Female Founders: Polly Rodriguez wants womxn to get unbound

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readAug 15, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Polly Rodriguez, CEO and Co-Founder of Unbound. Unbound is the first venture backed sexual wellness company for women.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

I’ve always been drawn to turning terrible experiences into great ones for customers. My first job out of college was working for Senator Claire McCaskill in Washington DC, and then I went on to specialize in strategy consulting at Deloitte.

Following three years of working on customer experience and brand building, I joined Grouper, a YCombinator startup that focused on the worst experience of all: dating in New York City (and subsequently globally).

But there was always one shopping experience that I found to be the worst — buying your first vibrator as a woman. Years later, I’m now the CEO of Unbound, the first direct-to-consumer brand name in sexual wellness.

Why did you found your company?

When I was 21 years old, I found myself with a velcro fanny pack full of chemotherapy drugs in a sketchy sex shop next to the airport in St…

--

--

Ashley Couto
Authority Magazine

Writing about the effects of art & advertising on the human psyche & soul. Writer & marketer. PhD student in Medieval Studies at Universidade NOVA de Lisboa.