How Chef Chris Gannon Of Bolay Is Helping To Promote Healthy Eating

An Interview With Martita Mestey

Martita Mestey
Authority Magazine
7 min readJun 7, 2022

--

You will fall down but it’s a matter of how you get back up and what you do after you fall.

In this interview series, called “Chefs and Restaurateurs Helping To Promote Healthy Eating” we are talking to chefs and restaurateurs who are helping to promote and raise awareness about healthy eating. The purpose of the series is to amplify their message and share insights about healthy eating with our readers. As a part of this series, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Chris Gannon.

Chris Gannon, CEO of Bolay Restaurants, lives his life with a focus on all things large and small that makes the seemingly ordinary, extraordinary. “Make it craveable” says Gannon, quoting his father and Outback Steakhouse Restaurateur, Tim Gannon. A competitor by nature, Chris is also one by design. He spent years as a professional polo player, becoming the second youngest polo player to win the US Open Polo Championship. In college at Florida State University, he rode Renegade as Chief Osceola at all of FSU’s home games. If you don’t find Gannon working on how to make things better, more flavorful, more nutritious or more inviting at one of his restaurants, you’re sure to find him on the field running a race and bracing to be number one. Rest assured, he’ll always have a smile, take that extra step to walk you to the door, make sure you’ve had a great time while you were there, and certainly, that you’re somehow the better for having known him.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Our readers would love to ‘get to know’ you a bit. Can you share with our readers a story about what inspired you to become a restauranteur or chef?

My father, Tim Gannon, was one of the founders of Outback Steakhouse and really set the tone for the love I have for the industry. I’ve always loved working with people and helping them grow, food is just a great medium to do that in. Also growing up in New Orleans La truly shaped who I am within the hospitality world. Where ladies and gentlemen, serve ladies and gentlemen as just part of our DNA.

Do you have a specific type of food that you focus on? What was it that first drew you to cooking that type of food? Can you share a story about that with us?

Growing up I travelled all over the world. I was so inspired by all of the flavors that each country showcased, and I wanted to bring that to Bolay. I collaborated with world-renowned chefs on building out a menu that spoke to my travels that are filled with bold spices, layered flavors and something you just can’t find in modern dining. And then we put it all in a bowl removing the heavy starch.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that has happened to you since you started? What was the lesson or take away you took out of that story?

The most interesting part of growing our amazing brand Bolay is how many people we have affected for the positive. We truly get 100’s of messages, comments or emails from our wonderful guest telling us how we have changed their lives or inspired them to be better versions of themselves. And for a funny story, it would probably have to be all of the fun pranks we play on each other at our grand openings as we truly believe in have “FUN” in our DNA. After all we are in the people business, so we try not to take ourselves too seriously.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

I agree with this statement and YES, I had and still have many mentors and people I look up to in my life. My father is a fundamental figure in my life and continues to guide me along my journey every day. From the day I came to him with this idea of Bolay (which at the time I didn’t even have a name for) to our first opening, his leadership and guidance really inspired my own. He always encouraged us to take risks and be courageous.

I also make it a point to create a strong network of fellow industry professionals to keep a relevant mindset and bounce ideas off of. This industry is so competitive so keeping that edge is important.

In your experience, what is the key to creating a dish that customers are crazy about?

Make it crave-able, be consistent, and do research.

Personally, what is the ‘perfect meal’ for you?

I spent some time in Argentina and really fell in love with the traditional Argentina BBQ — one of my favorite Bolay traditions is inviting a select group of leaders to my home and cooking them a real Argentine BBQ.

Where does your inspiration for creating come from? Is there something that you turn to for a daily creativity boost?

Many of my ideas and sparks of inspiration are ignited from my morning runs. I challenge myself every day to keep a fresh mind and exercising really helps clear the path for me. I am currently training for a half Iron-Man which I am super excited about. It’s a lot of early mornings and hard work but it’s also a place where some of the best ideas are born.

Are you working on any new or exciting projects now? What impact do you think this will have?

We have so many exciting things in the works, one that I am most excited about is our first Drive-Thru concept opening in South Tampa this fall. Drive-Thru is a whole new world of challenges and opportunities but one we feel will elevate the guests experience for the brand.

Ok super. Let’s now jump to the main part of our interview. You are currently leading an initiative to help promote healthy eating. Can you tell us a bit about what you and your organization are trying to change in our world today?

We are trying to redefine the restaurant experience. From the way we attract talent to how we serve our food. It’s more than a lifestyle brand of health and wellness. It’s a whole new way of running the business. The restaurant industry has been the same way for decades, it’s gone away from the roots of hospitality and we are here to bring that back. Getting food fast doesn’t mean one has to sacrifice taste or experience and on the other side of that having a career in this business doesn’t have to mean going home without a sense of purpose. We are here to shake the industry on its head and redefine how people perceive it.

Can you tell us the backstory about what inspired you to originally feel passionate about this cause?

I live a very healthy lifestyle and am an athlete. From being involved in triathlons and caring about what I feed my family, I wanted to create a place where everyone can feel good about what they put into their bodies. Starting with fresh juices, the ideas grew into what we know as Bolay today.

Without saying specific names, can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was helped by your cause?

A man who sacrificed everything to follow his dream taught me to take the first steps to my dream. He sold his most prized possession to take a risk on his ideas and has taught me to believe in my abilities. Knowing the perils of my journey ahead, I was taught that confidence and hard work will make dreams come true. I try not to lose that when I am ready for our next restaurant.

Are there three things the community/society/politicians can do to help you address the root of the problem you are trying to solve?

Yes, this is easy. Put stricter limitations on processed food and what can go into food. This will save America on the backend from a health perspective. Second, celebrate the hospitality industry and its amazing gateway into the working class. Thirdly, reduce the restrictions on minors working in the hospitality industry and celebrate a work ethic at a young age.

What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Started as a Chef or Restaurateur” and why? Please share a story or an example for each.

  1. Trust your instinct and more importantly, your taste.
  2. Trying 20 times for a perfect recipe is okay.
  3. You will fall down but it’s a matter of how you get back up and what you do after you fall.
  4. Food is more than substances, it’s a creation of memories.
  5. Believe in your abilities even if others doubt them.

What’s the one dish people have to try if they visit your establishment?

Guests absolutely love our Asian noodles. My recommendation would be Asian Noodles with Brussel Sprouts and Teriyaki Chicken. Must add the avocado and creamy cilantro garlic sauce!

Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Easy, Elon Musk. He is reinventing the world as we know it and challenging the way we think about the world. Second, would be Sir Richard Branson as he too is redefining industries and pushing the envelope on what can be.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

Visit us at Bolay.com or follow our page on LinkedIn, Facebook, or Instagram! We are always sharing updates with our guests and their experiences — maybe yours will be featured!

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

--

--