Female Disruptors: Sammy Courtright is helping busy professionals be fit at the office

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readAug 15, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Sammy Courtright. Sammy is the co-founder and COO of Fitspot Wellness, Inc., a workplace wellness company that brings onsite workouts, health screenings, workshops, and more to properties and companies around the country. Their mission: Make workplaces more active for more people.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

I moved to the US from Australia when I was 18, graduated from the University of Miami, and moved to Los Angeles. That’s where I met my co-founder, Jon. I was running operations for a jewelry company, but wanted to put my Pilates certification and passion for wellness to work.

Jon had started NeveRest, a fitness company that paired clients with personal trainers. When we started working together, we streamlined the logistics of scheduling, pairing and requesting workouts with personal trainers. That led us to create Fitspot.

Why did you found your company?

After interviewing a ton of our wonderful clients, we learned that there was a need for wellness in the workplace. We are spending more time at work than ever before. When Fitspot started, we were offering physical wellness services (i.e. on-site group fitness classes…

--

--

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine

Art historian turned marketer and journalist. I write about content and email marketing, visual design, and running a business..