How BreAnna Boyd of FeedWells Is Helping To Address The Growing Challenge Of Food Insecurity

An Interview With Martita Mestey

Martita Mestey
Authority Magazine
16 min readMay 20, 2024

--

Embrace Failure: Early in my career, I was often paralyzed by fear of making mistakes or failing to meet expectations. However, I soon realized that failure is not a reflection of my worth or abilities, but rather an opportunity for growth and self-improvement.

In many parts of the United States, there is a crisis of people having limited reliable access to a sufficient quantity of affordable, nutritious food. As prices rise, this problem will likely become more acute. How can this problem be solved? Who are the leaders helping to address this crisis?

In this interview series, we are talking to leaders who are helping to address the increasing problem of food insecurity who can share the initiatives they are leading to address and solve this problem.

As a part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing BreAnna Boyd.

BreAnna Boyd, is the Founder and CEO of FeedWells, a nationally recognized organization addressing food insecurity and nourishing student bodies and minds through offering student-curated, locally-sourced, nutritious meals and educational initiatives. A Certified Dietary Manager, Certified Foodservice Protection Professional, BreAnna is an industry expert with over a decade of experience in the nutrition and food service space. She is also an English and Spanish culinary instructor who has a proven track record, training thousands of chefs. At FeedWells, BreAnna is driven by a passion to innovate the global food service industry and bring more awareness to child nutrition on the local, state, and federal levels. She leads the company towards its goal to one day influence legislation to provide more resources and funding for child nutrition around the world. FeedWells works to make this goal a reality through its non-profit, FeedWells Cares, which works to teach healthy nutrition and wellness to the community. Beyond her professional endeavors, BreAnna is an avid chess player and a passionate traveler who embraces the philosophy of proactively creating life’s special moments. In the future, BreAnna seeks to achieve her “shoot for the stars’’ dreams of starring on The Food Network and serving as a representative at the White House, advocating for the implementation of mandates offering better quality resources for child nutrition.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

Thank you for this opportunity to share our mission to reduce child hunger! It’s a cause that affects me on a personal level.

As a teenager, I was deeply involved in sports, particularly as a member of my high school basketball team. Those days were filled with rigorous workouts and a commitment to maintaining peak physical condition. This early emphasis on fitness and nutrition instilled in me an understanding of the vital role they both play in our lives.

My journey into the fitness industry was a natural progression, driven by a fervent desire to help others achieve their wellness goals through wholesome dietary choices. It was during this time that I became aware of a glaring disparity: while professional athletes had access to top-tier nutrition, countless children faced inadequate, and often unhealthy, meal options.

Witnessing this inequity stirred something within me. I couldn’t reconcile the fact that while some people thrived on nutritious diets, others suffered due to a lack of access. The correlation between proper nutrition and academic performance became glaringly apparent, especially among underserved student populations versus their peer groups attending private schools.

And so, FeedWells was born from a place of urgency and compassion. Our vision is to nourish the bodies and minds of our youth so they may flourish academically and beyond. We firmly believe that when children are fed well, they are empowered to learn well!

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

The word “homesick” often carries connotations of sadness and longing for the comforts of home and family. Yet, for me, being “homesick” is central to my journey of returning to Memphis, TN, and embracing the challenge of making a positive impact on the community I am from.

In Atlanta, GA, my corporate career was filled with success and accolades. However, with each return home to Memphis, a profound realization hit me. In the eyes of my family, friends, and the children I encountered in the community, I witnessed admiration and inspiration. Despite the distance, my presence seemed to resonate deeply and inspire a world of possibility.

It was during one familiar drive back to Atlanta, that an encounter occurred which forever altered the trajectory of my life. A young girl from the community stood watching as I drove away, so I turned the car back around to say one more goodbye to her.

Her words struck a chord with me: “How can I grow up to be like you if you keep leaving me?” In that raw moment, and holding back the tears, I recognized the weight of my responsibility. I couldn’t bear to turn my back on her, or the community that regarded me as a symbol of success for young, black women everywhere as it relates to fitness and making your dreams come true.

So, I made the decision to resolve my homesickness by returning home for the greater good. It was a profound shift and a return to my roots with a newfound sense of purpose.

Are you able to identify a “tipping point” in your career when you started to see success? Did you start doing anything different? Are there takeaways or lessons that others can learn from that?

The “tipping point” moment in my career emerged from the challenge of feeding the underserved population of children during the COVID-19 pandemic. In the summer of 2020, the nutritional services program of Memphis Shelby County Schools (MSCS) faced a temporary suspension, leaving thousands of students vulnerable to hunger. It was then that FeedWells was selected with the monumental task of providing 125,000 meals a day to MSCS students.

This opportunity served as a catalyst for my personal career growth and transformation. Faced with the responsibility of ensuring the success of this new business opportunity, I recognized the power of collaboration as a force multiplier. Leveraging strategic partnerships with organizations such as the YMCA and Federal Express, as well as other community stakeholders, FeedWells led a successful community effort to combat child hunger.

At FeedWells, our mission transcends more than just feeding children; we are dedicated to empowering schools across the region to offer wholesome, appetizing meals that nourish both body and spirit. Now, with over 4,000,000 meals provided and countless lives impacted, we understand that this is just the beginning of our journey. The key takeaway from this experience is the transformative power of collaboration and collective action. By pooling resources, expertise, and passion, we can affect meaningful change and create a brighter future for generations to come.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person to whom you are grateful who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My mother! The lyrics from one of my favorite movies, “The Wiz,” says it best where Diana Ross sings, “When I think of home, I think of a place where there’s love overflowing.” Indeed, my mother’s love has been a constant source of inspiration and guidance, shaping the very essence of who I am today.

From the earliest days of my childhood, my mother infused every moment with boundless love and unwavering support. Her wisdom, born of a lifetime of experiences, has served as a guiding light. No challenge I have faced has been too tall and no dream has been too ambitious, as long as I had her by my side. What sets my mother apart is her remarkable capacity for empathy and understanding. In moments of failure and disappointment, she offered encouragement, reminding me that setbacks are not defeat but rather opportunities for growth and resilience.

In essence, my mother’s love has been the bedrock upon which I have built my life and pursued my dreams. Her support, compassion, and belief in my potential have shaped me into the person I am today.

You are a successful leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

As a successful leader, three-character traits that have been instrumental to my success in the food service management industry are resilience, empathy, and innovation.

Resilience:

Growing up in the inner city as an African American woman, resilience has been a cornerstone of my journey. I’ve faced numerous challenges and obstacles, from systemic inequalities to personal setbacks. However, rather than allowing these challenges to define me, I’ve chosen to rise above them with resilience and determination.

One example of this resilience in action occurred early in my career when I encountered skepticism and resistance as I sought to establish my food service management company. Many doubted my abilities and questioned whether a young black woman from the inner city could succeed in such a competitive industry. Despite the naysayers, I persevered, drawing strength from my belief in myself and my vision for providing nutritious meals to public school students.

Empathy:

As a leader, empathy has been instrumental in fostering meaningful connections with my team members, clients, and the communities we serve. Being able to understand and relate to the experiences and perspectives of others has allowed me to build trust, cultivate collaboration, and inspire positive change.

One poignant example of empathy shaping my leadership occurred when I witnessed the profound impact of food insecurity on the students in the public schools we served. Many of these children came from disadvantaged backgrounds, facing hunger and nutritional deficiencies on a daily basis. Recognizing the urgent need for action, I mobilized my team to develop innovative solutions to address food insecurity within the school system.

Innovation:

Innovation has been a driving force behind the success of my food service management company, allowing us to adapt to evolving challenges and pioneer new approaches to school nutrition. As a leader, I’ve fostered a culture of innovation within my organization, encouraging creativity, experimentation, and forward thinking.

An illustrative example of this commitment to innovation occurred during the COVID-19 pandemic when schools were forced to transition to remote learning. Recognizing the critical need to continue providing nutritious meals to students, even in the face of unprecedented challenges, I challenged my team to think outside the box and develop innovative solutions.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

One of my favorite life lesson quotes comes from one of the greatest NBA basketball players ever, Kobe Bryant: “The most important thing is to try and inspire people so that they can be great in whatever they want to do.”

This quote touches me because it supports my belief in the power of inspiration and empowerment. Throughout my life, I’ve been fortunate to receive opportunities that have allowed me to attend prestigious schools and travel across the world. However, I’ve never viewed these experiences as solely for my own benefit. Instead, I’ve always offered to use my journey as a platform to inspire and uplift others, particularly those from marginalized communities like my own in Memphis, TN.

Whether it’s through mentoring young students, advocating for educational equity, or leading by example in my professional endeavors, I’ve strived to embody Kobe’s message of inspiring greatness in others. By sharing my own story of resilience, perseverance, and achievement, I hope to empower others to pursue their dreams relentlessly and overcome any obstacles they may face along the way.

Also, as a black woman navigating spaces traditionally dominated by white, male voices, Kobe’s words serve as a reminder of the importance of representation and visibility. By embracing my identity and celebrating my unique perspective, I hope to inspire future generations of black women to boldly pursue their passions and shatter glass ceilings in their respective fields.

Ok super. Let’s now shift to the main part of our discussion. Can you describe to our readers how your work is helping to address the challenge of food insecurity?

As a boutique, minority business enterprise, we are proud of our roots in Memphis, TN, and we are dedicated to serving the diverse needs of our community. We understand that every school and every student is unique, and we tailor our approach to meet those individual needs.

Our Food Service Executive Leadership is second to none, with a combined total of 50 years of food service experience, including 11 years specifically in Child Nutrition Programs. We have a proven track record of success in administering programs such as the SBP, NSLP, CACFP, and SFSP with the State of Tennessee.

At FeedWells, we are passionate about promoting health and wellness for the students we serve. We stay current with the latest meal and nutrition standards to ensure that our students receive the best possible meals. We believe that good nutrition is the foundation for success in the classroom and in life, and we are committed to providing the highest quality meals to help students thrive. With over 4,000,000 meals served to inner city students, we are addressing the challenge of food insecurity.

Can you share something about your work that makes you most proud? Is there a particular story or incident that you found most uplifting?

One of the most uplifting aspects of my work is witnessing the transformation of children’s taste buds and eating habits as we introduce them to nutritious and delicious meals. One particular story involves a school where we implemented a comprehensive approach to address the challenge of changing the dietary preferences of students who typically didn’t prioritize healthy eating.

Understanding that simply serving healthy meals wasn’t enough to ensure their consumption, we implemented a system of collaboration and innovation. We conducted extensive school surveys and student feedback sessions to gain insight into their preferences, dislikes, and cultural influences. Armed with this invaluable information, we tailored our meal offerings to align with the tastes and preferences of the students, while still prioritizing nutritional value.

One of the most memorable moments came when we introduced a Country of the Month idea, including stamping of student passports. Initially met with skepticism and resistance from some students accustomed to more traditional food, we persisted, offering tasting sessions, and cooking demonstrations, to demystify unfamiliar ingredients and encourage exploration.

Slowly but surely, we began to see a shift in attitudes towards healthier eating. Students who once turned their noses up at vegetables and whole grains eagerly embraced the new menu options, intrigued by the bold flavors and enticing presentations. As they discovered the joy of nourishing their bodies with wholesome, delicious meals, they became enthusiastic advocates for healthy eating among their peers.

In your opinion, what should other business and civic leaders do to further address these problems? Can you please share a few things that can be done to further address the problem of food insecurity?

Addressing the problem of food insecurity requires a multifaceted approach that involves collaboration between businesses, civic leaders, community organizations, and individuals. Here are a few actionable steps that business and civic leaders can take to further address this critical issue:

  1. Foster Collaboration and Partnerships: Business and civic leaders should actively seek out partnerships with local community organizations, government agencies, and nonprofit entities working to combat food insecurity.
  2. Support Local Food Systems: Investing in and promoting local food systems can help increase access to fresh, nutritious food while also supporting local farmers and producers.
  3. Advocate for Policy Change: Civic leaders play a crucial role in advocating for policy changes at the local, state, and federal levels that address the root causes of food insecurity. This may include supporting legislation that improves access to nutritious food, increases funding for food assistance programs, and addresses systemic issues such as poverty and inequality.
  4. Promote Education and Awareness: Civic leaders can help raise awareness about the issue of food insecurity and promote educational initiatives that empower individuals and communities to make healthier food choices. This may include providing nutrition-based education programs, cooking classes, and workshops on budget-friendly meal planning and preparation.

Are there other leaders or organizations who have done good work to address the challenge of food scarcity? Can you tell us what they have done? What specifically impresses you about their work? Perhaps we can reach out to them to include them in this series.

There are several leaders and organizations that have made significant contributions to addressing the challenge of food scarcity, and among them, the YMCA, Federal Express, and Memphis Shelby County Schools stand out.

YMCA:

The YMCA has been a steadfast partner in the fight against food insecurity, leveraging its extensive network of community centers to provide nutritious meals and snacks to children and families in need. Through programs such as the YMCA Summer Food Program and afterschool meal initiatives, the YMCA ensures that children have access to healthy food year-round, particularly during times when school meals are not available. What impresses me about their work is their commitment to serving vulnerable populations, including latchkey children, and their innovative approach to addressing food insecurity through community-based solutions.

Federal Express (FedEx):

FedEx has demonstrated a strong commitment to corporate social responsibility, including addressing food scarcity as part of their broader philanthropic efforts. Through initiatives such as the FedEx Cares “Delivering for Good” program, FedEx partners with organizations like Feeding America to provide logistical support and transportation services for the distribution of food to underserved communities. Their dedication to leveraging their resources and expertise to support food distribution efforts on a national scale is truly commendable.

Memphis Shelby County Schools (MSCS):

MSCS plays a critical role in addressing food insecurity among students in the Memphis area, particularly during the summer months when school is out of session. By partnering with organizations like FeedWells, MSCS ensures that students have access to nutritious meals even when they are not in school. What impresses me most about their work is their commitment to serving the needs of their students and their willingness to collaborate with community partners to find creative solutions to address food scarcity.

If you had the power to influence legislation, are there laws that you would like to see introduced that might help you in your work?

If I had the power to influence legislation, there are several laws that I would advocate for to support and enhance the work of addressing food insecurity:

Universal School Meals Program: I would propose legislation to establish a universal school meals program that provides free breakfast and lunch to all students, regardless of income level.

Expansion of SNAP Benefits: I would push for legislation to expand and strengthen the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), formerly known as food stamps. This could include increasing benefit levels to better meet the nutritional needs of recipients, expanding eligibility criteria to reach more vulnerable populations, and implementing policies to streamline the application process and reduce administrative barriers.

Investment in Food Infrastructure: I would advocate for legislation to invest in the infrastructure needed to support the distribution of healthy, affordable food to underserved communities. This could include funding for food banks, community gardens, farmers’ markets, and mobile food delivery services, as well as incentives for grocery stores and supermarkets to locate in food deserts.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why?

Here are five things I wish someone had told me when I first started my journey:

1. Embrace Failure:

Early in my career, I was often paralyzed by fear of making mistakes or failing to meet expectations. However, I soon realized that failure is not a reflection of my worth or abilities, but rather an opportunity for growth and self-improvement.

2. Cultivate a Growth Mindset:

Looking back, I wish I had been encouraged to cultivate a growth mindset early on in my career. Adopting a mindset focused on continuous learning and development has been instrumental in my personal and professional growth journey.

3. Prioritize Self-Care:

It would have been helpful if someone had emphasized the importance of prioritizing self-care and maintaining a healthy work-life balance when I was just starting out.

4. Build a Support Network:

I wish I had been encouraged to build a strong support network of mentors, peers, and allies early on in my career. Surrounding myself with supportive individuals who share my values and aspirations has been invaluable in navigating the challenges and uncertainties of entrepreneurship.

5. Stay True to Your Values:

Knowing what I do now, I wish someone had emphasized the importance of staying true to my values and convictions, even in the face of adversity or temptation. In the competitive world of business, it’s easy to compromise on principles in pursuit of short-term gains or recognition. However, I’ve learned that maintaining integrity and authenticity is essential for long-term success and fulfillment.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

If I could inspire a movement to bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, it would be an effort to eradicate child hunger worldwide!

Fighting child hunger is a cause that touches the core of human compassion and empathy. No child should ever have to go to bed hungry, or wonder where their next meal will come from. Yet, millions of children around the world face this reality every day due to poverty, wars, and other systemic challenges.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

If I had the opportunity to have a private meal with someone, it would be Oprah Winfrey! Oprah is a strong African American woman with elite status in the world of media, philanthropy, and advocacy. I admire her past struggles and how through it all, she maintains a resilience, empathy, and commitment to making a positive difference in the world.

Having grown up watching Oprah’s talk show and witnessing her transformative impact on millions of lives, I have always been inspired by her ability to connect with people from all walks of life, and elevate important issues with compassion and authenticity.

I would want to learn from Oprah’s wisdom and insights gained from decades of experience in the public eye. I would like to hear about her journey to success, the challenges she has faced along the way, and the lessons she has learned about living with purpose.

Overall, I would be interested in discussing how we can leverage our respective platforms and resources to effect positive change in the world, particularly in areas such as education and combating child hunger.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

Readers can follow my work online on social media platforms such as Instagram @thebreanna.b and @feedwells1, or Facebook @FeedWells901, where I regularly share updates, insights, and resources related to my work.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much, and we wish you only continued success.

--

--