From Chopped Junior To CEO Of Save The Moms

Lori Hil
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readSep 7, 2018

--

Credit: Danielle McNerney

I had the pleasure of interviewing Danielle McNerney Chopped Junior Champion who Inspires kids to cook, learn & follow their dreams. As a 15-year-old teen chef, Danielle has been seen on Chopped Junior and NBC’s Food Fighters. She is also the CEO and founder of SAVE the MOMS, which helps teens prepare delicious, healthy meals for themselves and their families, while giving their parents a well-deserved break.

What’s your story? Can you start off by telling us how you fell in love with the art of cooking?

I fell in love with the art of cooking at the age of eight years old when I wanted to help my family after my moms battle with cancer. When she was in recovery, I wanted to find a way to help our family during that hard time and I decided that my way of helping could be by learning to cook! So, I dove into every cooking magazine, show, or cookbook I could find and got into the kitchen.

I realized how much I loved cooking and how big of a help it was to my family, and I’ve been in love ever since. ClickToTweet

What were some of the recipes you made initially?

Initially, I loved making dishes like linguini with clams, butter basted steak and chicken alfredo. I would see chefs on TV make dishes like those and I tried to replicate them as best as I could. I can vividly…

--

--

Lori Hil
Authority Magazine

Freelance Content Marketing Writer, Authority Magazine Contributor, Former Forbes Contributor schnauzer in lap, coffee in hand. Rise.