Heartthrob Gilles Marini talks about hard times, learning the English language and how he is “Proud To Be An American Citizen”…

Misty Schwartz
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readJan 31, 2019

I had the pleasure of interviewing GILLES MARINI. Most recognized as Sebastien in the comedy-drama Devious Maids, Gilles Marini’s charm and zest for life has attracted fans all over the world. Born to a Greek mother and Italian father in Grasse, a small city on the French Riviera, Marini worked in his father’s bakery from the age of eight to his high-school graduation. Marini then joined the French army and was stationed in Paris, where he served as a fireman for the famous Paris Fire Brigade (Brigade des Sapeurs Pompiers de Paris). Marini found himself in the international spotlight after appearing in what some have called the second greatest shower scene in film history in 2008’s Sex and the City: The Movie. CAPITALIZING on his SATC popularity, ABC cast Gilles in the eighth season of Dancing with the Stars where he quickly became a fan favorite, finishing second by less than one percent of the votes. He was also invited to participate in the first ever All-Stars edition of DWTS after viewers voted Marini the “Best All-Time DWTS Contestant.”

Marini was introduced as a recurring character on ABC’s hit family drama Brothers & Sisters in Fall 2009. He played Luc Laurent, the French love interest of Rachel Griffiths’ character Sarah Walker. Originally Marini was supposed to appear in a five-episode arc, but he was soon promoted to a series regular. The series was cancelled in May 2011, but remains a favorite with audiences worldwide, airing in syndicated reruns in more than 50 countries. IN THE FALL of 2011 Gilles was cast as Angelo Sorrento in ABC Family’s critically acclaimed family drama, Switched at Birth. Sorrento is the biological father of Bay Kennish (Vanessa Marano), absent father of Daphne Vasquez (Katie LeClerc), and ex-boyfriend of Regina Vasquez (Constance Marie). Marini was originally cast on a recurring basis then promoted to series regular through the 2014–15 season.

Marini became an American citizen in June 2012 and, in an emotional interview after being sworn in as an American citizen, said he was very proud to be an American now. He also said becoming a US citizen was a dream that took ten years to achieve.

MARINI and his wife, Carole, live in Southern California. They have a son, Georges, and a daughter, Juliana. Marini loves cooking, spending time with his family, meeting and talking to people, and sports such as soccer and MMA (mixed Martial Arts).

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

What brought me to this path is I believe the fact that I always wanted to entertain people. I have always been very passionate about it since a very young age. I came to America, worked very hard and found a way to make it happen.. Took a very long time but when you are dedicated, you can make it happen.

Can you share your story of Grit and Success? First can you tell us a story about the hard times that you faced when you first started your journey?

Hard times? Well let’s start with simply learning the language. I did not speak any English or know the American culture. I just had a goal and $470 dollars to my name. Hard it was but more important than seeing the hardship, I never let go of my goals and it was more exciting to have one day results than the “hard times” ahead of me. If I make any sense.

Where did you get the drive to continue even though things were so hard?

I think it is how you are built, either you go get it or you give up, situations in life sometimes gives you no choices, I’m well aware of that. I had many more like countless times where I thought it was not gonna work. But yet, the reward mentally for me was to make it work and I only focused on that.

So, how are things going today? :-)

I would say, good :) my kids, my wife, everyone is doing great. Work is pretty good and I’m starting to create more. TV shows, movies. It’s the next step for sure.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I make mistakes everyday. Lol … funny one unfortunately rarely. :( the lesson I learn is simple. You adapt, leave your ego at the door and learn from your mistakes.

What do you think makes you (as an entertainer and celebrity) stand out?

I think sometimes what stands out for me in the USA, is the fact that I’m from France and it’s somehow exotic for the people here.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

They will be burnt out at some point. It’s inevitable. Now it’s how you react to it that will determine the outcome. I recommend, strong will, patience and understanding that out of 100 audition or tries you’ll get 1 job.. maybe.. Bow when you get the job. You do your very best to build up.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

Phil Glatzer is my absolute and forever main help for me and my family. Met him in Miami when I wasn’t speaking yet English. Little or no money and just a big Goal. His help came in a form of incredible desire for me to accomplish my goals. He helped me learn the language, sheltered my family and I. Helped me moving to California to move forward with my career and more. I owe him so so much.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I’m doing what Phil did for me… also lots of charity that I’m involved with. Been in the limelight is all about helping others to the next level. We all have a responsibility as actors to do so. We have the power to move more people and been effective on all different platforms.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would try to change people who believe that we are not hurting planet earth. Maybe creating APPS or ideas to involved the new generation into understanding that the future must include changing our ways of consuming and living. We are on the brinks of massive catastrophic events. From wars to pollutions, droughts and more. We must move fast. I bet the next generation will understand it very well and will fix our stupidity and greediness.

How can our readers follow you on social media?
Sure … @gillesmarini instagram and twitter or www.gillesmarini.com

--

--

Misty Schwartz
Authority Magazine

Misty Schwartz is a public relations and marketing guru, she also enjoys doing charity events in her spare time. https://schwartzentertainmentmedia.com/