How Cori Silberman Sais of Broadstream Is Helping To Make the Entertainment Industry More Diverse and Representative

An Interview With Ming Zhao

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
16 min readAug 24, 2022

--

The best idea should win. No matter who presents it.

Entertainment is ideally a highly collaborative industry or it should be. But too often the senior team members or one executive makes all the decisions and usually does not create a culture of collaboration. How could this possibly yield a great product? The best filmmakers or directors or writers know that the best product will always come from varying perspectives and that a brilliant idea can come from anywhere.

As a part of my series about leaders helping to make the entertainment industry more diverse and representative, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Cori Silberman Sais.

Cori Silberman Sais is the CEO and co-founder of Broadstream, a new free-for-the-user, arts and arts adjacent streaming platform that features professional content created by and starring diverse voices, including those who identify as BIPOC and LGBTQIA+. Broadstream is home to over 200 original content pieces, spanning genres including theater, comedy, music, spoken word, politics, fandom and more. The platform proudly empowers artists who have too often been historically marginalized, dedicating their platform to amplifying their voices and highlighting art that meets the moment in pursuit of artistic justice. Artists receive a share of Broadstream’s advertisement sales revenue generated from their work to make Broadstream’s content by and for the artist.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

Thank you so much for having me! I have always had a passion for the arts and performed on stage and in musical theater for most of my life. I ended up attending NYU for theater but about halfway through, I got very frustrated with how the industry was working — or I should say, not working — for so many creative and talented storytellers. At the same time, some friends wanted to do a new play for a theater festival. I volunteered to produce it, but had no idea what I was doing, so I decided to get an internship with a producer and general manager to learn the ropes. It was a sensational experience and I was hooked. The show itself took place on a stage with a movie screen and had about 10 short interactive films as part of the story. This was long before second screen viewing experiences existed. I loved merging worlds and finding interesting new ways to tell stories. After that, I started looking for opportunities to shine a light on stories that needed to be told and storytellers who needed a stage to tell them on.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

At Broadstream’s inception, we wanted to start by making a few pieces of content that really spoke to what we were trying to build. I reached out to a few people that I think are immensely talented and asked them what they thought was missing in the arts space. My very first call was to Kevin Newbury, an incredible director who I have known for some time. We had been trying to find something to work on together for years, but nothing ever worked out. But I adored him as a person and respected his talent and so I made sure to keep this relationship growing, even when we weren’t working on something. So, after hopping on Zoom with Kevin, and his partner Brandon (an ASL interpreter) we started coming up with ideas about how Broadstream can serve the Deaf and ASL community and make content that can speak to everyone. We started talking about the lack of music videos (a medium I am obsessed with) for this community and that is how the Soul(Signs) series was born. We decided to produce 5 music videos with ASL, featuring members from the deaf community. We also wanted to make these videos feel very personal, and so the songs chosen were in honor of Brandon’s relationship with his two grandmothers.

The first video we did was a music video set to the song, “Midnight Train To Georgia.” That video set the tone and feel for so much of what we wanted to make at Broadstream. It is a truly stunning video that I will forever be immensely proud of. There is something unbelievably special about the piece and audiences have responded beautifully. The video has even been featured on all of the Times Square billboards every night for a month. The series itself has allowed for some incredibly collaborations, including with musical artist, Lachi.

The most exciting part about it might be that this was an incredible example of collaboration and developing relationships. I am so proud that through relationship building, trust and collaboration we were able to make something so amazing. This business is very small, so creating and keeping good relationships is imperative to its success.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

This is not so profound, but I learned an enormous amount from this horribly embarrassing mistake. My first internship was for a Broadway general manager and producer who produced a lot of readings of new work. One day, we were hosting a reading that featured a very fancy cast. I was nervous beyond belief, even though I was just a production assistant for the day. We got to the rehearsal space and after setting up, my boss asked me to make the coffee as the cast was showing up. I had never made a pot of coffee in my life, but I just said “of course” with a highly confident smile on my face and went off to try to complete the task asked of me. But not only had I never made coffee in a regular home coffee maker, I had certainly never made it in one of those old-fashioned giant coffee machine carafes that intimidatingly stood before me on that day. Needless to say, I completely screwed it up.

We are talking water flooding the table, coffee grounds all over the floor, both water and coffee grounds covering me head to toe, paper towels strewn everywhere. My boss was clearly not happy. And then, magically, two hands came down from above and helped me fix my colossal failing. I didn’t even look up. I just continued cleaning and cracking self-deprecating jokes about my predicament. After we got it under control, I looked up to see that it was F. Murray Abraham who had come to save me. I was floored. He smiled at me with a twinkle in his eye and he said, “when you don’t know, just ask.” And I have lived by that every day since. So maybe a little profound!

Ok thank you for all that. Let’s now jump to the main focus of our discussion. Can you describe how you are helping to make popular culture more representative of the US population?

I am CEO of Broadstream, a new streaming platform focusing on arts and arts related content. Broadstream is hyper-focused on four key values: accessibility, inclusivity, diversity and equity.

In fact, the platform was specifically built to help solve the problem of representation in the arts. The sad reality is, for most arts (theater, dance, music, comedy) there are too many barriers to entry for both creators and audience members across the country. Too often, you have to live in a certain place, make a certain amount of money, be a certain age, look a certain way, etc. to have access and it’s long past time that art reflected and represented the diversity of our country.

That is why 100 percent of the content on Broadstream was made by the same people as our audience. The majority of our content features members from the LGBTQIA, BIPOC, disabled or other underrepresented communities because it is imperative that they know how absolutely necessary their art and voices are.

One of Broadstream’s core missions is to address representation in the arts from the ground up which means ensuring that young people’s paths to representation and equity in the arts are not blocked by the structures of the past. With more and more arts programs being cut in schools, young people not only lack access to excellent content that speaks to them, but their path to becoming creators is being stymied as well. Broadstream believes that everyone should have access to art and to create art and yet too often, the arts are so drastically underfunded that rising talent has to pay for everything themselves, creating yet another barrier to entry. Broadstream changes all that. We pay the artists for their work (usually entire productions) and give creative freedom to the creators themselves to tell the stories they feel inspired by.

The goal of the platform is to feature thousands of diverse voices so that younger audiences (especially) can see themselves in the work and they too can know that their voice and their presence matters. That they matter. If a young person doesn’t see someone like them being celebrated in pop culture, how can they feel comfortable enough to celebrate themselves?

Broadstream was created to feature art that meets the moment and to show audiences and creators that they are welcome and necessary. It is a priority at Broadstream to make a space for these audiences to be welcomed and told that not only do you matter, but you and your life are necessary.

If just one person sees themselves represented on Broadstream and feels seen and supported — potentially when they haven’t in the past or live in a community that does not support them — then the goal has been achieved. And that is why “representation” so deeply matters to us.

Can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted by the work you are doing?

We are very fortunate to work with a lot of amazing artists who tragically had not been previously given the opportunity to create work that represents who they are or paid for their ideas and work. We have one team in particular that is made up of Black men. After making their work, they reached out to tell me that they have never been on a set where everyone looked like them and it was the first time they felt truly safe to do their work.

On the audience side, I received a very beautiful and sobering email shortly after we launched. This individual found my email address and wanted to let me know how impactful the work was. They are a BIPOC trans person who had never seen themselves represented the way they had on Broadstream. They had been going through a very tough time and were not seeing any improvement coming. They thanked us for giving them hope and making them feel that they mattered. It breaks me to think that this person was made to feel any other way. But I will forever be immensely proud that Broadstream was able to help make this person feel seen.

As an insider, this might be obvious to you, but I think it’s instructive to articulate this for the public who might not have the same inside knowledge. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why it’s really important to have diversity represented in Entertainment and its potential effects on our culture?

Absolutely.

1) We must show (not tell) people that they matter. And the only way to do that is by actually empowering their voices to create art that is more representative of the diversity in our country. When there are structures in place that have children growing up watching shows that never feature people like them, how are they to believe that they are important or valued? It is incumbent upon the entertainment industry to reflect the world as it exists back to the audience.

2) Despite having access to huge amounts of knowledge and access, too much of the country still sees someone that is different from them as a threat. Without diverse artistic representation, divisiveness and negativity could certainly continue to increase in our country. The arts have always been the silver bullet for tolerance and progress and practically there are very tangible and productive results that have stemmed from inclusive storytelling.

3) Our country is at our best when we are a melting pot. We have seen time and again that amazing things can be created when a group of individuals put their best in the mix and something even better emerges. In many ways it’s the story of Broadstream.

Can you recommend three things the community/society/the industry can do to help address the root of the diversity issues in the entertainment business?

1) Fundamentally, the decision makers need to change how they make decisions. A committee of people who don’t represent the art, artist or audience cannot and should not determine what art is or who gets to experience it. Leaders in the entertainment industry must know their relevance or lack thereof. It is not an executive’s job to “decide” what an audience they are not a part of will or will not like. It is their job, and mine, to find amazing writers, directors, ideas, creators, artists etc. and let them dictate the art.

2) The industry needs to be looking at ways to support rising artists in the creation of their art. Rather than trying to find ways to profit from them at their expense, larger companies need to be working in partnership to allow new diverse talent to have opportunities.

3) The industry needs to stop qualifying what is “good” content. We can all see patterns about which films win awards, which art is considered “important” and which shows get respect…and which ones don’t. I might not like something, but that doesn’t diminish its importance to another group of people. “High Art” does not make something good or important. I hate when people diminish comic book movies because they are popular or have action. The MCU storytelling is brilliant and for some filmmakers to decide it isn’t film or important is not only ludicrous but damaging.

How do you define “Leadership”? Can you explain what you mean or give an example?

Leadership is leading by example and moving out of the way when you are not needed. I tend to get very annoyed when I hear someone lecture about something rather than just doing it. In the entertainment industry, it is about actually doing something and not just talking about doing something. You can only show leadership by doing the actual work, day in and day out. Do the work, make mistakes, take responsibility for those errors and fix them. When you see amazing rising talent, support them to learn this for themselves. It’s important to move out of the way for others and let their skills shine. I don’t think you can consider yourself a leader when you hog the spotlight and try to make the work about you. Real leadership means being comfortable enough to foster collaboration and to work with different people to make the best product.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

Great question.

1. Find great partners.

I think too often people early in their careers try to take too much on themselves and fail to understand the value of partnership and I was no exception. Since then, I have been so very lucky to have had incredible partners, from investors, to the amazing creatives we develop work with, to my amazing husband who works on everything alongside me. I am so blessed to have my business partner, the founder of Broadstream, Jana Shea, always by my side, as a cheerleader, a confidant and a sounding board. Happiness and success can never truly be maximized in isolation.

2. The best idea should win. No matter who presents it.

Entertainment is ideally a highly collaborative industry or it should be. But too often the senior team members or one executive makes all the decisions and usually does not create a culture of collaboration. How could this possibly yield a great product? The best filmmakers or directors or writers know that the best product will always come from varying perspectives and that a brilliant idea can come from anywhere.

Early on in my career, I had the incredible privilege of working for my hero, Hal Prince. He would often ask me to read a new play or musical and then we would sit around and discuss it over cottage cheese. As a very young professional, his acceptance and openness to my ideas was life changing. He would push me for my thoughts and have me really try and solve problems. Those are some of my favorite memories and I try to emulate that in my day to day.

3. Not all opportunities are equal. And some should be avoided.

I had been up for a very shmancy job with a let’s say “notorious” film (and theater) producer. The job was to adapt his films for the stage and I was uniquely suited for the position. In fact, I had just seen an early version of one of the things he had been adapting and it was terrible so I did a full notes breakdown and it got into his hands, which was how I got the interview.

However, when I finally got to sit down with him for the final round of interviews (after 6 rounds with other people), he proceeded to ignore me for 20 minutes while he made crass comments to his assistant about a certain famous actress. I tried to make small talk and comment about things in the office that I thought would be appropriate (a movie poster of a not so popular old film I loved, etc), but he continued to ignore me and go on with his diatribe about the actress.

Finally, after about 30 minutes, he looked up and started firing rapid trivia questions at me like I was an encyclopedia. And when I answered (correctly), he would find a way to make my answer wrong. I was livid. To go through this long interview process for what would have been such an amazing job only to have to sit through this felt so demeaning and something that was only happening because I was a woman. This was a bully and I don’t respond so well to bullies. So, after a couple minutes of this, I stood up and shook my head. I pushed my resume back to him and said that this was not going to work out. He looked shocked and stunned. He began stuttering and made some nasty comments but I just stated calmly that if he wasn’t going to have an actual conversation with me about my expertise, then it was useless being in this interview. I said goodbye curtly, telling him he was going to need all the luck he could get and I stood up and left. This was not one of my most shining moments. I walked out of the building and as I got a block away my phone rang and it was him calling me to tell me that I had “gumption” and that he “respected that,” but that we should definitely not work together. This story has gotten somewhat more interesting of late given this person’s plight but it was shaping for me in the way that I learned to be confident, seek out true collaborators, to trust my gut in the moment and not be swayed by the perceived “power” in the room.

4. That being a woman is an asset and not a hindrance.

When I first started fundraising for various projects, but especially for feature films, I would do a lot of research (still do) on people who may be a good fit to invest in a particular project. One of my first attempts to raise money had me emailing a somewhat well-known film financier about an awesomely cool project. The pedigree piqued his interest and he agreed to a call. I got on that call after weeks of prep and anxiety only to be told to put my boss on the phone. Confused, I said, I was the boss. This man followed by saying, “Oh, I thought Cori was a man. I don’t do business with women and certainly don’t trust them with my money.” And he hung up. It was devastating. Soul crushing, honestly. It took me a long time to find ways to not apologize for being who I was and to learn that what I brought to the table had value because I had value.

5. Family first.

As a young producer and performer, I was often told that you must sacrifice important people or events for the sake of your career. And I believed that for a while. I believed it so much that I missed the funeral of my beloved grandmother to do a final dress rehearsal of a college musical. At the time, I was made to feel that this was an opportunity of a lifetime and to miss a performance or rehearsal was career suicide. My family supported me, of course. But I look back at that choice and know how ludicrous it was. Now, I always make sure to put my family’s needs first. So, when my kids need me, I am there. It doesn’t make a difference what seemingly important work event is going on. If my kid has a bake sale I need to attend, I am there. Work will always be there, and if you are working with great partners, they realize this too.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I think our world is missing a deep sense of empathy and that without it, we cannot grow and develop as we need to. Nothing, in my mind, can teach or build empathy like art.

If I, as a person, or as someone that is guiding Broadstream can help develop empathy in one person, I will see that as a goal and a dream fulfilled.

Welcoming artists to show a different perspective on the world, inviting an audience member to see someone’s clear authenticity and break down bias with honest storytelling that comes from someone’s unique experience all helps build and create empathy. Nothing would make me more proud than the work I do to cause a shift in someone’s heart.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I live by “Yes and…” in everything I do. The famous improv motto plays a part in how I lead a company, develop a film or musical, make decisions, parent my kiddos… overall encouragement of ideas and then wanting that idea to grow is fundamental to any good collaboration. Even a bad idea has elements that can be said “yes and…” to. Empowering people to have creative ideas, unconditionally supporting and guiding those ideas and then letting them live really changes everything for the better.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

That is so tough to narrow down! But I am going to have to go with Lin Manuel Miranda. Not only is his storytelling stunning, but he is always an advocate for those around him and seemingly is able to be a great dad, a brilliant storyteller, and a mentor all at once.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

I would be so thrilled if they would follow Broadstream on Instagram and TikTok.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.