How Gerald Wu of The Los Angeles Film School Is Helping To Make the Entertainment Industry More Diverse and Representative

An Interview With Edward Sylvan

--

Everyone deserves a chance to succeed and feel important at something. The balance of power toward certain cultures is limited in the film industry and having a diverse group will expand their knowledge and how it may operate. Having accolades pushed upon yourself is a good feeling that would make them proud to their family, friends and colleagues.

As a part of my series about leaders helping to make the entertainment industry more diverse and representative, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Gerald Wu.

Gerald amassed a successful thirty-five (35) year career in the film industry. Originally from New York, his first production job was a commercial being shot on the streets of Midtown Manhattan, at Times Square, the busiest traffic block of New York City. This one event hooked him into the film business, and he has continued that path to this day.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

In my freshman year of college which I was struggling through, I was invited to work on a television commercial over the weekend. I loved every minute of it. That one weekend was the turning point and changed my life forever. I never chose the computer science major in college because I loved it, it was only because I was good at math and science in high school. I realized at this point I was on this false path and why did I pick a major that I had no interest in. I decided at the close of that weekend, I could still do something about it. I wanted now to follow my passion and pick a career that got me excited to go in everyday and not a dead-end job that most people face each day. The change of my computer science major to television production the following Monday morning was an easy choice since my aspirations were in photography and broadcasting. I committed myself to learning the skills necessary to succeed in this industry, but there were many instances where I felt inferior to those around me. I have always been self-motivated and kept remembering my end goal. So, I started to work in the film industry on weekends and school breaks throughout my school career.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

There have been many of these stories when you work in this film business for a long time. The most interesting story is when I was working on the Grey Poupon commercials in the 1990s. At the time, the crew and cast thought these commercials would never go anywhere and were lacking substance. It turns out later on they became a huge hit and had a cult following. There were only three (3) of these individual commercials made, but only two (2) were broadcasted. When I tell people that I worked on them, the people are amazed, and they still praise them.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

The funniest mistake I did was call “action” on a national big-budget commercial when it should have been the director doing that command. It was my first job as a First Assistant Director (1st AD) other than on smaller productions. The director looked at me with this death face and then I realized what I did wrong. He corrected me instantly and was not happy about what I did in front of everyone. He correctly me abruptly in front of al, cast & crew and told me never to do again. He yelled, you will never work in this business again. It taught me to be more careful about the responsibilities of the position and what is expected from me. That night I did some research and tried through the years to learn this position fully.

Ok thank you for all that. Let’s now jump to the main focus of our discussion. Can you describe how you are helping to make popular culture more representative of the US population?

Since I am an Asian-American male, I am looked at as an anomaly in the film business, especially at the higher positions. I try to be a role model that others can look up to. I achieved my status by working as a professional and adhering to a strict set of rules where my reputation means everything. I have kept my word on sets and employ a work hard ethic. It shows when I am in discussions, on tech scouts or in production meetings. I always try to make the cast & crew always look their best, even if it takes a bit more time slowing down the shooting schedule. I always show empathy to those who make first-time mistakes but become firmer to those who keep committing the same offenses on set. I will pull them aside and have a conversation with them. This is to educate them and not scold them. I would never embarrass them on set in front of all their colleagues.

Can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted by the work you are doing?

There were many crew members who wanted to be an Assistant Director (AD) in this industry and I have helped many of them achieve this dream. I have trained the next group who would eventually take my place. I did have help in my climb to the top and I decided a long time ago to do the same to the next group. I have helped some of those individuals get into the Directors Guild of America (DGA) union just like me.

As an insider, this might be obvious to you, but I think it’s instructive to articulate this for the public who might not have the same inside knowledge. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why it’s really important to have diversity represented in Entertainment and its potential effects on our culture?

  1. Diversity in the entertainment industry gives an alternative way of thinking about problems and issues. It could be a different way to approach a problem and find an unlikely solution.
  2. The diverse function gives a different lifestyle to consider. They have separate ways to complete tasks. They will have different sets of rules to be governed by either by religion or culture. It will give you an inside look to the way they live and think.
  3. Everyone deserves a chance to succeed and feel important at something. The balance of power toward certain cultures is limited in the film industry and having a diverse group will expand their knowledge and how it may operate. Having accolades pushed upon yourself is a good feeling that would make them proud to their family, friends and colleagues.

Can you recommend three things the community/society/the industry can do to help address the root of the diversity issues in the entertainment business?

  1. They need to hire more minorities in higher positions. There are many qualified individuals in all aspects of the industry. The issue is they just need a chance to show they can handle the job correctly.
  2. They could address this issue directly and continue to show they care by providing educational training inside the industry about the benefits of being diverse and work all as a team.
  3. They could create specific guidelines list and distribute them for their next production.

How do you define “Leadership”? Can you explain what you mean or give an example?

Leadership is the one characteristic that an individual has who can control the situation, themselves, and everyone around them. They have a plan, can execute it, or adapt to any situation. They are mostly pro-active and not reactive, although they can be when necessary. The leader knows when to go forward and when to seek advice. This person should always be in control, commands respect and shows some in return. The example I will provide is the 1st AD who can adjust the daily schedule in an instant when they find out the actor for the next scene missed their flight that morning. They 1st AD would be able to shuffle the schedule around and make a case to the director and producer that this will save time lost and money instead of having everyone just waiting for the actor to arrive. This way the time is spent completing that scene or rehearsing the next scenes during that downtime. This is a person who leads by example and not one who sits and folds under pressure.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Listen and learn, instead of talking and socializing on set.

There is a lot to learn by being on set. Many people would want to be where you are. Take advantage it. These veterans in the film industry take years to master their craft and have a passion for it. If you do not, then try something else. Too many crew members have a good time and spend less time listening to the veterans before them. They can teach you a lot of tips and tricks of the industry. It would be a good idea to sit down with them and learn what you can do to become better.

2. Pick a position and stay with it for an entire career.

It is advisable to stay within that same position to gain all the knowledge of it. If you roam around to different positions, you will not be able to master everything that it could offer. The primary aspect that should be thinking is how can I be the best at this and then the job offers, or word of mouth will travel. Far. They will start calling you for jobs.

3. Be proactive and not reactive on set.

This would be important to get your name out there networking and start your reputation strong in the business. Word gets around that if you have a strong work ethic, people notice, and they will want to hire you more often than the slacker next to you. You should be the one who volunteers and complete the task efficiently, punctually and without 100% effort every time.

4. Always stick to your commitment.

If you commit to a job, stay with it until the end. There should be no excuse why you should leave a project. Your reputation can be ruined in a day but takes years to gain. The only exception is if it dangerous to your health or well-being, criminal activity is present, or you are being bullied or insulted.

5. Be punctual.

You are considered a professional while hired for this job and while on set. You need to show up on time every time so everyone else is not waiting for you. This pertains to all crew and cast members. Everyone is important and necessary for the smooth running of the set and any meetings.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

What I would like changed is the credits at the end of a film. I believe the 1st AD position and their full name should be listed at the beginning of the film and not a small little text credit at the end. It should be included with the Director, Director of Photography, Producers and Screenwriter. They are an integral part of the team making this film possible. They should get the proper credit as well.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“Always be on time”. The one time I was late because of traffic, they replaced me with the one who was under me and promoted them to my position so the project could stay on schedule. That was the fastest working day ever. Never made this mistake again. Always leave early to account for traffic and other obstacles that may occur.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

The only one that I would like to meet and talk to is Quentin Tarantino. He is a diverse person and has made it in Hollywood. I admire his work and his creativity in his films. I have never had the chance to meet him. It would be great to see him in person one day.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Not really on it.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.