Filmmakers Making A Social Impact: Why & How Filmmaker Gina Nemo of Econemo Is Helping To Change Our World

An Interview With Susan Johnston

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
5 min readDec 11, 2022

--

Always know that you are worth it. Someone out there wants you to win even if you don’t know who. There is always someone who loves you.

As a part of our series about “Filmmakers Making A Social Impact” I had the pleasure of interviewing Gina Nemo of Econemo.

Gina Nemo is an award-winning Producer, Director, Writer, Actress, and is the founder of Ventura Actors Studio and Gina Nemo Studios. Originally she got her beginnings as an award-winning actress for the TV show — “21 Jump Street.” She then produced work for clients like Sony, Universal and many other independent networks, studios and media companies worldwide. Her award-winning short film DUSTSLICKER that she wrote, directed and produced was released in March 2020 and will be made into a feature in 2022. She is currently starring in a comedy film that is shooting in September 2021. Her film GONE that she wrote and produced has just been submitted to festivals and was released on May 22nd, 2021.

Thank you so much for doing this interview with us! Before we dive in, our readers would love to get to know you a bit. Can you share your “backstory” that brought you to this career?

My love for acting in theatre and also starring in musicals at a young age naturally progressed into acting in television and film and then becoming a filmmaker.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that? *

In the early days I wasn’t as prepared as I am now so some very funny memories at auditions back in the day. Everything I do now I make sure I am well prepared.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

Dom DeLuise, David Bowie, Burt Reynolds, Johnny Depp, Billy Idol and many others. I will have to write a book one day. Too many stories to put here. It was awesome being on a hit television show with Johnny Depp in our twenties.

Which people in history inspire you the most? Why?

Anyone who ever stood up for what they believed in no matter what the consequences were. There are many amazing leaders throughout history that are no longer with us. I have always admired the brave men and women who made a difference for generations that followed.

Can you share with us the meaningful or exciting social impact causes you are working on right now?

My environmental company Econemo is very much into making this world better in anyway we can. I’m always finding ways to help our planet thrive through stories, action and more.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and take action for this cause?

I have had many AHA moments in my life. They have all come at different stages and ages. After many wins for my films this year in festivals I know I was put on this planet to be a filmmaker and storyteller.

Can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted or helped by your cause?

I have helped many individuals in all kind of careers get to the next step in their lives. I mentor many actors, musicians and more. I have also educated many about what’s going on in our environment so they can start making positive changes in their actions every day and make a positive impact on our planet.

Are there three things that individuals, society or the government can do to support you in this effort?

I would love to make environmental films and also a television series on eco living. This is my current passion project. The three things that would help are funding, help with building a prototype and a platform to share it.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

I’m going to leave it at two because these are the ones I always think of when I embark on a new journey.

I will quote my late father hit songwriter Jazz composer Henry Nemo who was my biggest cheerleader.

“Never Think You Are Not Good Enough”

Be brave. Go for it. It’s always worth trying.

“I’m in your corner”

Always know that you are worth it. Someone out there wants you to win even if you don’t know who. There is always someone who loves you.

If you could tell other young people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

I would say there is always something you can do to make it better for our environment. Simple steps first. No more plastic bottles. Always lead or do things that help others or promote positive change. Even in the entertainment business.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Be Yourself. Everyone Else Is Already Taken — Oscar Wilde

I’m always me. Take it or leave it. Honesty is key to your dreams. Be honest with yourself and own it. The world will open up to you. Just believe in yourself and your vision.

This was great, thank you so much for sharing your story and doing this with us. We wish you continued success!

About The Interviewer: Susan Johnston is a Media Futurist, Columnist as well as Founder and Director at New Media Film Festival®. The New Media Film Festival, honoring stories worth telling since 2009, is an Award-winning, inclusive, and boundary-pushing catalyst for storytelling and technology. Susan was knighted in Rome in 2017 for her work in Arts & Humanity.

--

--