Female Disruptor: Kate Lobel started building her rolodex when she was 10

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readJul 18, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Kate Lobel, the Director of Public relations at Power Digital Marketing. At the age of 22, Kate was given the opportunity to build a public relations offering at a full service digital agency in San Diego. In 2 years, the department grew to over a million in revenue and she was nominated for the San Diego Business Journal’s “Women Who Mean Business” award.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

Having lived in 13 different zip codes, you could say my upbringing was anything but typical.

Amidst all of the chaos, the one thing I can confidently say I’m grateful for was the fact that I had 13 different opportunities to restart. Each time, I learned to build relationships from the ground up and I learned to love doing that.

I began building my rolodex of contacts when I was about 10 years old!

For example, the only reason I’m in my current role is because my 4th grade bestie introduced me to the job! Leaning into what I knew I loved doing, making connections, I fell into the world of traditional media relations.

Why did you found your company?

--

--

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine

Writing about the effects of art & advertising on the human psyche & soul. Writer & marketer. PhD student in Medieval Studies at Universidade NOVA de Lisboa.