Heroes Of The Addiction Crisis: How Dominic Chianese Jr of Paramount Wellness Retreat Is Helping To Battle One of Our Most Serious Epidemics

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readNov 29, 2022

Be yourself. One thing about the people I work with is that they can tell if you are full of crap immediately. Be genuine even if you are not the right one for them because they need to know.

As a part of our series about “Heroes Of The Addiction Crisis” I had the pleasure of interviewing Dominic Chianese, Jr.

Dominic Chianese, Jr. is a certified recovery coach with over a decade of experience as a professional in this field. He has worked in various capacities nationwide, including currently with Paramount Wellness Retreat in Haddam, CT. He considers this a calling more so than a career.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell us a bit of your backstory?

My honor and thank you for including me. I am an addict in recovery. My active addiction story is the worst story I know because I lived it. Yet, it is no more or less painful than any other addict’s story. I experienced periods of sobriety with a series of relapses. I eventually was placed in treatment again and did what was necessary to build a foundation for sustainable recovery. Basically, my bottom came when I stopped digging. I did not know it at the time, but it turns out that it was the best education I could experience as to the nature of this affliction. I am now uniquely qualified to be of invaluable service to those who still suffer. All my pain now has meaning and purpose. To be honest I did everything wrong first a thousand times to finally be willing to do the hard work it takes to change. I could not have imagined how rewarding and fulfilling my life has become by beginning the process of recovery.

Is there a particular story or incident that inspired you to get involved in your work with opioid and drug addiction?

Once I had my turning point, I was gifted with the ability to reach people. I am humbled by this ability and it came about organically. I feel I was called to do this, by no great decision of my own. Quite frankly, I was thrown into this field by people who believed in me. I have since learned from everyone I have worked with along the way, most importantly by the individuals who have allowed me to be of service to them.

Can you explain what brought us to this place? Where did this epidemic come from?

I believe it was here for a very long time. It was undocumented and quite frankly hidden. Certain aspects of our society have contributed to addiction becoming widespread. Availability to these substances and our resistance to doing what’s really necessary to heal has led us to looking for a quick fix. This has proven to be detrimental. Certain troubling elements of humanity have been ignored for too long and this is the result. We have a soul sickness and we have been covering it with bandaids. The deep-rooted cause has now infected the collective to our core.

Can you describe how your work is making an impact battling this epidemic?

If I have helped one person turn their life around, then my work has been a success. If that individual in turn helps someone else, then the ripple effect will create an impact I will never see. Each one, teach one. I’m reminded of the quote, “A society grows great when men plant trees in whose shade they know they shall never sit.”

Wow! Without sharing real names, can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted by your initiative?

There are many that come to mind. Each individual holds a special place in my heart and mind. There are those who thought they were hopeless. I was fortunate to witness them experience a glimmer of hope where they thought there was none. One such individual is no longer with us but even they had experienced a period of time where they did not have to live that way and led a reasonably happy life when they never thought that was possible. She decided to pick up one more time and is now a sad memory. I share her story because, regardless of the result, she had a time of unforeseeable happiness. There is no such thing as a failure in this line of work.

Can you share something about your work that makes you most proud? Is there a particular story or incident that you found most uplifting?

To see the light return in someone’s eyes as they go through the process of recovery is the most rewarding and uplifting experience I have witnessed. Pride has little to do with it. It is my humble honor to be part of the solution in any way.

Can you share three things that the community and society can do to help you address the root of this problem? Can you give some examples?

  1. Erase the stigma.
  2. Make treatment more accessible.
  3. Educate the population on the nature of addiction and recovery.

This is a disease by direct definition. I am not a bad person trying to be good; I was a sick person who is trying to get well. Prohibition doesn’t work. The “War on Drugs” has been lost. Putting addicts behind a wall and separating them from society is not the answer. Providing realistic and effective means of treatment is our best hope right now. Connecting to the recovery community at large is a way to grow a sustainable solution.

If you had the power to influence legislation, which three laws would you like to see introduced that might help you in your work?

Addiction treatment covered by all insurance policies. For those who do not have insurance, allow policies that give incentive to hospitals and institutions to treat these individuals.

I know that this is not easy work. What keeps you going?

Nothing truly rewarding is easy. I don’t want that to be true, but it often is. What keeps me going? The undying spirit of hope.

Do you have hope that one day this leading cause of death can be defeated?

Absolutely.

How do you define “Leadership”? Can you explain what you mean or give an example?

I define leadership as a power of example. A vision of hope. One who is willing to meet you where you are and show you a way through.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Be yourself. One thing about the people I work with is that they can tell if you are full of crap immediately. Be genuine even if you are not the right one for them because they need to know.
  2. Take care of your own recovery first. You can’t give away what you don’t have.
  3. Come from a place of experience. I won’t be able to help someone with an issue such as pregnancy, because I’ve never been pregnant. Always refer to appropriate resources.
  4. Be willing to adapt and adjust. Any formula that may be applied to this field has too many variables to be rigid.
  5. Don’t get into it for the money. That will just get in the way of truly being of service.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Get better. Help somebody else. This sounds overly simplistic, but it’s not. It is a formula. A personal journey of awakening is absolutely necessary as an individual in order to contribute to the whole. I’m reminded of the quote, “Be the change you want to see.”

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

There are countless that come to mind. For this purpose, the one most applicable is as follows:

“Hope is not the conviction that something will turn out well, but the certainty that something is worth doing no matter how it turns out” — Vaclav Havel.

Do the next right thing, for the right reason, and let go of the results. Esteemable acts are their own reward.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Dr. Vivek H. Murthy, the current U.S. Surgeon General. He has worked with two administrations and has influenced government, medical, and educational departments on this issue. Back in 2016 he stressed addiction as a serious illness, not a character flaw. He strikes me as someone who has a lot of influence.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

I am working with Paramount Wellness retreat, and you can find them on Instagram @paramountwellnessretreat_.

I can also be found on my Linkedin page under Dominic Chianese.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

--

--