Happiness and Joy During Turbulent Times: Author Melissa Maxx On How To Live With Joie De Vivre, Even When It Feels Like The Whole World Is Pulling You Down

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
11 min readAug 27, 2021

--

I would say don’t tell them why it’s not as dire as they think, don’t give them advice unless they ask for it, and don’t try to make them “feel better” by giving them platitudes. Depressed people generally don’t come to others to make them feel better (and they can’t because happiness comes from within) what the suffering person is looking for is to be seen and heard. After my brother died, and I felt my small family was falling apart ,one of the kindest, most thoughtful things someone who barely knew me said to me was, “I know this is hard for you.” That meant the world to me.

It sometimes feels like it is so hard to avoid feeling down or depressed these days. Between the sad news coming from world headlines, the impact of the ongoing raging pandemic, and the constant negative messages popping up on

--

--