Ethney Kibet Kiprop “If you’re looking to join a social business project, choose one that you are passionate about; The passion will drive you to make an impact and at the end you will have no regrets.”

Kate Mowbray
Authority Magazine
Published in
4 min readMar 11, 2020
Ethney Kibet Kiprop

I had the pleasure of interviewing Ethney Kibet Kiprop. Ethney is an MBA graduate from ESMT Berlin, and is currently working on projects that improve the livelihoods of the African population with a particular focus in East Africa.

Thank you for speaking with us! Can you tell us about your background before studying at ESMT Berlin?

I graduated from an undergrad in 2013, and immediately started career in finance with Credit Suisse, US. The role was initially exciting, but I felt I could do more with myself. I then moved to Kenya where I worked in a solar energy startup that provided energy to off-grid consumers through affordable micropayments via mobile money. It was a role I cherished since I was involved in building the team from scratch and bringing electricity to more than 50K people. It was when the business was stable that I decided to pursue an MBA at ESMT Berlin to develop other skills, especially leadership and soft skills. In my time at ESMT I also completed a Responsible Leaderships Fellowship after my MBA.

Can you tell us about the ‘Responsible Leadership Fellowship’ at ESMT Berlin and what project you were involved in?

The Responsible Leaders Fellowship at ESMT is a program that enables MBA graduates to apply their skills and make a social impact. I was involved in a project in rural Uganda that involved provision of clean water and clean energy services to poor rural households. I helped an organization called Disabilities Art Uganda Project start a sustainable business. I helped the team hire and train sales agents, designed payment schemes and created credit scores for customers to provide additional goods on credit. The business was making a profit when I left in May 2019 and had three sales agents on a full-time basis.

What did you gain from taking part in the Responsible Leadership Fellowship?

Working with different people and trying to lead them helped me to shape my leadership skills. It was interesting for me to create a positive company culture from the onset, with youth with little or no experience. It was the first time I sold a vision and everyone seemed to support it. The fellowship allowed me to apply the soft and technical skills which I had learnt during my MBA. Most importantly, it gave me ample time to figure out what I wanted to do in my life and where I wanted to do it: I believe in African potential despite the challenges that it currently faces.

Can you tell us about what has motivated and inspired you in your work?

What inspires me is the impact one’s actions can have on other people positively. Young people draw inspiration from successful people, and my goal is to be successful and happy and inspire other people to be successful too. Responsible leadership has always been keen to decisions I’ve made throughout my education. Giving back through responsible leadership is a no-brainer to me, given what the communities I have interacted with have given me.

Do you think it is important for business education to place emphasis on an ethical and responsible approach to leadership?

Absolutely. We are responsible for people and the sustainability of our planet through doing the correct decision making. Business ethics should be at the centre for any business — now and in the future. Business leaders will only do business with other leaders who are also ethical. In the global context and ease of access to information, customers will only consumer from companies that have good ethics when it comes to their leadership.

Do you have any advice for those who want to get involved in a social business project?

First, you have to do a project that you are passionate about. The passion will drive you to make an impact and at the end have no regrets. Secondly, it is the organizational fit — look for organizational values that resonate with your core values. Finally, be ready to have fun and try new things in new settings by being open-minded.

Can you tell us about the proudest moments you’ve experienced during your career?

I was part of a five man team that established a sustainable pay as you go solar company that has provided affordable and reliable energy to more than 50k people. Seeing people I took faith in by hiring them as junior personnel grow to managers in their respective departments is such a source of pride for me.

What are the next steps in your career?

I am now working on a project that will enable Kenya to manufacture human vaccines. This will be done by a leading local manufacturer in collaboration with the government of Kenya and tech transfer from experienced vaccine manufacturers in Europe, South America, and Asia. The problem is Africa produces less than 1% of its vaccines, leading to dependencies on international manufacturers, unreliable supply, and slow response to epidemics. This narrative has to change. It is such a dynamic project since it involves multiple stakeholders and many moving parts. In the future, I would like to continue to work on projects that bring tangible change to people.

--

--