Female Disruptors: Ponsi Trivisvavet is shaking up plant breeding technology

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readSep 13, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing, Ponsi Trivisvavet, chief executive officer for Inari Agriculture, a new plant breeding technology company devoted to improving the way farmers grow the crops that feed us here and abroad. Inari is developing “customized” seed” that adapt to a particular grower’s location, altitude, climate, water supply, soil quality and so on. And Ponsi has been, for a very long time, in large companies and startups like Inari, one of the few female executives in the agricultural tech field.

Thank you so much for joining us! What is your “backstory?”

Born in Asia and raised in California, I gained an interesting perspective as a global citizen. I believe I have lived in more places than some will ever visit. I International travel opens your eyes to wonderful things, and not so wonderful things. Witnessing hunger and starvation on several continents initiated what became a dedication to improve agriculture through technology and science.

After earning an MBA at Cornell, I started working at McKinsey, and It was this passion for business and technology that brought me to agriculture sciences. I have always wanted to work in the role that can make a big impact to the world. In a male-dominated field of ranch hands and tractor drivers, I became one…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator