Female Founders: Angelena Bonet of Crystal Heart Productions On The Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Woman Founder

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
12 min readJan 17, 2023

Time Management — Having your own business is obviously not nine to five. The hours, weeks and years it took me to produce my films was not something I had known when I first set out on this journey. My projects have been organic and so I have had to pivot and navigate this unknown road and manage my time. Editing is all consuming and I lose track of time when I’m in that zone. It’s very difficult to have balance and have a set structure when creative work is involved. I need to be flexible and go with the flow. I had no idea in the beginning just how much time my work would take and I’m glad I didn’t because I would have been so daunted!

As a part of our series about Why We Need More Women Founders, I had the pleasure of interviewing Angelena Bonet.

Multi-award winning documentary filmmaker, Angelena Bonet, interviews inspirational women all around the world and from all walks of life for her online talk show Heart Of The Matter. She has also produced a documentary short film Change The World, a feature film tetralogy and her soundtrack and music videos in their entirety which have collectively won over 300 international film festival awards. She founded Crystal Heart Productions in 2014 after suffering two life changing tragedies in the hopes to make a positive difference in others lives. Bonet has won numerous ‘Best Inspirational Film’ awards and the prestigious ‘Humanitarian Award’ at the Jane Austen Film Festival in the U.K. From Australian supermodel to multi-award winning documentary filmmaker, singer-songwriter and humanitarian her message is one of peace, love and unity.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your back story? What led you to this particular career path?

I began my career in Sydney, Australia as a professional model and actress after training in dance, piano and acting during my childhood. My career took me to Milan, New York, L.A and Canada where I have based myself since 2010. I then hosted the FIFA World Cup Show and acted in Ghostly Encounters that same year and after experiencing the sudden passing of my fiancé and then a victim of a violent crime I decided to create my production company, Crystal Heart Productions in 2014 to produce content that empowers women and allows us to have our voices heard.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

The most interesting story that has happened to me since I began leading my company was when I met American Playwright and Activist, Eve Ensler. I had given a public speech at one of her One Billion Rising events in Sydney then she came out here to give a talk at the Opera House. One Billion Rising also had an event that same weekend and I spoke at that too and she hugged me after I addressed the room. It was such an honor to meet such an inspiring woman who has done so much for the global women’s movement. She thanked me for my words and I thanked her for creating a revolution and bringing so many women together from around the world.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I am a self taught film editor and in the early days of Crystal Heart Productions I learned by trial and error and I would hit a key and something amazing would happen! It was such an organic process for me and came very naturally. Being able to create my vision myself and not have to rely on an editor has been the biggest blessing. I found another skill that I would never have imagined doing when I started out as a model. It brings me so much joy and I love being in that creative space.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I have been blessed with many helpful people along my journey but if it wasn’t for a high school friend, I would never have produced my films. I had just covered the red carpet for a film festival in Sydney and interviewed at the One Billion Rising event and my friend suggested that I make a short film about my life and what I had been through to help others and enter it in the following year’s Trop Fest. I was hesitant at first and not comfortable with sharing the details of the tragedies I had survived. However, the more I thought about it the more the idea began to sit better with me and I so began editing. I began with my public speech and some interviews from that event and before I knew it I had completed my first documentary feature film Angelena: Change The World! I had written an album with my late fiancé (he wrote and recorded the instrumentals before his passing and I then wrote the lyrics and melody afterwards during my time of grief) and I produced and directed my music videos and added them to the film to help tell my story in more detail. It was such a cathartic project and was instrumental in my healing. That film has grown into a tetralogy series which also consists of Angelena: Heart Of The Matter, Angelena: Light At The End Of The Tunnel and Angelena: Warrior Woman which are all available to rent and buy on Vimeo.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. According to this EY report, only about 20 percent of funded companies have women founders. This reflects great historical progress, but it also shows that more work still has to be done to empower women to create companies. In your opinion and experience what is currently holding back women from founding companies?

I think that founding your own company is very intimidating and most women would rather have coaching businesses or a stable job as an employee that don’t require external investment. When it comes to coaching and the consulting industries, I think the numbers are much higher of women entrepreneurs. In that I refer to entrepreneurs of businesses, but not founders of startups.

I do think the tides are changing and more and more women are following their hearts and venturing out into the unknown and wanting to make their mark in the world. The pandemic has been responsible for many people creating an online business and working from home. It’s particularly desirable for women who have children and can be their own boss and determine their own hours to suit their lifestyle, granted they have childcare support.

This might be intuitive to you as a woman founder but I think it will be helpful to spell this out. Can you share a few reasons why more women should become founders?

I think becoming a founder is a very personal decision and I don’t believe in “should”. I don’t have the mindset that the statistics need to be equal parts men and women. Life is fluid and every individual can choose their own destiny but I do think that they shouldn’t let fear and doubt or negative self talk hold them back from going after what they want. I always advocate for people following their hearts and their passion. Living your life purpose is what is essential to a happy and fulfilling life and I encourage everyone to do that, no matter what career they choose.

What are the myths that you would like to dispel about being a founder? Can you explain what you mean?

I think first and foremost that successful people make it look easy. The truth is it takes hard work, commitment and perseverance to be a success. With the belief in yourself and the willingness to put in the hours and make some mistakes along the way, they are the key ingredients that will assist you on this road. Another myth is that you need a lot of money to get started. No, I would disagree. You need an innovative idea and solid business plan but capital can be invested as time goes on. People think there’s a right and wrong time to start a company but once again I would say trust your instincts and do your homework. Understanding your industry and market are vital and then having the courage to follow your vision and make it a reality. The final myth I hear so many times is that most new business owners don’t earn enough money to take regular salaries. This is not always true and with meticulous planning and a solid strategy, it is definitely possible to be earning a regular salary whilst growing your business.

Is everyone cut out to be a founder? In your opinion, which specific traits increase the likelihood that a person will be a successful founder and what type of person should perhaps seek a regular job as an employee? Can you explain what you mean?

No, not everyone is cut out to be a founder but anyone can give it a go if that is their calling. Trying something new is always a risk and creating your own business is one of them. There are certain traits that I believe increase a person to be successful and being a risk-taker is one of them. Possessing the confidence and courage in themselves to leave their regular day job and become their own boss is not for the faint hearted. Many people crave security and predictability so this kind of business venture goes against that grain. Anyone who is self motivated and loves a challenge and hard work is also a suitable candidate. If it is stability and routine that you love then I wouldn’t recommend becoming a founder. Stick with the regular job as an employee if that is the life you love.

Ok super. Here is the main question of our interview. What are your 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started and why? (Please share a story or example for each.)

  1. Courage — Becoming a founder is all about having courage and taking a huge leap of faith. It’s about the ability to step right out of your comfort zone and believe in yourself and your talents and vision. The other key element is about rising above others fears and limitations and going after your dream.
  2. Opportunities — Having opportunities within the realms of education, mentoring and training is critical to helping empower women to achieve their career goals with the necessary skill set. Knowing where to find grants and scholarships is beneficial not only to the women themselves but the community and economy at large. Possessing those skills provides confidence and knowledge when embarking on the path of a founder.
  3. Capital — Understanding your capital and business plan is vital in any business but especially when founding your own company. Sourcing investors and securing grants can be the difference between success and failure. There are some valuable incubator hubs and government funded organizations which specialize in this area and is a huge advantage to female founders.
  4. Time Management — Having your own business is obviously not nine to five. The hours, weeks and years it took me to produce my films was not something I had known when I first set out on this journey. My projects have been organic and so I have had to pivot and navigate this unknown road and manage my time. Editing is all consuming and I lose track of time when I’m in that zone. It’s very difficult to have balance and have a set structure when creative work is involved. I need to be flexible and go with the flow. I had no idea in the beginning just how much time my work would take and I’m glad I didn’t because I would have been so daunted!
  5. Flexibility — Flexibility is not just about on a personal level but ensuring that there are social structures in place to allow women the freedom and flexibility to pursue these kinds of big goals. Women are focused on family, childcare, and domestic duties and that takes away from the time and energy needed to get a business up and running. Women need support such as affordable childcare so they can have more freedom to pursue their dreams.

How have you used your success to make the world a better place?

My success has come from me making the world a better place and I couldn’t be more grateful. When I began my films and Heart Of The Matter, my goal was to be heard and stand up for all women, not just myself. I also made a promise to my late fiancé when he was in a coma on life support that I would finish our album and I kept my word. To receive over 300 film and music film festival awards, including ‘Humanitarian’ and ‘Human Spirit’ awards really touches my heart. I know how excited my late fiancé would be t odder me winning these awards and that makes me feel at peace. Inspiring many people around the world after such suffering is a blessing that I can’t really describe. By being authentic and transparent with my own suffering has allowed others permission to open their own hearts and I love meeting people from different cultures who say I have inspired them and helped them find strength and hope. It is such a gift to be a voice for women and I feel honored.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good for the greatest number of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

Creating Change The World and inspiring people around the world and touching their hearts is a wonderful gift that I am very grateful for. I have deep compassion for myself and every other woman who has suffered sexual violence and I am honored to use my voice for good and speak for those who can’t. My spirit couldn’t be silenced and to now be heard in every country is something so special and is very hard to describe. When I look back at what I have endured and the miracle of surviving the murder attempt to now winning these special awards is something I could never have imagined would happen! I vowed to make a stand and leave this world a better place than I found it and I am committed. Women are now finding their voice and self-worth and it is fabulous to see. I feel future generations will look back at this point in time with fascination, shock, and dismay and also awe at the courage women have shown by standing up and speaking out about the injustices and violence they have suffered since time immemorial. The social fabric is changing and I’m hopeful the momentum will continue and begin to move more quickly. I see the future in a positive light. I believe change is possible and that we are at the dawn of a new day. As more and more women are in leadership positions, the world will naturally become a more inclusive one and love will become the focus again. Violence will no longer be a silent global epidemic, all girls will receive an education, and helping others will become our primary goal. We have set the wheels in motion to ensure future generations have a safer and more equal world. My message is one of peace, love and unity and being an example of how to turn tragic into magic is the legacy I am creating.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

I would love to have a private breakfast with Sophia Loren. She is such an icon and an amazing woman who has had such an interesting life. I am a hug fan of her films but mostly impressed with her humanitarian work with The UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR). In this role, Loren brought global attention to the plight of refugees as one of their Goodwill Ambassadors. I really admire how she has selflessly used her fame and beauty to shine a light on people suffering and try and make a positive difference in the world. I have so many questions I would love to ask her!

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

Thank you so much Authority Magazine, I am really grateful for this interview.

--

--