“From Avocation To Vocation: How I Turned My Hobby Into A Career” With Jennifer Moxley of Sunshine Media Network

An interview with Phil La Duke

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

--

Many, many entrepreneurs probably had to learn this lesson and I’m glad I did: put your phone and email down. Establish boundaries with clients and with your business. From the news life, I was chained to my phone for last minute work bookings, but also chained to breaking news so I could be prepared for jobs that would come. It was unhealthy, it was damaging to me mentally and my relationships. Looking back, it also looks desperate and small time when you’re replying to emails at 10 p.m. I do still have moments where I am bursting with ideas and composing emails and texts at 4 a.m. (on scheduled timers for 9 a.m.) but that’s the part I love. Every season is different, every client is different, I can’t imagine an entrepreneur…

--

--

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

Author of “I Know My Shoes Are Untied. Mind Your Own Business”, “Lone Gunman. Rewriting the Handbook on Workplace Violence Prevention”, and “Blood on my hands