Female Founders: Katharine Earnhardt of Mason Lane Art Advisory On The Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Woman Founder

An Interview With Doug Noll

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine
17 min readMar 21, 2024

--

Don’t let fear drive your decisions.

I was once on the Peloton and the instructor said: when you’re deciding between pushing yourself forward (in life or on the bike) and sitting on the couch (metaphorically, in many cases) all you need is for that push to be GREATER than 50%. It can be 50.1, or it can be 99.9%… This was so meaningful to me. First, it normalized fear and hesitation. Those are natural feelings to have in concert with motivation. But if you can get that motivation meter past the 50% mark, you are there. You are going to move forward, learn something, and be better for it.. And that is the goal (not financial success or winning.) Fear, in my mind, is not a reason to say no or put something off. This goes for everything from having a difficult conversation to putting yourself out there on social media, offering a new service, talking to a stranger, and more. Embracing this mentality again gets me out of and expands my comfort zone constantly. Again, it all just makes life and work infinitely more satisfying.

As a part of our series about Women Founders, we had the pleasure of interviewing Katharine Earnhardt of Mason Lane Art Advisory.

Katharine Earnhardt is the Founder of Mason Lane Art Advisory Services with offices across the US and Canada. With nearly 20 years of experience in the art world, Katharine has an in-depth knowledge of art, business, and entrepreneurship, along with an aptitude for sharing it all with a particular clarity and charisma. She has worked at the Museum of Modern Art, Christie’s Inc, and Gurr Johns, conducting extensive research on art value and investment, and has spoken to countless groups and individuals about art market activity, including at or through Parsons School of Design, Royal Bank of Canada, Business of Home, Upwards & Associates, High Point Market, and the New York Design Center. Topics range from business growth, to entrepreneurship, art appreciation, and value within the art market. Katharine has a dual degree in Art History and Economics from Williams College and a Master’s in Art Business from Sotheby’s Institute of Art. Known for her transparency and personalized, engaging approach, Katharine grabs the attention of an audience leaving them educated and inspired.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

My experiences span a broad section of the art and design worlds, and include work done with individuals from every corner of the financial, legal, tech and business arenas. I did not follow a typical art world path as a gallery assistant making her way up to Director, or an auction house assistant working 10 years before being allowed to speak to a real live client. Instead, I hopped around to diverse areas of the art world — including working at MoMA, Christie’s Fine Art Storage Services and more before founding my own art advisor firm, Mason Lane, 10 years ago. I have seen first hand that we do not need to follow one path, but we do need to be the best version of ourselves. Every step of the way I aimed to do this. There was momentum at some points and back pedaling at others, but what I am most proud of is seeing the lessons at every junction, and using them to fuel my personal and professional growth, defining my own version of success.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

One of the most interesting and pivotal moments I have had as a Founder happened on a solo car trip to the Hamptons for a client visit, nearly 7 years ago. I was listening to the “Business Made Simple” podcast about a leader in an industry completely separate from the art world. I don’t remember what it was. He had expanded his business through licensing arrangements with partners around the world. This prompted a light bulb moment about how I could expand my art advisory practice in ways no other art advisors had ever done. Typically, art advisors are solopreneurs. Yet collaboration within the art advisory world felt essential to building my own knowledge and fueling better client relationships. From listening to this podcast about a completely different industry, I transformed my own, bringing on business partners eventually in Toronto, Minneapolis, and Los Angeles, to create a unique art advisory model that no one else has replicated. Beyond this, it prompts me to regularly consume content unrelated to the art world. I believe this opens my mind as a businesswoman, prompting continued curiosity and creative thinking that continues to push our growth.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I have often thought that creating a Mason Lane bloopers reel would be hilarious (internally), but the humor may not translate well to the external world. I suppose one of the funny very early stories relates to how I started this business in the first place. I had purchased my first home (a “forever home”/ Tribeca loft that we owned for a total of 2 years before selling) and did not know where to buy art. I had worked in the blue chip art world forever and my knowledge of emerging artists was limited. I went to an art fair to explore this arena and had some bubbly upon entering. There was an attractive piece in the back that was available by silent auction, supporting a charitable cause that I had honestly never known about. After another glass of Champagne, I put in an offer. I remember it was for $8,000 — not a small amount of money and certainly something my husband I would have otherwise discussed. My intention was mainly to get the bidding going. Well, no one else wanted this painting, and I received a call the following day that I had won it. I did share the news with my husband and we awaited the painting’s arrival a few days later. Instead of it coming to my door, I received a call from the charity explaining how my money would be returned. This was confusing, but through the series of phone calls that followed I learned that the painting literally imploded on itself… it was mishandled after the fair, and because of the weight (it had a ton of paint on it), the entire thing just collapsed. Ultimately that as a nice save, and prompted me to find an alternative first real artwork to collect… later leading to the business I own today.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I have never felt like any single person was believing in me before I believed in myself, or pushing me to achieve more than I thought I could on my own. I absolutely appreciate family and friends who have undoubtedly been supportive throughout my life and career… and I also acknowledge that much of my drive came when I believed those closest to me didn’t think I could actually reach a certain goal. In that way, I am grateful for everyone of those relationships that motivated me to initially push myself in an effort to prove a point. That morphed into not caring at all about others’ beliefs or doubts, but simply proving a point to myself. I became intentional about the way I spent my time — our most valuable currency — and enjoyed the process of learning about my niche, business, wellness and more, to simply surprise myself about what I could accomplish.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. According to this EY report, only about 20 percent of funded companies have women founders. This reflects great historical progress, but it also shows that more work still has to be done to empower women to create companies. In your opinion and experience what is currently holding back women from founding companies?

I think women’s and men’s mindset about our respective roles and capabilities is currently holding back women from founding companies. Although so many of us need and support gender equality, we are also hardwired by our upbringing and society to think and act (subconsciously and consciously) in ways that directly obstruct everyone from reaching that goal. One way that manifests is in entrepreneurship. Clearly more progress needs to be made.

Can you help articulate a few things that can be done as individuals, as a society, or by the government, to help overcome those obstacles?

We cannot fix gender inequality as a society unless we understand: 1) why our society became so gendered in the first place, and 2) what current gender inequality looks like. Simply saying that “everyone is equal” or “men and women have the same opportunities now!” is negligent. It is important to research historical views, expectations, and treatment of men and women. It is also important to look at quantitative and qualitative data on the topic. Yes, fewer women are founding companies, but also, what are their hesitations and fears around doing so? What are men’s, and how do those compare? Some of the most impactful books I have read in my life, that shaped the business woman I now am, are on this topic, They include: On Our Best Behavior by Elise Loehnen, and Curse of the Good Girl by Rachel Simmons. These books helped me understand and name deep-seated beliefs that were holding me back from realizing my full potential. The more people who understand these issues, the more we as a society can overcome them.

This might be intuitive to you as a woman founder but I think it will be helpful to spell this out. Can you share a few reasons why more women should become founders?

More women should be founders because being a founder means adding value to the world. Women are just as well positioned to do this as men. When we add value to the world, we feel empowered to speak up more for our beliefs, lift each other up, and give back to society in meaningful ways that fosters a positive cycle of thought and action.

What are the “myths” that you would like to dispel about being a founder? Can you explain what you mean?

Gosh this is a tough one. I think the biggest myth that I would like to dispel is that at some point, as a Founder, you have a momentum that allows you to sit back, step away, maybe even “make money while you sleep”. For me, this has never been true. We have seen great growth in recent years and I am endlessly proud of what we have achieved as a team… and yet I will never sit back and let the business run itself. With growth comes excitement and new problems. Part of the successful Founder mindset is just getting better at dealing with those problems, and continuing to find areas for improvement, and pivoting to create more value in the world.

Is everyone cut out to be a founder? In your opinion, which specific traits increase the likelihood that a person will be a successful founder and what type of person should perhaps seek a “regular job” as an employee? Can you explain what you mean?

No, not everyone is cut out to be a founder, and individuals’ comparative advantage is what makes our society tick. A successful founder has 1) a particular knowledge of and belief in their business’ value, and 2) a strong self awareness. The knowledge + belief formula has also been recognized as the key to optimal performance for elite athletes. I believe that it absolutely applies to areas outside sports, like business. Self awareness is the less talked about trait that is important for a successful founder to hold. It enables one to reflect, understand what worked and what didn’t, be agile, take risks, and take actions outside the workplace — like being present with family or prioritizing self care — that support a founder’s sustainable, ongoing leadership.

Those who do not have these traits yet, or do not aspire to acquire them, are better suited in a non-founder role. These roles are a crucial part of the ecosystem too, and include a number of other valuable skills that make businesses work.

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started” and why?

1 . Create this business to add value in the world.

During the Pandemic, 6 years into Founding my art advisory business, I had a few moments during which I questioned the point of my work. While witnessing the critical role that emergency workers such as doctors, scientists and journalists played in getting our society through this global crisis, helping people discover and acquire art suddenly felt a bit meaningless. Then, my mindset shifted. Clients new and old were engaging our services like never before, resulting in our strongest years yet. I realized that learning about art and living with pieces they connected with was an important outlet and source of inspiration for them. It helped them connect with themselves, each other, and artists’ very personal means of self expression. With personally meaningful art, their homes had a new energy that fueled a more positive mindset, which had implications for how they showed up as individuals, professionals, parents and more. Understanding this on a deeper level helped me identify my why, and how important it is to understand your “why” in consistently and effectively building your business.

2 . Stop proving a point to those who need convincing.

I grew up valuing external validation to an extent that ultimately hindered me from reaching my potential in my personal and professional life. It also made me extremely unhappy in ways I didn’t completely realize. Through a lot of reflection (and therapy), I have completely shifted that circuitry, now embracing internal validation; I am entirely driven by what I want and aim to achieve over what others think. If anything, hearing others’ doubts fuels me to try harder. This simply makes my life and work more fulfilling and successful by any definition.

3 . Self care, reflection and growth is essential for any meaningful professional advancement.

This relates to my answer for #2 above. Without taking the time to care for, understand, and invest in yourself, you will never reach your full potential. Last year I prioritized doing things for myself more than any other year. The first step was determining what I needed and/or wanted. That is key; I was not just giving myself the necessities, but allowing for indulgence in responsible ways. If I could afford it, thought it would improve the quality of my life to a degree that was appealing, and didn’t hurt others, I was in. For example, I love going out to dinner by myself. I find it to be restorative and productive. I bring my laptop or a book and get so much done. I definitely do not need to go out to dinner by myself, but I made a point to do it about every 2 weeks, simply working out a plan with my family. Other ways I have invested in myself over the short and long term include: going on a retreat (organized or not) to clear my head; splurging for new and improved office technology; hiring an organizer, stylist, and business coach (separately, though someone SHOULD do all three); getting a lesson in how to actually use makeup so I can present myself optimally; blocking out time on my calendar for off-screen ideating; going to therapy; and the list goes on.

4 . You are a culmination of the 5 people or sources of content (!) you surround yourself with every day.

There are studies that show that the people you surround yourself with most absolutely influence who you are. I like to broaden this to include people and sources of content. Scrolling mindlessly on Instagram and being envious of influencers counts — and it negatively impacts your own productivity and self esteem. Alternatively, following accounts that inspire you, or provide sound business advice, for example, certainly influence your psyche and who you are in positive ways. Spending time with less-than-ideal people is sometimes inevitable, but you can limit that time and cancel it out by saying “yes” more to people and content that positively impact your life. Some key sources for me in this regard have been: Rob Dial Jr (does the Mindset Mentor podcast and recently released the book “Level Up”), Rob Lowe and his book called “Stories I Only Tell My Friends”, friend/author/speaker Lydia Fenet, Alex Toussaint (on the Peloton! Working out early with him and hearing his inspirational messages is a great way to start your day)

5 . Don’t let fear drive your decisions.

I was once on the Peloton and the instructor said: when you’re deciding between pushing yourself forward (in life or on the bike) and sitting on the couch (metaphorically, in many cases) all you need is for that push to be GREATER than 50%. It can be 50.1, or it can be 99.9%… This was so meaningful to me. First, it normalized fear and hesitation. Those are natural feelings to have in concert with motivation. But if you can get that motivation meter past the 50% mark, you are there. You are going to move forward, learn something, and be better for it.. And that is the goal (not financial success or winning.) Fear, in my mind, is not a reason to say no or put something off. This goes for everything from having a difficult conversation to putting yourself out there on social media, offering a new service, talking to a stranger, and more. Embracing this mentality again gets me out of and expands my comfort zone constantly. Again, it all just makes life and work infinitely more satisfying.

As a side note, I was once traveling in very rural upstate New York and saw a bandana at a gas station. It was army green and said, “feel the fear and do it anyways”. I thought it was hilarious, and so true. First of all, I never wear bandanas, but I bought it and put it around my neck while laughing with my daughters. It inspired us that vacation to try knee boarding for the first time, along with some not-so-traditional ice cream flavors, and has become a funny family mantra.

How have you used your success to make the world a better place?

During the pandemic, I did have a few dark moments (like many people) during which I questioned the value of my business since I was not an emergency worker saving lives. I concluded that I did not need to be an ER doctor to have an impact on the world. That year, 2020, was one of our fastest growing years we every had; we saw that clients (old and new) were hungry to make their homes better reflections of their own identities, and sources of inspiration for the want to feel every day, by learning about and acquiring art. At that moment, I also realized that the art we help clients discover and acquire, is all primary market, meaning the profits from those sales go directly back to the artists. When we help clients acquire art, there is also an ecosystem of other vendors that participate in the sale cycle. This includes framers, truckers, installers, and more. Securing a record number of sales in 2020, and every year thereafter, reminds me that the art we help clients acquire is changing the way they live and feel, and contributing to the well being of freelancers, creatives, and entrepreneurs in the entire art ecosystem.

Part II of this answer, is completely separate, but worth mentioning:

One of my most proud accomplishments as the Founder of Mason Lane, is starting and continuously running the Cobble Hill Halloween Window Painting Day. It is a day where Brooklyn kids can create a Halloween-themed painting on an assigned window spot on Court Street in the Cobble Hill neighborhood. The event is free for everyone and each child receives a full bag of art supplies, which we provide.

This year, 2024, will be the 7th annual Cobble Hill Halloween Window Painting Day, and has absolutely become a favorite tradition within the neighborhood that brings businesses, families, the elderly and anyone walking up Court Street, together. Last year, I even had an elderly woman say that she had been a fan of the event for the past 30 years. (It did not exist until 2018.) During the pandemic when we debated not running it, parents nearly rioted. They begged us to do it, indicating that the kids holidays had been stripped down so much, and this was something we could all do safely and happily to keep spirits up. This tradition is what reminds me of how art can foster connection, community, and connection in ways that truly transform lives.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good for the greatest number of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

As an art advisor, I am clearly driven by the way my surroundings look and feel. Every environment creates a kind of energy that influences the way we think and live. I focus on creating environments that incorporate personally meaningful art, but I am also passionate about global environmental issues. I believe that cleaning up our planet will prompt a powerful feeling of gratitude, collaboration, nurture, and growth. If I could inspire one movement that would bring the most amount of good for the greater number of people, it would be a movement to strategically clean up litter and together see, appreciate, and help maintain the natural beauty of our planet.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

I definitely have a vision board with images of real people (and fictional characters!) that I admire, along with mantras and images representing goals that I want to achieve. That said, it’s not a board of the rich and famous, and one thing that’s important to note is that I do not want to BE any one of them. I like and admire certain aspects of each and put those pieces together to inspire the person I want to become each day. These people are hilariously diverse and are ALMOST embarrassing to share in one list. They include, in no particular order: Tunde from Peloton (powerful inside and out), Shiv Roy (from Succession — such a boss), Lauryn Bosstick (always learning), Beverly Osemwenkhae (a new entrepreneur and personal stylist with a new take), my incredible cousin/mother/radiologist/supporter Maria Manning and more. All of these women take risks, know themselves, acknowledge mistakes, and dive into life with a contagious enthusiasm to keep pushing forward.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

About the Interviewer: Douglas E. Noll, JD, MA was born nearly blind, crippled with club feet, partially deaf, and left-handed. He overcame all of these obstacles to become a successful civil trial lawyer. In 2000, he abandoned his law practice to become a peacemaker. His calling is to serve humanity, and he executes his calling at many levels. He is an award-winning author, teacher, and trainer. He is a highly experienced mediator. Doug’s work carries him from international work to helping people resolve deep interpersonal and ideological conflicts. Doug teaches his innovative de-escalation skill that calms any angry person in 90 seconds or less. With Laurel Kaufer, Doug founded Prison of Peace in 2009. The Prison of Peace project trains life and long terms incarcerated people to be powerful peacemakers and mediators. He has been deeply moved by inmates who have learned and applied deep, empathic listening skills, leadership skills, and problem-solving skills to reduce violence in their prison communities. Their dedication to learning, improving, and serving their communities motivates him to expand the principles of Prison of Peace so that every human wanting to learn the skills of peace may do so. Doug’s awards include California Lawyer Magazine Lawyer of the Year, Best Lawyers in America Lawyer of the Year, Purpose Prize Fellow, International Academy of Mediators Syd Leezak Award of Excellence, National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals Neutral of the Year. His four books have won a number of awards and commendations. Doug’s podcast, Listen With Leaders, is now accepting guests. Click on this link to learn more and apply.

--

--

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine

Award-winning author, teacher, trainer, and now podcaster.