How AI Technology Is Allowing Patients To See Doctors With Just One Click

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readJul 20, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Dr. Peter Watson, a board-certified internist in Detroit, Michigan. Dr. Watson is affiliated with several hospitals in the area.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

I am a native Detroiter, having grown up in the city for most of my life. I benefited from a strong community on the east side of Detroit and mom committed to strong education and service. Currently, I serve as vice president for care management and outcomes at Health Alliance Plan (HAP) and as medical director for HAP Midwest Health Plan, a HAP subsidiary. HAP is headquartered in Detroit.

At HAP, I oversee 90 personnel (nurses, social workers, support staff) who provide care management, disease management and transitions of care for HAP members enrolled in government programs (Medicare Advantage, Medicaid and Medicare-Medicaid Plans). As the medical director for HAP Midwest Health Plan, I also provide operational leadership for the MI Health Link Medicare-Medicaid Dual Demonstration Program, provider management, compliance and accreditation programs. I also serve as the organization’s medical liaison with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) and the Michigan…

--

--

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine

CEO & Co-Founder at Stretchy Hair Care I Author I Speaker I Eshe Consulting I Advocate For Diversity In Beauty