Female Founders: Monica Madrid of Football Is Sexy On The Five Things You Need To Thrive and Succeed as a Woman Founder

An Interview With Doug Noll

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine
11 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Really take the time to research your investors. There is good money and there is bad money. Is this person easy to work with? Is this person going to be an issue down the line? How it starts is how it ends. If they are being difficult now, trust me, they will be 100 times worse later. Move on. Do not take that deal, no matter how much you need it. It will cost you way more in the end. Take the good money from the good people.

As a part of our series about Women Founders, we had the pleasure of interviewing Monica Madrid.

Monica is an entrepreneur, songwriter, and above all else, a massive San Francisco 49ers fan! She doesn’t want others to miss out on the fun, excitement, and camaraderie that follow fans of the game. Her Football is Sexy podcast and app fits the bill when it comes to making us want to learn more about the ins and outs of the sport. She has her late dad, Joe, to thank for that, living her dream to talk about football 24/7 as a proud LGBTQ, Hispanic woman.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

My passion has always been football! Growing up, my father would take me to Candlestick Park to watch his favorite team, the San Francisco 49ers, and it became everything to me. Once he passed away from cancer in 2014, I realized just how many memories we had surrounding our team and the sport. I couldn’t fathom others going through life without sports, let alone football. I felt bad for all the people who didn’t have a clue what they were missing. There is nothing like being in the stands, feeling the energy of the crowd, or yelling with your friends and family, at the TV rooting for your favorite team. It brings friends, family, and community together. Then it dawned on me, if you didn’t grow up with an amazing culture of football like I did, where would you even begin? I realized there was no easy way to learn the game and that’s when “Football Is Sexy” was born.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

The most interesting thing that has happened since starting “Football Is Sexy” was when a producer called me asking if I’d like to be on the Kelly Clarkson show. Telling my story on national television and having Jerry Rice, the Hall of Famer (49ers), surprise me with two Super Bowl Tickets was truly incredible.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I’m not sure it’s funny but I think somehow, I ended up ordering way too many grey shirts for my “Football Is Sexy” merch. I wanted black and gold T-shirts but several boxes had grey shirts instead. I was like, “Wow, this is a lot of grey.” Somehow, the order got switched. I learned a valuable lesson that day; pay attention to detail. Always triple-check your orders before they go out. I’m still selling the grey crews now. HA!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My mother, hands down. She was the first person to say “visualize and go after your dream” and that is what I’ve always done. She has been my biggest supporter to this day. Always the one to listen and support me in any way she can; I am truly grateful. Also, I would say Penny Toler. When I decided to go full speed ahead with our first-to-market mobile app, apparel line, and our all women podcast talking and teaching football, I called my long-time friend, Penny Toler. Penny is a legend in basketball; she was the first woman to score a basket in the WNBA. She played for the LA Sparks under Jerry Buss (Laker owner / Legend). Once she retired as a player, Penny became the General Manager and Executive Vice President guiding the Sparks to 3 championship rings. Her jersey hangs above the rafters in Crypto Arena. Once, I told her about my idea of giving women a place to feel more seen and heard, talking and teaching football, she was instantly in! She is now running the legendary Ice House with Johnny Buss (Laker Family) and that is where we shoot our Football Is Sexy podcast. She is instrumental to our vision and success. Even though she’s not a 49ers fan, we make it work! She’s more of a Tom Brady fan. We go back and forth on this because we all know Joe Montana is the real GOAT!

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. According to this EY report, only about 20 percent of funded companies have women founders. This reflects great historical progress, but it also shows that more work still has to be done to empower women to create companies. In your opinion and experience what is currently holding back women from founding companies?

It kind of shocks me that this is still the case but I would say, it could be due to fear or thinking you can’t have it all… a family and a career. I’m not sure to be honest because I never saw myself as a woman who was being held back by anything. I never once thought I couldn’t do this or that. The real question was how am I going to make it happen. I have been in a male-dominated field my entire career from car sales, to the mortgage industry and now football. It never stopped me. In fact, it fueled my fire that much more whenever I felt discriminated against in any way. I used that anger to fuel me, worked harder than anyone else, and I would be the best at whatever I chose to do. I proved to everyone else that I am going to be the best. I am going to be the person you want on your team.

Can you help articulate a few things that can be done as individuals, as a society, or by the government, to help overcome those obstacles?

I think it starts with us, as women. Being the best we can be and making sure we do not give anyone a reason to not hire us or give us a shot. I think we blow the whistle when we see injustice. But what I really think is women, need to help other women. Sadly, some women do not reach their hand out to other women due to a competitive spirit. There is a fine line between competing and helping other women. I really would like to see more women empower other women and not fear that they want to take their place. We can all shine our light. There is enough room at the top for all of us.

This might be intuitive to you as a woman founder but I think it will be helpful to spell this out. Can you share a few reasons why more women should become founders?

I think the best reason to be a founder is because it’s probably been burning in your soul to do so. Founders have this thing that never goes away. A quiet voice that says, “You should do this.” I think many worry too much about how they will do this and ask themselves, “How am I going to do this?” instead of saying, “I am going to do this.” Creating your own destination is beyond rewarding and one you will never regret. You will regret not trying; I promise you that. So, like my good friend Penny Toler says “Start with go!”

What are the “myths” that you would like to dispel about being a founder? Can you explain what you mean?

That you can’t do it. Many think just because you don’t have money or a degree, you can’t do it. WRONG! You can do it. Other people have money but they don’t have an amazing idea. Some have a great idea and no money. There is always a way to make a good idea into a business. You have to visualize it. You have to believe in it and you have to execute it. It’s that simple. I do not have a college degree but I have learned more in the last 2 years about 4 completely different businesses. Most only do one of the 4 but I have learned apparel, a podcast, social media and built a groundbreaking app with no college degree.

Is everyone cut out to be a founder? In your opinion, which specific traits increase the likelihood that a person will be a successful founder and what type of person should perhaps seek a “regular job” as an employee? Can you explain what you mean?

I don’t think all are meant to be founders. It’s not for the weak! You have to be a little crazy and a risk-taker. You have to believe in YOU more than you believe in you. You have to be confident enough to shoot down every person who says “You can’t, it will never work.” You have to hang around like-minded people and see others live the life of entrepreneurship. If you hang around people who have been at the same job for 25 years, you may not think it’s possible. There is nothing wrong with being stable and living on a salary but you won’t be inspired in the same way if you were to hang out with someone who just started their own clothing line from scratch. They say, you are who you hang around, so find some mentors to help you see that the life you want to live is absolutely possible!

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Started” and why?

1 . Don’t ever do a 50/50 partnership. Usually, someone is the visionary and that person should always have the majority. Too many companies start out 50/50 and end up going nowhere because they do not agree on something and the company never gets off the ground. I would highly recommend if you are the visionary, the drive of the company, keep your percentage at minimum 51/49, so you always have control and have the final say.

2 . Don’t order grey fabric! If you do, order very few. Top colors are top colors for a reason. Ha!

3 . In your legal documents, make sure there is a clause that states if you try to hurt the company in any way via finances or publicly, you lose your percentage and forfeit whatever the deal is on the table.

4 . Really take the time to research your investors. There is good money and there is bad money. Is this person easy to work with? Is this person going to be an issue down the line? How it starts is how it ends. If they are being difficult now, trust me, they will be 100 times worse later. Move on. Do not take that deal, no matter how much you need it. It will cost you way more in the end. Take the good money from the good people.

5 . Some people, even people who you think are friends, won’t be along for the ride. Sadly, some will be jealous and won’t want you to succeed. Do not put your energy into these people and do not share with them your plans. Keep a lot of what you do to yourself and only share with mentors, and other like-minded people who want you to succeed and will help you navigate through an entrepreneur’s journey. Others will not understand unless they have built a business from the ground up themselves. Be careful taking advice from people who aren’t where you want to be. Listen to the people, who uplift you and want nothing but the best for you. These people will be the ones you can lean on. And one day, you will be able to help someone the way you were helped.

How have you used your success to make the world a better place?

It’s in my mission. I am connecting people who would have not met before “Football Is Sexy.” I am showing people it’s never too late to learn. I am giving people a voice that needs to be heard. I am giving people a platform to show their fandom and knowledge, giving them more confidence to shine. I am teaching the game through inclusivity and knowledge which will add just another chapter in their life.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good for the greatest number of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

I think I am doing that now. The FIS movement has begun.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

Mark Cuban has the attitude and business savvy that I absolutely love. His candor, sports mind, and my vision would be a match made in heaven. Also, Lori Greiner. I think she would embrace the vision and would help us create an amazing community not just in the United States but globally. If I could have coffee and a blueberry muffin with these two, it would be a dream come true.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

About the Interviewer: Douglas E. Noll, JD, MA was born nearly blind, crippled with club feet, partially deaf, and left-handed. He overcame all of these obstacles to become a successful civil trial lawyer. In 2000, he abandoned his law practice to become a peacemaker. His calling is to serve humanity, and he executes his calling at many levels. He is an award-winning author, teacher, and trainer. He is a highly experienced mediator. Doug’s work carries him from international work to helping people resolve deep interpersonal and ideological conflicts. Doug teaches his innovative de-escalation skill that calms any angry person in 90 seconds or less. With Laurel Kaufer, Doug founded Prison of Peace in 2009. The Prison of Peace project trains life and long terms incarcerated people to be powerful peacemakers and mediators. He has been deeply moved by inmates who have learned and applied deep, empathic listening skills, leadership skills, and problem-solving skills to reduce violence in their prison communities. Their dedication to learning, improving, and serving their communities motivates him to expand the principles of Prison of Peace so that every human wanting to learn the skills of peace may do so. Doug’s awards include California Lawyer Magazine Lawyer of the Year, Best Lawyers in America Lawyer of the Year, Purpose Prize Fellow, International Academy of Mediators Syd Leezak Award of Excellence, National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals Neutral of the Year. His four books have won a number of awards and commendations. Doug’s podcast, Listen With Leaders, is now accepting guests. Click on this link to learn more and apply.

--

--

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine

Award-winning author, teacher, trainer, and now podcaster.