Female Disruptors: Jenny Dearborn is changing the future of work through HR

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readOct 19, 2018

--

Photo: Drew Altizer

I had the pleasure of interviewing Jenny Dearborn. Jenny is an HR professional and co-author of “The Data Driven Leader.”

What is your “backstory”?

Looking back at my career path, I feel very lucky. Until I was 18, I had undiagnosed severe dyslexia, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), and obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). When I was a kid, these disorders weren’t as commonly diagnosed as they are now, and teachers didn’t know how to see my potential.

I was put in special education classes and barely graduated from high school. Yet, I believed in myself and gave community college a try. Thanks to one very observant staff person there, I was finally diagnosed and started turning things around. I was 20 when I finally learned to really read fluently, using books on tape.

I eventually earned an AA, BA, MA in Education and later an MBA. I’m also able to recognize that my disorders can be a strength. It takes me longer to read emails, but my ADHD also allows me to turbo-multitask and my brain wiring overall helps me to see big picture strategic complexity more easily.

Because of my personal experience, I’ve always sought out opportunities to help people identify their true gifts and fulfill their…

--

--

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine

Art historian turned marketer and journalist. I write about content and email marketing, visual design, and running a business..