Female Disruptors: Chelle Neff is revolutionizing the hair industry for stylists and customers

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readOct 3, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Chelle Neff, Founder of Urban Betty. Recently listed on the 2018 Inc. 5000 fastest-growing private companies in America.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

I was driven to style hair from a young age and I intuitively knew at age 10 that this was my calling while growing up in Abilene, Texas. By the age of 16 I was enrolled in cosmetology school and by 18 in 1995, I was officially licensed.

I was hungry to learn more and keep challenging myself to upgrade to higher end salons before finally nabbing my own chair at a Salon Suite space.

Being independent led to a need for a business identity. And thus the Urban Betty brick and mortar was born in 2005, inspired by the name Betty which is mine and my grandmother’s name. My legal name is Betty Michelle and I go by Chelle.

Why did you found your company?

After 10 years of being behind the chair, I needed something else. My inspiration wasn’t being fulfilled and I knew I couldn’t…

--

--

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine

Art historian turned marketer and journalist. I write about content and email marketing, visual design, and running a business..