How Liz Cheng and Patricia Alvarado Núñez Are Helping To Make the Entertainment Industry More Diverse and Representative

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
13 min readJan 12, 2023

--

Don’t be afraid to ask for help — When I first started as a director-producer, I learned that nothing in broadcasting can be accomplished on your own. I had a technician who refused to work with me because I was a woman, 24 years old and Chinese American. An entire crew of older white men stood with me to pressure the technician to do his job. I will never forget that moment forged with a band of brothers.

As a part of my series about leaders helping to make the entertainment industry more diverse and representative, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Liz Cheng and Patricia Alvarado Núñez.

Liz Cheng and Patricia Alvarado Núñez host and executive produce the Stories from the Stage podcast, based on the broadcast series they co-created with WORLD Channel Editorial Manager Chris Hastings. The TV series and podcast features multicultural storytellers sharing extraordinary stories in the hope we can all learn from their experiences. Patricia is an

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator