Female Disruptors: Angelena Bonet of Crystal Heart Productions On The Three Things You Need To Shake Up Your Industry

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
11 min readApr 30, 2023

Passion, persistence and patience are the three words of advice I have received over the years from various people. If you follow your heart and do what you love, you will never work a day in your life. You need the passion to do the work. You need the persistence to have the energy and determination to see it through and patience is the ultimate key. I began my career as a model and actress and never dreamed I would be a documentary filmmaker with a voice for women. These three traits have definitely held me in stead and are imperative to possess if you are to be successful.

As a part of our series about women who are shaking things up in their industry, we had the pleasure of interviewing Angelena Bonet.

Multi-award winning documentary filmmaker, Angelena Bonet, has also produced a documentary short film Change The World, a feature film tetralogy and her soundtrack and music videos in their entirety which have collectively won over 300 international film festival awards. She founded Crystal Heart Productions in 2014 after suffering two life changing tragedies in the hopes to make a positive difference in others lives. Bonet interviews inspirational women all around the world and from all walks of life for her online talk show Heart Of The Matter. She has won numerous ‘Best Inspirational Film’, ‘Best Director’ and ‘Best Original Soundtrack’ awards along with the prestigious ‘Humanitarian Award’ at the Jane Austen Film Festival in the U.K. From Australian supermodel to multi-award winning documentary filmmaker, singer-songwriter and humanitarian her message is one of peace, love and unity.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your back story? What led you to this particular career path?

I grew up in Sydney, Australia and first appeared on national television at the age of four on a preschool show called Romper Room with my twin brother. It was filmed at Channel 7 Television Studios near where I lived and I can still remember having the best time. It no doubt had an impact on me. I began ballet lessons that same year and piano lessons at six. Dancing was my passion and I studied jazz and tap from the age of ten. I then continued my dance studies as well as singing and drama at The Australian College of Entertainment during high school. When I was eighteen I was discovered at a hair salon that year and asked to model for a shoot that appeared in Vogue Australia. I then modelled part-time while studying and got my first job as a secretary the following year. I was scouted by a top Sydney modelling agency at twenty and things just took off from there. The very next day I was booked on a television soap opera Breakers where they wrote me into the script and I was on that show, which aired in 50 countries, for the next two years. I was then on the cover with a ten page spread of the three biggest selling issues of Inside Sport magazine (Australian version of Sports Illustrated) and was named ‘The New Australian Supermodel’ on national news when I returned to Sydney after modeling in Milan. My career also took me to New York, Los Angeles and Canada where I have based myself since 2010. I then hosted the FIFA World Cup Show and acted in Ghostly Encounters that same year and after experiencing the sudden passing of my fiancé and then a victim of a violent crime I decided to create my production company, Crystal Heart Productions in 2014 to produce content that empowers women and allows us to have our voices heard.

Can you tell our readers what it is about the work you’re doing that is disruptive?

I am a documentary filmmaker focussed on women empowerment and creating awareness of violence against women. When I first began producing my films no-one was talking about sexual and gender based violence in public. I had been a successful international model so going public with my personal tragedy was very scary and I knew it was going to affect my modeling career. I knew my soul had to speak out and I’m so glad I had the courage even though the #MeToo movement had not yet begun and I was going against the societal norm of remaining silent. Inspiring women around the world and educating men who have females in their lives has given my life a deep sense of purpose and meaning and has been the biggest blessing. I am proud to share my journey and help others rise above their own adversity and release their shame. I make no apology for speaking my truth and standing up to my perpetrators. I am the strong one and they are the weak cowards that need to be ashamed of their abhorrent behaviour. Light always prevails and is what darkness fears the most. I will continue to stand up and speak out, not only for myself but for every other victim who cannot. Transformation comes from our deepest pain and fear and then like a phoenix rising from the ashes we go from the caterpillar to a butterfly. Inspiring others by my example bring me so much joy knowing that my path has not been in vain.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

When I first started my modelling career and shooting with different photographers, I was doing a lot of beauty campaigns and fashion editorial. To fit those sample sizes you have been so thin and I tried to diet to reach that unhealthy weight and I realised that I wasn’t prepared to starve myself or jeopardise my health to fit some warped idea of beauty. I stayed my naturally slim shape and my modeling agent discovered that the swimsuit and lingerie clients loved my look and they are the markets I really excelled at. It was wonderful for me because I could do what I love but still eat hamburgers and pasta and live without constantly eating lettuce leaves and counting calories. I was not prepared to give up carbs because the body needs them. I do not advocate for size 0 and encourage women of all ages to embrace their natural body type and be the healthiest you can be while enjoying foods they love in moderation. There is no way I could have made four feature films, one documentary short film, seven music videos, two web series and everything else I have achieved without nutrition and a healthy lifestyle. Food is medicine and fuel and restricting calories can negatively impact our healthy and beauty.

We all need a little help along the journey. Who have been some of your mentors? Can you share a story about how they made an impact?

I have been blessed to have had many great people in my life and teachers over the years but the one person that I am most grateful for helping me get to where I am today is Erick Deeby. He changed my life and enriched it in such positive ways. To have unconditional love is a rare thing on this planet and I don’t take that for granted. He knew my potential, he believed in me and I love the tunes he wrote for me. When he passed away I got to see how strong I really was and had to finish our project on my own. I was pushed so far out of my comfort zone and have since grown and learned so much about myself. Once again I got to put in practice all that I had learned from him in the studio and producing my album on my own at Trackdown, Fox Studios was definitely an experience I will never forget. I wanted to make him proud and complete our musical project and keep my promise, which I have. I never imagined when he was alive that our music would become my soundtrack to my films.

Another mentor I am very grateful is my vocal coach, Stephen Baker. He helped me prepare my voice for the recording by strengthening the vocal chords and ensuring they were healthy. He has coached well known artists both in Australia and internationally and I really respect his expertise, guidance and our friendship. It’s very important to have that rapport with your mentor and that trust and respect. I am lucky to have been able to work with him.

In today’s parlance, being disruptive is usually a positive adjective. But is disrupting always good? When do we say the converse, that a system or structure has withstood the test of time? Can you articulate to our readers when disrupting an industry is positive, and when disrupting an industry is not so positive? Can you share some examples of what you mean?

I am disrupting society, not just the film industry. I am creating public awareness and showing others that if I can not only survive the tragedies that I have experienced but thrive, then that gives others hope with their own lives and the feeling that they too can overcome their own traumas. Having courage and inner strength to go against the status quo is something I am very proud of. Standing firm in your truth and releasing the need for others approval is a spiritual lesson most people are yet to master and I make no apologies. It is always positive to disrupt society if you know in your heart it is for the benefit of humanity. I knew that what I experienced was nothing short of horrific and the world we were living in was still coming out of the dark ages. I could not remain silent after the social injustice I had been through or to protect the perpetrators or anyone else who is uncomfortable with what happened. To be able to express myself and convey my message through film and music has been such a gift and very healing for my soul. To know my work is touching hearts around the world, and all cultures is something so magical it’s hard to describe the feeling. My path hasn’t been for the faint-hearted but I know I am very blessed and I count my blessings each day for my wonderful life.

Can you share 3 of the best words of advice you’ve gotten along your journey? Please give a story or example for each.

Passion, persistence and patience are the three words of advice I have received over the years from various people. If you follow your heart and do what you love, you will never work a day in your life. You need the passion to do the work. You need the persistence to have the energy and determination to see it through and patience is the ultimate key. I began my career as a model and actress and never dreamed I would be a documentary filmmaker with a voice for women. These three traits have definitely held me in stead and are imperative to possess if you are to be successful.

We are sure you aren’t done. How are you going to shake things up next?

You know me so well! I am in the midst of creating a non-profit project to support women and girls. I can’t say too much at this stage but it will be launched later in the year. Making this world safer and more just for women is going to be a global collaborative effort but if we each do our part then the world can change and I believe it already is. I am also on the public speaking circuit and talking with governments to change policies and laws.

In your opinion, what are the biggest challenges faced by women disruptors that aren’t typically faced by their male counterparts?

Women are faced with challenges that men aren’t in many facets of our lives. Women get judged on their looks and age, not only by men but by women also. I don’t think about it to be honest. I follow my heart and never let the fact that I am a woman be an issue or hindrance. We all have access to technology these days so there really are no limits!

Do you have a book/podcast/talk that’s had a deep impact on your thinking? Can you share a story with us?

I read You Can Heal Your Life by Louise Hay when I was a teenager and it had a very positive impact on me then. I have read it a few times since and it is an inspiring story of Louise healing herself of cancer. She also explains the mind/body connection and how our emotions can negatively effect our bodies and create dis-ease. She shares the impact positive affirmations can have on our wellbeing and reality. She was ahead of her time as what was then considered ‘new age’ is now backed by scientific evidence and I highly recommend this book to anyone with physical ailments or trauma to overcome.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Creating Change The World and inspiring people around the world and touching their hearts is a wonderful gift that I am very grateful for. I have deep compassion for myself and every other woman who has suffered sexual violence and I am honored to use my voice for good and speak for those who can’t. My spirit couldn’t be silenced and to now be heard in every country is something so special and is very hard to describe. When I look back at what I have endured and the miracle of surviving the murder attempt to now winning these special awards is something I could never have imagined would happen! I vowed to make a stand and leave this world a better place than I found it and I am committed. Women are now finding their voice and self-worth and it is fabulous to see. I feel future generations will look back at this point in time with fascination, shock, and dismay and also awe at the courage women have shown by standing up and speaking out about the injustices and violence they have suffered since time immemorial. The social fabric is changing and I’m hopeful the momentum will continue and begin to move more quickly. I see the future in a positive light. I believe change is possible and that we are at the dawn of a new day. As more and more women are in leadership positions, the world will naturally become a more inclusive one and love will become the focus again. Violence will no longer be a silent global epidemic, all girls will receive an education, and helping others will become our primary goal. We have set the wheels in motion to ensure future generations have a safer and more equal world. My message is one of peace, love and unity and being an example of how to turn tragic into magic is the legacy I am creating.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My favorite life lesson quote is one by Audrey Hepburn:-

“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.”

I think those words of hers are magical, wise and true. And this came from one of the world’s most naturally beautiful women and it really touches a chord in my heart. If everyone lived by this mantra, could you imagine humanity’s potential? Inner beauty is what shines through and kindness and love is what makes the world go round. Being in the entertainment industry, physical beauty is vital but I really feel it’s important to remember that beauty is only skin deep and it’s what is on the inside that really counts.

How can our readers follow you online?

Instagram — @angelenabonet

Twitter — @angelena_bonet1

YouTube — @Angelena_Bonet

Facebook — https://www.facebook.com/angelenabonetofficial

LinkedIn — https://www.linkedin.com/in/angelena-bonet-692a397a/

Website — https://www.angelenabonet.com

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

Thank you so much Authority Magazine, it’s been great chatting with you!

--

--