Evan Haines of Alo House Recovery Centers: “How to Survive and Thrive as A Highly Sensitive Person”

An Interview with Phil La Duke

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

--

There is nothing wrong with you. Don’t ever let anyone tell you otherwise. I remember years ago, talking to a friend about my mom and her mental health problems, and she asked me, “what if she’s just one of the sensitive ones?” This simple question hit me like a ton of bricks. That shift in my understanding of the powerful effect of the environment on our psyches set me on the path I’m on today. We have a gift. But as Peter Parker’s uncle told him, “With great power comes great responsibility.” Like Spiderman, it can take some of us a while to heed that call to action. Don’t beat yourself up for failing to live up to our responsibility, but don’t waste more time than you need to. The world needs you.

--

--

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

Author of “I Know My Shoes Are Untied. Mind Your Own Business”, “Lone Gunman. Rewriting the Handbook on Workplace Violence Prevention”, and “Blood on my hands