I worried that I wouldn’t be able to keep up with classmates who had been academically trained their whole lives. How wrong I was! Despite my perceived “lack of education”, I was near the top of most of my classes. I stuck out all four years and graduated ninth out of 300 with a GPA over a 4.0. Not too bad for someone who spent all her days outside playing, right?

My experience led me to the conclusion that I knew a better way to learn and I vowed as a teenager to never send my own kids to a traditional school. Since then, I have been a staunch advocate for homeschooling. After becoming a certified life coach and mental health practitioner, I decided to combine my passion for homeschooling with my new skills and I haven’t looked back.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started your career? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Since my “career” in homeschooling began when I was a child, I’ll start there. The myth surrounding homeschoolers being weird and unsocialized is quite pervasive and has been around since I was a girl.

I remember as a kid, whenever I met new people, the inevitable question about where I went to school would come up. When I replied, “I’m homeschooled,” people would often react with a confused look, cock their heads to the side, scrunch their noses, and say, “But you’re not weird,” as if I were some sort of conundrum.

Flash forward to my experience as a homeschool mom: Before the pandemic, countless times while at the park with my kids, another mom would comment on how polite my children were and then ask where they went to school. When I responded, “We homeschool,” the immediate reaction would almost always be, “Aren’t you worried about socialization?” I couldn’t help but feel confused, thinking, “Didn’t you just comment on their politeness?” This has become a running joke in the homeschooling community.

Nowadays, when I mention that we homeschool, I often hear, “I wish we could do that.” It’s interesting how the tide has turned. What was once taboo just a few years ago is now highly desired, as it should be. I suppose what I’ve learned is to stick with what you know has merit, regardless of how society views it. You never know when the world will finally recognize its value as you do.

Can you briefly share with our readers why you are an authority in the education field?

I’ve successfully taught three of my own children how to read, and I’m currently working with my fourth child (he’s four-years-old). My nine-year-old and eleven-year-old read at collegiate levels, while my seven-year-old is reading at a seventh-grade level.

Additionally, I have successfully taught through 7th grade. I also provide coaching services to families who homeschool their children, helping them navigate through education and learning challenges from elementary school all the way through high school.

Can you identify some areas of the US education system that are going really great?

Answering this question is challenging for me because I believe the US education system is fundamentally flawed. I believe education’s aim should be to develop a whole person but mass education was never designed for that purpose. Instead, it was meant to provide a basic education for the average student. However, it’s struggling even to achieve that goal with overcrowded classrooms and statistically low reading comprehension across the US.

The true heroes within the US education system are the dedicated teachers who pour their hearts into their students every day. Despite facing bureaucratic red tape, insufficient funding, and a lack of support, they are the driving force behind anything that the system is doing “really great”.

Can you identify the key areas of the US education system that should be prioritized for improvement? Can you explain why those are so critical?

I dare say: all of it. Like I mentioned before, I believe education’s aim ought to be developing a whole person and in order to do that, the AIM of the US education system must be changed. I understand that in order for change to last, it must be done incrementally but this has already begun! Specialized charters schools, microschools, and co-ops are already flourishing. In fact, many have waiting lists in my area.

Parents are hungry for alternatives because they see their children struggle in the traditional model and know that the problem lies not with their child, but with the system. When we have thousands of alternative education options available, families will be able to pick what kind of school supports their values and their child’s style of learning best. They’ll also be able to select a school that supports their child’s interests.

This is crucial because when we demonstrate to children that learning is engaging, enjoyable, and valuable, they become more actively involved in their educational journey. They feel empowered to contribute positively to the world around them, becoming the change they wish to see.

At present, our children are often taught to memorize information and regurgitate it for tests, rather than being encouraged to research, interpret, and utilize information to make a real-world impact. As a result, many children are unaware of their potential to make a difference, let alone how to go about it. If we hope to empower the next generation to challenge the status quo, we must teach them how to do so.

Please tell us all about the innovative educational approaches that you are using. What is the specific problem that you aim to solve, and how have you addressed it?

As I’ve mentioned, my goal in education is to nurture the development of the whole person: mind, body, and soul. Through homeschooling, I coach moms to embrace this holistic approach.

In the late 1800s, the English educator Charlotte Mason famously said, “Education is an atmosphere, a discipline, a life.”

I’ve taken her words to heart by not only imparting valuable knowledge to my children but also by teaching them how to apply that knowledge in real-life contexts. For instance, if we’re discussing a character virtue such as kindness, we don’t just learn its definition; we actively practice kindness in our daily lives. We write letters to loved ones, offer financial support to those in need, and bake cookies for our neighbors. For us, life itself is the true test of our learning, not some random multiple-choice exam.

Another key aspect of our homeschooling approach is fostering intelligence through meaningful conversations. I genuinely want to understand my children’s thoughts, feelings, and observations about the world. I’m eager to learn about what excites and challenges them. As a homeschool mom, I have the privilege of discovering their interests and, more importantly, getting to know them on a deep level that traditional schooling doesn’t allow.

We are deeply connected as a homeschooling family, supporting each other through both beautiful and challenging moments. It’s an incredible privilege to witness each other’s journeys, with all their highs and lows, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Of course, we also have dedicated learning time where we focus on the basics of language arts, mathematics, and science. For example, my 11-year-old is currently taking a high school biology class because he’s passionate about science. He’s able to keep up academically because he has the necessary reading comprehension skills and the drive to pursue his interests. I always encourage following a child’s passions when it comes to learning because I believe it allows them to progress further and faster in their educational journey.

In what ways do you think your approach might shape the future of education? What evidence supports this?

As more parents seek out educational alternatives, we can expect to see an increase in available options. I anticipate a rise in homeschooling curricula, programs, as well as the emergence of microschools, pods, and co-ops.

Parents across America are reclaiming the power to make educational choices for their children, driven by concerns about the traditional school environment. With incidents ranging from school violence to budget cuts and questionable curriculum choices, it’s understandable why parents are seeking alternatives.

Those who have chosen homeschooling are already witnessing the benefits as their children thrive in home and smaller communal environments. They are experiencing firsthand what I discovered at 15 when I entered the public school system: there is a better way to learn.

According to ParentingMode.com, homeschooling is the fastest-growing form of education in the US. Research from the Urban Institute supports this trend, showing a 30% increase in homeschooling between the 2019–20 and 2021–22 school years in the states examined.

Every day, I encounter parents seeking help to withdraw their child from school. It’s evident that parents all over the country are actively seeking alternative education options. As entrepreneurs and business owners in the educational sphere, I believe it’s our responsibility to create and/or fund these options.

How do you measure the impact of your innovative educational practices on students’ learning and well-being?

It may sound simple, but it’s incredibly effective: I just ask. Every day, we have conversations about one of these topics: our physical, mental, social, or spiritual health. I encourage moms in my community to do the same.

Our well-being is crucial to the success of homeschooling because our goal is to develop a whole person, not just someone who can recall historical facts like when Christopher Columbus sailed the ocean blue.

In Oregon, state exams are required by law, so my children undergo testing. However, their academic performance in comparison to their peers holds little significance for us. Instead, we focus on the progress they’ve made since their last assessment. Our educational approach involves comparing each child’s progress to their own previous achievements, rather than to those of other children.

What challenges have you faced in implementing your educational innovations, and how have you overcome them?

People don’t know I exist as a homeschool coach. They think they have to struggle through their homeschool life with sheer grit and determination and somehow magically not get burned out. I frequently come across posts in Facebook groups where moms ask if someone with my services exists, ending their post with, “Is this person even real?” Yes, I do, and I’m here to offer support.

To overcome this lack of awareness, I host online events where I educate and coach moms live over Zoom. This allows them to see firsthand what I do and the value I provide. During these events, moms consistently walk away with pages of notes, learning not only about how to educate and connect with their children but also about themselves. I like to say that while we all knew becoming a homeschool mom would be challenging, we didn’t realize it would also be a journey of self-discovery.

Keeping in mind the “Law of Unintended Consequences” can you see any potential drawbacks of this innovation that people should think more deeply about?

Like many homeschool moms, I’m cautious about allowing too much screen time for my children. While I recognize the numerous beneficial programs available online that help our students learn from home, I’m also concerned about the impact on our children’s brains.

There’s a worry about the potential for rewiring their brains towards instant gratification and I see the lack of the importance being placed on fulfilling their need for in-person human connections — where we can look each other in the eyes and share hugs. I also observe a concerning trend of marketing that draws children and adults alike into the virtual world, potentially leading them to neglect the real world around them, causing them to lose touch with our humanity and nature.

Although I’ve personally experienced transformational online interactions with people from around the world, after reading “The Anxious Generation” by Jonathan Haidt, I’ve become more cautious and concerned about the potential “unintended consequences” of excessive screen time on our young people’s mental health.

What are your “5 Things I Wish I Knew When I First Started”?

1. As an entrepreneur, I believe we’re on the brink of an educational renaissance. Traditional educational methods are being challenged, paving the way for new philosophies and technologies. Looking back, I wish I had known about the changes that 2020 would bring because I would have started my business earlier, positioning myself as a leader in this evolving field.

2. As a business owner, I firmly believe that hands-on experience is invaluable. I wish I had realized sooner the importance of involving my children in the inner workings of my business. Not only does this provide them with real-life experience, but it also helps nurture their leadership skills. Additionally, I recently discovered that in the United States, there are tax benefits to employing your children within your business, making it a win-win situation for everyone involved.

3. As a family, there has never been a better time to embrace homeschooling and bring education back into the home. Looking back, I realize that my personal story is a powerful testimony for homeschooling. I wish I had shared it publicly years ago to empower other families to take the leap into homeschooling.

4. As a mom, I understand the overwhelming array of technology and programs available for educating children at home, in a co-op, or in a small microschool environment. Looking back, I wish I had known about co-ops and microschools sooner. These options provide families with a smoother transition into homeschooling.

I see these environments as a bridge to liberate children from the confines of traditional schooling and provide them with a customized curriculum designed for their success. It’s incredibly rewarding to see my children excel by simply doing what they love and I want to see this for every child across America.

5. As lifelong learners, this is our moment to thrive. There are countless programs created by innovative entrepreneurs worldwide, offering us the opportunity to learn whatever we want, however we want, and at the depth we desire.

These specialized resources enable us to cultivate the knowledge and experience we seek for ourselves and our children. Looking back, I wish I had known about these opportunities when I first started homeschooling. It would have made our initial efforts more cohesive and less disjointed.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” — Attributed to Mark Twain

As an entrepreneur at heart, I love to take risks. I want to do big things in the name of adventure, curiosity, and just to say, “I did that.” When I’m faced with a major decision, I always come back to this quote and ask myself whether I would regret not taking this big, risky step. The last thing I want is to have regrets in life. So, using this quote as a guide, I often choose to seize the opportunities that life presents and set sail with the trade winds at my back. And I’ve never regretted it.

We are blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US, with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them :-)

I would love to meet with John Maxwell. I believe if he saw how impactful supporting homeschooling mothers in their leadership could be on future generations, he’d pour time and attention into this community.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

I’d love for you to come follow my personal facebook page where I share our homeschooling journey and homeschool coaching events or join me on Instagram.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mandy.schenkenberger/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/homeschoolcoachingmama/

Thank you so much for these insights! This was so inspiring!

About The Interviewer: Eden Gold, is a youth speaker, keynote speaker, founder of the online program Life After High School, and host of the Real Life Adulting Podcast. Being America’s rising force for positive change, Eden is a catalyst for change in shaping the future of education. With a lifelong mission of impacting the lives of 1 billion young adults, Eden serves as a practical guide, aiding young adults in honing their self-confidence, challenging societal conventions, and crafting a strategic roadmap towards the fulfilling lives they envision.

Do you need a dynamic speaker, or want to learn more about Eden’s programs? Click here: https://bit.ly/EdenGold

--

--

Eden Gold
Authority Magazine

Youth speaker, keynote speaker, founder of Life After High School, and host of the Real Life Adulting Podcast