Female Disruptors: Gigi Butler has shaken up the cake industry

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
4 min readOct 15, 2018

--

Life is about balance. Yes you can have it all. Business, kids, etc…It’s a daily challenge to make sure your priorities are in the right place so you won’t be scattered and wind up not giving your best. Be present in everything you do.

Gigi Butler is the Founder of Gigi’s Cupcakes. Gigi opened her first Gigi’s Cupcakes location just off of Music Row in Nashville, Tennessee, in 2008 with $33 to her name. Ten years later with nearly 100 locations nationwide it has grown to become America’s favorite cupcake franchise

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

I have always had an entrepreneurial spirt. I saw my dad start businesses all the time so why couldn’t I?

At age 15 I started a house cleaning company called Gigi’s Cleaning Company. My dream was to be a country music star. I moved to Nashville to pursue that dream, and to make money I started cleaning houses in Nashville. I cleaned during the day and sang at night, until at age 30 I realized that I needed to find a new dream. It was very hard to let go of my old dream to be a country music star and took some time to grieve the…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator