How Dr. Sandra Lee, Dr. Pimple Popper, Thrives As an Entrepreneur Turned Celebrity

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine
Published in
12 min readFeb 2, 2020

When I was young, I learned to play the classical guitar and actually competed on a national level, performing for some pretty big crowds. It was stressful and made me pretty nervous. My guitar instructor would tell me that when you prepare for a performance, it’s important to be 110% prepared. Go through the motions, your fingering, the melody, meticulously within your mind so it’s so it’s really committed to memory, actually overcommitted to memory. When you are performing, you probably won’t do as well due to nerves, etc. but if you prep for 110%, you’re likely to be happy with the outcome. I remind myself of this comment often, whether I’m being interviewed on a live television show, or performing a surgery with cameras on me. Prepare to 110% and you usually can’t go wrong. Mental preparation is just as important as physical preparation. Also, I’m thrilled that my parents live 5 minutes away from me. I have young teenage boys, and I LOVE that they get to grow up knowing my parents well — they learn so much from them. They were such a positive influence upon me and I’m so pleased they get to make a difference in my kids’ lives. We go to their house 2–3 nights a week for dinner. My mom is a fantastic cook, and my husband and I get to decompress from work, while my kids do creative projects with my dad. One is building a bass guitar with him presently. These moments spent with people I love and respect the most help my mind thrive.

A board-certified dermatologist based in Southern California, Dr. Sandra Lee is known by most people as Dr. Pimple Popper. In 2015, Dr. Lee started an Instagram to give people a window into her world as a dermatologist. Although she had a hunch that people would find it interesting, she soon discovered there was a massive subculture online of people who watched “popping” videos and shared them with each other across the internet.

Today, Dr. Lee has posted thousands of videos that you can find on this website and across many other social media channels, including YouTube, Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat. These accounts have more than 10 million followers and her videos have been watched more than 2.5 billion times.

Dr. Lee is also the star of her own reality TV show on TLC, which focuses on how her procedures can dramatically change and better the lives of her patients.

Through her work, she realized there was something seriously missing in the skincare world: widespread access to dermatology-level treatment and products. As a result, she created a skincare line that contains the most effective, dermatologist-approved solutions, while at the same time empowering the world to take control of their own skin health. SLMD Skincare is an award-winning and fast-growing skincare line.

About SLMD Skincare — As an established Dermatologist and skincare authority, Dr. Sandra Lee aka Dr. Pimple Popper has taken the next step in her mission to help people understand and take better care of their skin. Each product from the award-winning SLMD range was carefully selected by Dr. Sandra Lee as products she would recommend to her own patients — the next best thing to actually seeing your dermatologist. Specially formulated for ALL skin types to treat AND prevent common skin conditions,

SLMD brings the dermatologist office to the consumer with proven ingredients and clinical strength formulations.

Dr. Pimple Popper quickly grew viral fame after posting blackhead extraction videos on her social media, now amassing to nearly 3 Billion YouTube views, 5.3 Million Subscribers and 3.3 Million Instagram Followers with a dedicated “Popaholics” fan base. Her TLC show ‘Dr. Pimple Popper’ is on its third season, showcasing behind-the-scenes popping and heartwarming stories of the clients behind her viral videos.

Thank you so much for joining us Dr. Lee. Can you share with us the backstory of how you came upon this career path and to where you are today?

I came upon this career path because I was around dermatology my whole life — the writing was kind of on the wall because my father was a dermatologist. I grew up helping file charts and checking out skincare samples like they were makeup. I think many people who pursue medicine and go to medical school don’t realize what an amazing specialty dermatology is until it’s too late, and I feel lucky that I was exposed to it early on and knew it was more than just “pimple popping”. It’s a complicated and fascinating specialty.

My husband is also a dermatologist, so we took over my father’s dermatology practice together. Four years ago, I wanted to give people a little window inside my world of dermatology, which is what compelled me to post a blackhead extraction video, and because there was such a noticeable response, I continued to do it. I use my social platforms to entertain, but also to secretly educate people on skin conditions they might not otherwise know about. The wonderful community we have built with Dr. Pimple Popper is really what inspired me to write a book, do a show on TLC, and create my own condition-focused skincare line, SLMD Skincare. While I always encourage people to see a doctor if they have concerns, I know people are not always able to, so I wanted to bridge that gap and provide products formulated with the right ingredients, we as dermatologists would recommend if you saw us.

Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Yes, I’m grateful for a lot of people that I was lucky to train under and consider my mentors. They all have characteristics I admire and seek to emulate. Dr Lucinda Buescher taught me how important it is to connect to your patients and have great bedside manner. Dr Robert Buzzel trained me to be meticulous and not settle for anything less in Mohs Surgery. Dr Richard Fitzpatrick, the international derm laser guru, taught me to think outside the box but be humble, that you can be viewed as a well respected professional, a board certified dermatologist, but still be a jokester and down to earth. Most importantly, my father taught me so many things about dermatology beyond skin conditions and diseases how to relate to patients, how to love what you do, how to get the most out of your job and life. It’s very important to have mentors, and I think you stumble upon them when you are doing or pursuing something that you love. You’ll recognize when someone is doing good things, and you should pay attention and learn from them.

Can you share a story with us about the most humorous mistake you made when you were first starting? What lesson or take-away did you learn from that?

I can’t think of a specific mistake that I have made, but there have definitely been big events that have been failures in my life. I think failure is actually important to experience and it’s important to learn from your mistakes or failures. I’m pretty goofy and silly in general (it even helps distract my patients!), but sometimes I will watch my TLC show back and I usually can’t watch without being like “did I REALLY just say that?!” I like to think people find these comments funny and endearing!

As a celebrity, you have been blessed with great success in a career path that many have attempted, but eventually gave up on. In fact perhaps most people who tried to follow a career path like yours did not succeed. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path but know that their dreams might be dashed?

I’d say recognize opportunity and don’t be afraid to pursue with tenacity — just be KIND AND GOOD. The field of dermatology is very competitive and it’s okay to be competitive, but don’t be negatively competitive. Don’t speak poorly about others. There will always be others in the same “race” as you. But you should just do YOU, and wish everyone else well. If you’re good at what you do, people will come to you and you will be successful. You have to put in the time and dedication to get somewhere, if you really want it. I’m not saying this because I’m there yet, but I’ve had the drive and the determination to keep trying and working to get where I want to be.

Ok thank you for all that. Now let’s shift to the main focus of our interview. You have been successful as both a celebrity and an entrepreneur. Most celebrities don’t make that transition successfully. We’d love to learn your secret. How do you do both?

It is pretty stressful! I’m working at the clinic full time which is a demanding job in itself, and then I have another whole business and a half with Dr Pimple Popper, my show on TLC and my skincare line, SLMD Skincare. I also have two young boys, a husband, and wonderful friends I can’t forget about! These people are the ones that keep me sane, though. For me, having those relationships makes me the most successful. My girlfriends remind me to take time for myself and I spend quality time with my family, frequently! I’ve also started using the word no more, which I never used to. The first couple years, I agreed to do any press or collaboration that came my way. I worked hard to establish myself, but now I realize that some no’s will not hurt me, and sometimes are necessary to get a better YES.

In my work, I focus on how one can thrive and care for oneself in three areas: body, mind, and heart. You are a busy leader with a demanding schedule, can you share with our readers two self care routines, practices or treatments that help your body thrive? Kindly share a story or an example for each.

I might take more time with my skincare routine (which is fairly simple!) If I want to do a little extra, I’ll do a nice face mask or even apply my SLMD Salicylic Acid Cleanser on my face, and let it sit for awhile, like a little DIY face mask! I am very aware that I have dry skin and am prone to eczema, so I’m sure to keep a bottle of moisturizing lotion in the shower. I’ll apply it right after I shower when my skin is still damp, and before that moisture evaporates. These things keep my skin healthy and make me feel the most physically comfortable.

Can you share with us two routines that you use to help your mind thrive? (Kindly share a story or example for each.)

When I was young, I learned to play the classical guitar and actually competed on a national level, performing for some pretty big crowds. It was stressful and made me pretty nervous. My guitar instructor would tell me that when you prepare for a performance, it’s important to be 110% prepared. Go through the motions, your fingering, the melody, meticulously within your mind so it’s so it’s really committed to memory, actually overcommitted to memory. When you are performing, you probably won’t do as well due to nerves, etc. but if you prep for 110%, you’re likely to be happy with the outcome. I remind myself of this comment often, whether I’m being interviewed on a live television show, or performing a surgery with cameras on me. Prepare to 110% and you usually can’t go wrong. Mental preparation is just as important as physical preparation.

Also, I’m thrilled that my parents live 5 minutes away from me. I have young teenage boys, and I LOVE that they get to grow up knowing my parents well — they learn so much from them. They were such a positive influence upon me and I’m so pleased they get to make a difference in my kids’ lives. We go to their house 2–3 nights a week for dinner. My mom is a fantastic cook, and my husband and I get to decompress from work, while my kids do creative projects with my dad. One is building a bass guitar with him presently. These moments spent with people I love and respect the most help my mind thrive.

Can you share with us two routines that you partake in to help your heart or spiritual side to thrive? (Kindly share a story or example for each.)

I lean into my family and my two cats a lot. Like I said, my parents live 5 minutes away from me and we will join them for dinner sometimes a few times a week! She will whip up Singapore and Malaysian dishes so effortlessly, and family time like this fills me up and makes me happy! My two cats, Taquito and Dim Sum have the same effect on me. Sometimes, I’ll go home during my lunch break to rest and play with them, even for a few minutes. They relieve my stress!

All of us have great days and bad days. On days when you feel like a rockstar what do you do? What does that day look like, and what did you do to get there?

Those are days that I get a good night’s sleep, exercise, I don’t overeat or over drink the night before, and probably had a great day of work with wonderful, interesting patients and I felt like I made a difference. I suppose this means that I have to get a good night’s sleep, and not overeat and overdrink, but of course I don’t always listen to my own advice! But hey, the way I view it is that you have to have a bad day to actually appreciate a good day, right?

In contrast, on days when you feel down, what do you do?

I lean on the love and support from my husband, my kids, and my great friends. I crawl into bed, watch trash TV, and eat potato chips. Tomorrow is a new day!

Is there a particular resource, a practitioner, expert, book, podcast that made a significant impact on you and helped you to thrive? Can you share a story about that with us?

I’ve always loved human interest stories on television. I love On the Road with Charles Kuralt and Humans of New York posts on Instagram. I’ve always been fascinated with what motivates people and want to know their story. This is one of the reasons I love my patients and learning from them. They teach me so much about the world and help me to be a kinder, better human.

Do you have a story about the strangest, most bizarre or funniest wellness treatment that you’ve ever experienced?

YouTube videos and the internet is full of lots of DIY hacks and wellness treatments… I have seen lots of bizarre things! Kitty litter face masks are probably one of the weirdest I’ve come across. Don’t get me wrong, I love my cats, but people tend to push the envelope when it comes to using household products on the skin, and these often do more harm than good irritating your skin, causing microtears, etc.!

You’re a high achieving creative authority and leader, and yet, you may have family and loved ones that require a different side of you at home. How do you leave the high powered executive at the door, and become a loving caretaker at home?

I think I’ve realized that while my job is to be a dermatologist, maintain a TV Show, a skincare line, and the Dr. Pimple Popper brand — I also have a job and a responsibility as a mother, wife, and friend. I try not to forget about that and give my kids, husband, and friends the attention that they deserve and reciprocate back to me! I don’t talk about my job or being a youtuber and TV personality at home or with my family and friends. I want to be the same person I have always been before any of this happened. My kids are teenagers now, so really, anything I do is lame and embarrassing. They roll their eyes at me if I declare that I’m a YouTuber. If one of their friends says they like to watch my TV show and that I’m cool, my kid tells me that’s because they don’t “know” me. They don’t let me get a big head and I’m thankful for that.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world with whom you’d like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this.

Probably Oprah. She has such a positive influence on so many people. She has touched people she will never meet. I have enormous respect for her. She is a real, normal person, but lives a life trying to elevate others and motivate them to be happy, personally and professionally. I admire that.

What is the best way our readers can follow you on social media?

You can follow and keep up with me on Instagram with the handles, @drsandralee @drpimplepopper, and you can keep up with my skincare line @slmdskincare!

--

--

Ming S. Zhao
Authority Magazine

Co-founder and CEO of PROVEN Skincare. Ming is an entrepreneur, business strategist, investor and podcast host.