Entrepreneur and Author Mark Schaefer: 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readFeb 22, 2021

--

Add your own story, establish your own voice. To stand out you have to be original. To be original, you have to add your personality. There’s only one you. You have no competition.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Mark Schaefer. Mark Schaefer is an acclaimed keynote speaker, strategy consultant, blogger, and podcaster. He’s a faculty member of the Rutgers University School of Business. Mark is the author of nine books including his latest, “Cumulative Advantage: How to Build Momentum for Your Ideas, Business, and Life Against All Odds.”

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

One of the things I write about in my new book is that success is almost always generated by some random event! I’m no different. At the dawn of the internet, I had an idea on how my company could use the web to buy and sell scrap metal more efficiently. I asked my boss if I could expense an AOL account to try my idea and I became the first person in this Fortune 100 company to have an internet account! Eventually I led the company’s eCommerce function, which led to where I am today…

--

--

Alexandra Spirer
Authority Magazine

I am an entrepreneur, publicist, journalist and event producer based in Sunny Florida. My passion is writing & giving back to others.