How Camille Calvin Is Helping To Make the Entertainment Industry More Diverse and Representative

An Interview With Edward Sylvan

--

Photo Credit: D’Jef Baker

I try to avoid projects that depict black women in cliche stereotypes. I would like my work to inspire humanity. That means working with forward thinking directors who understand that the human experience comes in all shapes, colors, and that love crosses all barriers and genders. That is the way that I am choosing to navigate my career. It is also my dream to produce projects in this way.

As a part of my series about leaders helping to make the entertainment industry more diverse and representative, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Camille Calvin.

Camille Calvin is an award winning Actress and Director. She is best known for starring in the Lifetime film “Deadly Cheers” playing the role of Brianna (2022). Camille is also known for her work on the film “Desire Lines”, where she was awarded “Best Actress” (2020) at the Film Invasion LA Film Festival by: Discover Indie Films. for her portrayal of character Honey Zeal.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

When I was young I remember being hooked on a TV show called “My so called Life”. The story followed a young woman who was navigating her way through high school. I related to her experiences. Claire Danes had a compelling performance on every episode. I thought “this is what I want to do”. I wanted be an essential vessel of storytelling, but I didn’t believe that was possible, because I had never seen a woman who looked like me, performing in a role like the one Claire had on “My so Called life”. At that time I had never seen a dramatic show following a black female character through something universally relatable, going through high school, something everyone could relate to. The majority of black women on tv / film were supporting characters in stories about growing up in the hood or slavery. There’s nothing wrong with these topics, as those subjects educate, but those aren’t the only experiences that black people have.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Sure. Well first of all, I’m a big fan of actress Viola Davis. I first discovered her work when she appeared in the movie “Doubt”. I saw it in the theater and hung onto her every word. Her performance was so real and raw. I was obsessed with her work and watched everything she did. Followed her on social media… A Big fan. Anyhow. Years later I audition for a music video for the band DYLAN, the role was a supporting love interest part and it involved some fun dance chorography. The audition was so much fun, and I got the part. I got to work with an amazing director and crew. Ben Jendras directed and Kaylon Hunt was the lead. It was an such a fun experience. Months later, I’m on the gram scrolling and I see the music video pop up in my feed, and who was it posted by… Viola Davis. Turned out that Kaylon Hunt also worked at JuVee productions, which is owned by Viola Davis and Julius Tennon.

Viola had seen the video and posted it on her page. I almost died. To know that she had seen me in something. Even if it was a small part. Its surreal to think that someone you have admired for so long has seen you perform. I was running around my house screaming . You would have thought that I had won an Oscar. I was jumping up and down and just in complete disbelief, because to me, being seen by her meant everything.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Yeah, how about a “not so funny” mistake… I was new to LA and well, just brand new. I got my first major audition for a pilot for a show that was being produced by Tracy Ellis Ross. I was reading for the leading role. I went into the audition and nailed it. Got big laughs from the room and nothing but great vibes. I went home and waited for my phone to ring. It never rang. I really thought that I had nailed it, but maybe I was wrong. Days later, I was on my computer checking my email and stumbled across an old message that said “We’d love to invite you to the callback. I had missed it. My heart sank. In a panic, I tried to respond to their email to see if I could reschedule the read, but of course it was too late. That was a huge wake-up call and lesson for me. ALWAYS CHECK YOUR EMAIL, check your email everyday 3 times a day at least. I check my email all the time now because that is where my most import business dealings come from.

Ok thank you for all that. Let’s now jump to the main focus of our discussion. Can you describe how you are helping to make popular culture more representative of the US population?

First of all, I try to avoid projects that depict black women in cliche stereotypes. I would like my work to inspire humanity. That means working with forward thinking directors who understand that the human experience comes in all shapes, colors, and that love crosses all barriers and genders. That is the way that I am choosing to navigate my career. It is also my dream to produce projects in this way.

Can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted by the work you are doing?

Well, I don’t know if my work has impacted anyone. I really hope that at some point in my career I make some positive impacts. Even if it’s just for one person. That’s a nice thought.

As an insider, this might be obvious to you, but I think it’s instructive to articulate this for the public who might not have the same inside knowledge. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why it’s really important to have diversity represented in Entertainment and its potential effects on our culture?

Reason #1: If you only have one group of people represented in entertainment you are telling your audience, this is the norm, this is how you and your surroundings should look. It’s establishing a false beauty standard that is hazardous to the mindset of young adults. Entertainment should celebrate the beauty of the entire world.

Reason #2: Every artist should have the opportunity to share their creativity. If the industry is open to sharing more diverse stories, there will be more opportunity for students of the arts to shine. This gives more opportunity for people to make a living doing what they love.

Reason #3: Telling stories from other culturally diverse perspectives brings unity. When you tell the diverse experience, it lends the opportunity for others to learn and become more empathetic and as a result they will become more understanding.

Can you recommend three things the community/society/the industry can do to help address the root of the diversity issues in the entertainment business?

  1. If you work in entertainment hire diverse entry level employees in various departments. Most department heads have worked their way up to that position. Usually, at some point in their career they were a PA. Make sure that your production has a diverse group of PA’s so they will have an opportunity to grow.
  2. No matter who you are it is important to watch and support culturally diverse films so that your knowledge of other people’s experiences in this world are broadened. Then you can enlighten and share your new perspective with people around you.
  3. Evaluate yourself. What type of viewer are you? Do you only tune into shows or films with cast members that look like you? If so, branch out. Watch a foreign film, or something that you would usually dismiss. Attempt to put yourself in the shoes of other people, no matter what their race, gender or sexual orientation happens to be. It’s easier than you may think. We are all human after all.

How do you define “Leadership”? Can you explain what you mean or give an example?

An individual who can rally a group of people to accomplish a single goal together. Good leadership is done with encouragement and acknowledgement of their team member’s strengths. But with laser focus to get from point A to C.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Once again, If we could just celebrate each other more I think a movement like that would bring out the best in us. Pick a day out of the month where you celebrate different cultures and diversity with your friends or family. Have a movie night with a playlist of best Black films, LGBTQ films, Korean films, ect. Just celebrate everyone.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My grandmother used to say, “You only have one life, make sure you live it the way you want”. If you find yourself getting lost in other people’s will, this is a good one to remember.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Absolutely, I wish that I could have a lunch with Cicely Tyson. Unfortunately, she has passed and I won’t get that opportunity in this lifetime. But I have so many questions to ask her about the trial and tribulations that she went through on her career’s journey. I think I could gather some valuable advice from her.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

You can follow me at

https://www.instagram.com/camillecalvin1/

https://twitter.com/CamilleCalvin

https://www.tiktok.com/@cammiefilm

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

Thank you for diving deep into this topic for inclusion. Thank you so much for having me.

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.