Farissa Knox of RLM Media: “How we have the power to create and change the social narrative”

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readSep 14, 2020

One of the things that have always excited me about my industry is that we have the power to create and change the social narrative. From the commercials and ads we consume to the entertainment we seek out- I am part of the people on the planet that have the power to influence the masses. It’s a massive responsibility that I will never take for granted. The thing that concerns me the most is that right now, is that (like most industries) it is still dominated by white males so the majority of the narratives and pieces of content we come across daily are not created with a diverse perspective in mind- and we are living through a time where we can see the proof of how dangerous that is.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Farissa Knox from RLM Media. A native New Yorker, Farissa relocated to Chicago in 2007 and founded RLM Media in 2008. RLM is a full-service advertising agency that specializes in integrated marketing communications and additionally uniquely services and works closely with other communication firms that do not have full-service capabilities in-house. The key, niche client categories RLM specializes in are Politics, Health Care, Recruitment, Higher Education, Finance, and Government contracts.

Additionally, Farissa founded WhatRUWearing in 2012. WRUW is a production house that focuses on a one-off, series, and cinematic video within the fashion, beauty, lifestyle, and reality space, having created the original series, PRGirl, focusing on young women in major markets living and working in the world of fashion, beauty, and lifestyle public relations. Farissa is the creator and Executive Producer of PRGirl.

Before Farissa was in business for herself, she worked in advertising sales. Farissa began her career in local radio sales at Cox Radio in Richmond, Virginia for the Classic Rock radio station WKLR-FM where she was able to learn the foundation of some of the same skills she uses today in her own companies. From there, Farissa went on to do national radio sales for Interep in New York and Chicago which, at the time, represented over 2000 radio stations across the country. Farissa lives in Chicago’s Lake View neighborhood with her husband and two daughters.

Thank you so much for doing this with us Farissa! What is your “backstory”?

Of course! Thanks for inviting me to tell my story. I’m born and raised in the Bronx. I grew up thinking New York was the world and everybody lived like that until my parents decided to move to Richmond VA during my first week of high school and my world turned upside down for a while. Through high school and college and into my early career, I was in VA and learned a lot about the rest of the country, myself, and the world. After majoring in Communications, I went straight into advertising sales and found my way back to New York very early into my career. I now live in Chicago and have called it ‘home’ since 2007.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

I believe that it’s the very nature that our company was born from the ability and mindset of a black woman who believes in teaching, nurturing, and empowering her team and employees that make RLM stand out. Not only are we experts at what we do, but we also do it in a way that feels different than most. Our clients, partners, and employees know that although this is a business and at the end of the day, money has to be made, that is not the sole objective- we kept the ‘human’ in day to day business transactions with people.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful to who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

There are so many people who have been instrumental to me achieving the success I have so far. But if I had to shout out one person in particular, it would have to be my husband. He was the person who planted the seed of possibility in my mind of starting my first business. He was the one who listened to me cry about how hard things can be (still does) and as he travels the world for his company, he always keeps an eye out for an opportunity that could turn in a profit for the business. We approach being business owners across our sectors as the family business.

Are you working on any exciting projects now?

I’m always working on something. Right now I am in the process of rebranding RLM to truly represent who we have become in the past 12 years; my production company, WhatRUWearing Productions in pre-production on a couple of projects for television and film; and I am starting to wrap my mind around the fact that I truly do have another book in me- now I just have to find the time to write it.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I use my success and the fact that I am accomplishing all these things in this skin and body to inspire all other folks who are not used to seeing people who look like them, doing these things. I hope that the existence I choose to have inspires others to know that they can do whatever it is they set their mind to. That is my motivation for the hardest of days.

Can you share three things that most excite you about your industry? Can you share three things that most concern you?

One of the things that have always excited me about my industry is that we have the power to create and change the social narrative. From the commercials and ads we consume to the entertainment we seek out- I am part of the people on the planet that have the power to influence the masses. It’s a massive responsibility that I will never take for granted. The thing that concerns me the most is that right now, is that (like most industries) it is still dominated by white males so the majority of the narratives and pieces of content we come across daily are not created with a diverse perspective in mind- and we are living through a time where we can see the proof of how dangerous that is.

Do you have a favorite book that made a deep impact on your life? Can you share a story?

I can’t say I have a favorite book but I do love reading memoirs and biographies. Over quarantine, I read Elaine Welteroth’s book, More Than Enough and it was fantastic. I draw so much inspiration and encouragement from other people’s stories. Their experiences, lessons, and insights that now I can take and apply to my life as well. It’s the best!

What advice would you give to other entrepreneurs and executives to help their companies to thrive?

It can be a very hard and long road to travel when building a business. My number piece of advice I give to folks on this road is to not give up. Success comes when you take a few more steps then what most people can or do. It’s at the point where you feel like giving up where you typically accomplish your goal. Keep going!

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

That’s a big question. I think one of the most important things people need to get excited about is educating themselves- and I am not talking about school alone- I am talking about really learning the process to affecting social, political and government change that will deliver the types of equity and opportunity we are asking for. So if I could start a movement, it would be making getting smart, cool. Making ignorance, willful or otherwise, lame.

Some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

If I could, I would pull together a private brunch between all of my favorite women in the world, living every moment of their life as unapologetic true versions of themselves for the world to see. They are where I draw lots of inspiration. Michelle Obama, Oprah, Beyoncé, and Farissa- that sounds like a fun brunch, right?!?

For more information, www.farissaknox.com and www.rlm-media.net

IG and Facebook: @farissaknox

About the Interviewer: Jilea Hemmings is a staunch believer in the power of entrepreneurship. A successful career revamping Fortune 500 companies was not enough for her entrepreneurial spirit, so Jilea began focusing her passion in startups. She has successfully built 6 startups to date. Her passion for entrepreneurship continues to flourish with the development of Stretchy Hair Care, focusing on relieving the pain associated with detangling and styling natural black hair. For far too long, people with tender heads have suffered in pain. Until now.

--

--

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine

Founder Nourish + Bloom Market | Stretchy Hair Care I Author I Speaker I Eshe Consulting I Advocate For Diversity In Beauty