Gary Beeber: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Filmmaker

An Interview With Susan Johnston

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
5 min readDec 5, 2022

--

If you don’t love what you’re doing, find something else to do, because if you don’t it shows.

As a part of our series called “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Filmmaker”, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Gary Beeber.

Gary Beeber is an award-winning American photographer and filmmaker who has exhibited in galleries and museums throughout the world. He has had numerous solo photography exhibitions and his documentary films have been screened at over 150 film festivals. Pfizer Pharmaceutical, Goldman Sachs and Chase Bank are Fortune 500 companies who collect his work.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up?

I was always an artist, my earliest memory is of drawing. In my early 20’s I became a photo-realistic painter, but after a while stopped painting and focused on photography. By the late 90’s personal computers became available and I started digitizing my photographs. In 2008 an art dealer invited me to exhibit at DiVA (Digital and Video Art Fair) in NYC. It was there that I was introduced to digital video. The video artists who exhibited at DiVA made 1–3 minute videos which were sold in limited editions by galleries. I decided that I wanted to do that, so I bought a video camera and started shooting. Galleries didn’t want my videos but film festivals did. I was always curious about things so that led me to making documentaries.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I had a graphic design business and one day got a call from the New York Times. I thought they were trying to sell me a subscription and I quickly declined. Shorty after I hung up It dawned on me that they were offering me some work. I learned to listen and hear people out.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

One of the most interesting people I’ve ever met is Michael Malone, star of my film “Michael Malone, Portrait of an American Organic Farmer.” I enjoyed working with Michael, he’s a cross between Leonardo DaVinci and Larry David. He considers himself to be an artist and his farm is his canvas. In Japan there are people who are national treasures, and I believe that Michael should be an American National Treasure. I like Michael’s point of view, and could listen to him all day. Another interesting subject is Dick Zigun (honorary Mayor of Coney Island). He stars in my film “The Savior of Coney Island.” The first time I met him (around 2006) I was taking pictures at Coney Island’s Freak Show, and he stormed up to me and hollered “NO PICTURES!” I was scared of him. After I got to know him, I realized that he isn’t what he seems on the outside.

Which people in history inspire you the most? Why?

Eugène Atget, French photographer, 1857–1927. I am still inspired by him because of his commonplace subject matter, composition and the tonal quality of his photographs.

D.A.Pennebaker, American documentary film-maker. I was inspired by him because of his film-making style, particularly the the film “Don’t Look Back” which is cinema verite at it’s finest.

Edward Hopper, American painter 1882–1967. In the beginning, I was very much influenced by him. Like Eugène Atget his subject matter was commonplace, but he was able to create a sense of drama.

Can you share with us the meaningful or exciting social impact causes you are working on right now?

Working to end hunger.

Many of us have ideas, dreams, and passions, but never manifest it. But you did. Was there an “Aha Moment” that made you decide that you were actually going to step up and take action for this cause?

When I lived in New York City, on a daily basis it hurt me to see so many poverty stricken people who were barely able to survive.

Can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted or helped by your cause?

I volunteered as a board member at the Southampton food pantry for 8 years and served as president for two years. Every Christmas we had a day of giving where we would give each family the makings of a Christmas dinner, brand new winter coats, etc. An old gentleman came up to me whom I thought was a volunteer, so when I told him what needed to be done, he said “I’m not a volunteer, I’m hungry.”

Are there three things that individuals, society or the government can do to support you in this effort?

Wherever possible help people that are in need in any way that you can. Volunteer, it’s very rewarding. Treat people with kindness.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

Don’t be afraid to make mistakes, you learn from mistakes.

Always give it your best shot, because your completion is giving it their best shot.

If you don’t love what you’re doing, find something else to do, because if you don’t it shows.

Let go of your ego, you’re not as good as you think.

Nothing is coming to you, show genuine gratitude to people who help you along the way.

If you could tell other young people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society, like you, what would you tell them?

You will find it to be rewarding.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“You can’t shine shit” This is so true, it’s better to discard something that’s no good and start fresh.

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

About The Interviewer: Susan Johnston is a Media Futurist, Columnist as well as Founder and Director at New Media Film Festival®. The New Media Film Festival, honoring stories worth telling since 2009, is an Award-winning, inclusive, and boundary-pushing catalyst for storytelling and technology. Susan was knighted in Rome in 2017 for her work in Arts & Humanity.

--

--