Filmmaker Tanner Beard: “Surround yourself with people that you like and who are like-minded; You will find these people as you are coming up in your career”

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readApr 17, 2020

--

A tip to avoid “burnout” in the industry is to surround yourself with people that you like and are like-minded. You will find these people as you are coming up in your career.

As a part of my series about pop culture’s rising stars, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Tanner Beard.

Tanner is an Actor, Producer, and Founder/President of the Mammoth Film Festival.

Tanner’s latest film to hit digital streaming is We Summon The Darkness, originally slated for a theatrical release prior to COVID-19. It was released across digital and VOD platforms on April 10th, starring Alexandra Deddario, Maddie Hasson and Johnny Knoxville, including Itunes and Amazon.

Tanner has acted in a slew of notable projects, such as Robert Rodriguez’ From Dusk Till Dawn The Series (action horror), Barracuda (thriller), Deported, Hidden In The Woods (horror), Thunder Broke the Heavens, Legend of Hell’s Gate, 6 Bullets To Hell (retro grindhouse western) and many more.

Working in the industry as an actor, writer, director and producer, Tanner Beard created Silver Sail Entertainment, an all media-based production company during the industry strike in 2008 as a source to create professional media content. Tanner has since produced projects including a travel show, award-winning short films, award-winning documentaries, commercials, music videos, two seasons of a web-based television series and feature films such as the critically acclaimed ‘HELLION’ starring Aaron Paul and Juliette Lewis, ‘THE LEGEND OF HELL’S GATE’, starring Eric Balfour, Henry Thomas, Jenna Dewan Tatum, Summer Glau, Kevin Alejandro and Lou Taylor Pucci and others.

Tanner himself has recently completed Executive Producing four films under icon Terrance Malick and producer Sarah Green, starring talent such as Christian Bale, Ryan Gosling, Cate Blanchett, Michael Fassbender and Natalie Portman. One of which is a documentary, ‘VOYAGE OF TIME’, produced alongside Brad Pitt, who also narrates the film. It recently premiered at the Venice Film Festival and it’s North American Premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival, to much acclaim.

As a producer, he has had films and documentaries in competition at top festivals around the world including Sundance, Berlin, Cannes, Venice, SXSW and Toronto, as well as his own Mammoth Film Festival.

Along with RIPTIDE, Tanner’s other upcoming projects are an animated feature entitled ‘FRIDGEPORT’ he co-created with Paul Khoury and produced alongside Liam Hemsworth and Ashley Greene, and his latest passion project; a new Christmas comedy ‘JUST BE CLAUS’, which Beard co-wrote with director Tim Skousen and is producing with Jeff Kalligheri and Jared Hess of “Napoleon Dynamite”.

Follow @TannerBeard @SilverSailEntertainment and @MammothFilmFestival on Instagram.

Thank you so much for doing this with us Tanner! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in a small town in Texas called Snyder, home of the White Buffalo. I had a lot of families there and many great holidays! I played a number of different sports growing up with a strong interest in golf. Around the age of 16, I started making home movies in the backyard and around town. Most were either school-related or for local contests, but it leads me to film-related study along with theatrical performance and competitions. Snyder was a great place to find motivation.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

In my late teens, a feature film rolled through my hometown. I had just gotten my driver's license, so I was lucky enough to have the chance to drive some members of the cast and crew around town! I can still see “Grand Champion” on streaming networks today (ha)! Working on that film gave me an early film school experience, and that’s when I really started looking at the film as a career.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

A few years into my time in LA, just as I felt I had really gained some “know how” the writers strike happened. It really shut down the whole industry. Not only was it my first time experiencing anything like that but it was also the year I started my production company. Getting to working with the talented people around me , all of us in the same boat, really help me fall in love with indie filmmaking. We made our own film school.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Currently, the production company is finishing up a post on a documentary. We’ve just started filming (well were on hold as of now, obviously) but a big feature in Bangladesh. Of course, the Mammoth Film Festival is very exciting. It is the fastest-growing film festival in the nation and that’s becoming something really special. It’s been awesome to devote a lot of time that any time I’m not in front of the camera

What are your “3 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a short story or example for each.

Ah, so many, but:

1.) It’s a marathon, not a sprint. There will be a LOT of “no’s” in the audition process, so remember that it’s not the end of the world if you don’t get it.

2.) Know your lines. That’s just being professional. You never want to be on set and not know them

3.) Be patient. Be patient to get a job, with the job and learn patience when you’re on set — it takes a long time between setups.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

A tip to avoid “burnout” in the industry is to surround yourself with people that you like and are like-minded. You will find these people as you are coming up in your career.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

In most businesses, it’s almost impossible to do it by yourself. There have been so many people who have helped me along the way like Suzanne Weinert, an amazing producer or Sarah Green and Nicolas Gonda, who taught me so much. I’d have to say though, I’m most grateful for my parents Janice and Rick, I really owe them everything. At a very early age they allowed me to travel and see the world. I gained life experiences that now allow being able to tell stories about that or relate to complex characters. So for that, I’m eternally grateful.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Sure, a great quote I heard that always stuck with me was from good old Bugs Bunny, who said “ Never take life too seriously, none of us are going to make it out alive” It’s funny, sad and very true. FACT CHECK. It was actually first said by Elbert Hubbard

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I have always wanted to meet Trey Parker and Matt Stone the creators of South Park. I think they’re still rebels, doing things their way, and have been legends to me since I was in Jr. High.

--

--