How CBD Products Can Benefit The Health And Beauty Industry

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readFeb 5, 2019

Dr. Jacqueline Nguyen, or Dr. J as she is affectionately known, is the Founder and President of Dr. J’s Natural (www.drjsnatural.com). She is a distinguished clinical pharmacist and a graduate of University of Southern California School of Pharmacy (USC). From working as a pharmacist for over a decade, she has learned that a successful clinical pharmacist needs to have certain essential attributes, including attention to detail, genuine care for patients, the ability to understand a patient’s desires, experience and continuing education to care for a patient’s overall health, and an uncompromising commitment to stay abreast with cutting-edge medical treatments and alternative natural treatments. Based on this understanding, Dr. J incorporates all these elements into her daily practice. Dr. J recently launched her CBD oil product line under the Ensohara banner. (https://www.ensohara.com).

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you share with us the story of what first introduced you into this business or helped you get interested in the business?

I was interested in Cannabis or the CBD Hemp movement five years ago due to the fact that I have so many patients who have cancer and I wanted to look for something that is natural and effective to help with cancer cells. I discovered that the FDA holds the patent on a cannabis and CBD component that it is the most powerful neuro-protectant and antioxidant . Therefore, I knew that I am on the right track and that there are many clinical studies to back up the medical cannabis and CBD hemp oil to help over 200 medical conditions. In June 2018, I can officially say that CBD can treat diseases, since the FDA approved the first drug named Epiduolex to treat two rare forms of epilepsy in children.

At first, I was having a toughest time to share with my TV show’s audience about medical marijuana and CBD Hemp Oil, since the general public is not very accepting with regard to this topic. I was being ridiculed and was prevented to share information about this product on television. It was such a lonely road ahead, but I knew that I would make it if I am persistent and dedicated to my beliefs. Now, I am one of the most sought after health professional that know the dosage and treatment regimen for many medical conditions with CBD based products from tincture, capsule, cream, cookies, candies, and gummies for kids, etc.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

I think I have paved the way for many women to be in the cannabis industry and I am one of the very first health professional that advocate heavily on TV about this wonderful plant. I have so many interesting stories from my patient’s brain cancer cell shrinking to how a patient’s health got better due to treating their cancer the natural way, by eating a well balance alkaline diet and using the supplements to help with cancer. I have seen a dystonia patient would could speak a few words after taking three doses of CBD hemp oil. (She had been restricted from talking for three years already.) It was amazing to see the family grateful for my recommendation of CBD.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

When I first researched cannabis and the whole plants from marijuana or hemp, I visited many farms inside and outside the US, in order to learn from how they grow the plant and whether I can trust to take into my body for prevention of diseases. Only then could I recommend the product for my patients or customers. I remembered my first incident with cannabis, when I ate half a brownie, and I was driving to a restaurant to have dinner with friends. I fell flat on my chair half an hour into the dinner and my friends were so shocked and nervous that they almost gave me CPR and wanted to take me to the hospital. I was able to wake up with a splitting headache and told them to drive me back to my house. It was the worst feeling that I could ever have. I was vomiting all night and went into a dehydration mode. It was the worst feeling ever and I remember that I wanted to die if I could. The lesson that I learned from this incident is that most people can’t tolerate dirty marijuana plants and most bodies will not able to handle the THC dosage, if you happen to take too much than your body can handle. This same experience has happened to many people, whom I have interviewed before beginning the treatment process. Thus, I embarked on creating medical CBD hemp products, since their benefits for medical treatment do not have the side effects from THC.

Are you working on any exciting projects now?

I am currently making CBD gummies and CBD multivitamins for children to help with their overall health and brain function. It will be the first company that focuses on making pectin CBD gummies, since it is much more healthier than using gelatin. I can’t think of giving these gummies to my nieces and nephews if they are made out of gelatin. If it is something that my family can take, then I know the consumers will trust me.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

Of course, no one can go through life without a strong support system of family and friends. I would not be who I am if I didn’t have my family and friends to lift me up and cheer me on. My husband and my brother are my support system, since I can talk to them about my troubles and worries. I often find consolation in them for the struggles and difficulties that I am going through, when I first was trying to make a dent in educating the general public about cannabis and how it is not a gateway to bad things. Many of my friends would scold me and tell me that I am teaching the people about bad things with cannabis. I would go home and feel a burden on my shoulders and question myself, until I talked to my husband and brother. They cheered me up and listened to my stories and lend their ears for me to vent my frustrations.

This industry is young dynamic and creative. Do you use any clever and innovative marketing strategies that you think large legacy companies should consider adopting?

I don’t know if I can share any clever or innovative marketing strategies, since I am barely making a big wave into my business with my strong foundation to make the best and most potent CBD products available today. I often do independent lab tests to check for potency and purity so I know my CBD supplements or edibles are the most effective around. I believe that the larger companies might pay mind to the small details like I did, and thus, they will not have the best products on the market.

Can you share 3 things that most excite you about the Cannabis industry? Can you share 3 things that most concern you?

I’m excited for what the plant can do in the human body by treating many medical conditions. Everyday, I hear many wonderful stories from my patients or customers who are taking CBD supplements and it is such a blessing to hear these stories to move you forward in the right direction and educate people about CBD’s potential. The things that concern me about the cannabis industry are that many people get into this for the money reason, with unethical standards and no quality control, as I have observed so many companies doing one thing and saying something else. I am worried that the consumer will not know how to determine a good product from a bad or not effective product.

Can you share your top “5 Things You Need To Know In Order To Run a Successful Cannabis Ancillary Company”?

Five key things people should know in order to run a successful cannabis ancillary company:

1. know the industry;

2. know the plant;

3. know the market for your products;

4. know how to scale up with the same standardization; and

5. know how to give back to the people that need CBD for medical treatments.

I can share a personal story with many of my patients that needed CBD oil for anxiety, sleep, headache and pain disorders. I am willing to give my 65 years old customers a 50% discount on the ensohara CBD for the whole year, since they need it for medical treatments. It has helped them stay on the CBD regimen, combined with a healthy diet and regular exercise, has helped them to improve their health and overall wellness tremendously. I’m very happy about our wellness program for our elderly customers. I hear so many amazing testimonials from my customers. My intention to get into this industry was to help cure most human ailments and I think I did accomplish for my patients and customers.

Aside from your particular vertical, which other cannabis ancillary industries to you think have very strong potential in the next few years? Can you explain why?

I think the beauty industry will explode with CBD based products soon. This is going to be big with many big players coming into the picture to compete for the space and sell their products. I am certain that many drugs will coming out with FDA approvals quicker, since we now know that the plant is effective in a human body with many receptors from the cannabinoid system.

What advice would you give to other CEOs or founders to help their employees to thrive?

I would advise other CEOs or founders to lead by example and inspire your employees to give their 100%. By doing so, they will contribute greatly to a company’s overall success. I work hard to instill that hard-working spirit in my employees.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I saw the ALS movement on YouTube and I participated! It was a worthy cause to raise awareness. I would like to do a similar cannabis movement, if everyone could try to let go of their fear and belief that it is a bad plant. I want people to take a five day juice detox and put hemp seed in their juice or smoothie and share their juicing health journey. I think this movement would change America’s health for the better.

What is the best way our readers can follow you on social media?

@drjsnatural @ensohara @qyksonic

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

Jilea Hemmings is the CEO & Co-Founder of Leaf Tyme. She is running a series on Leaders In The Cannabis Industry.

--

--

Jilea Hemmings
Authority Magazine

CEO & Co-Founder at Stretchy Hair Care I Author I Speaker I Eshe Consulting I Advocate For Diversity In Beauty