How Michael Hawthorne Jr Of Klean Energy Kulture Is Helping to Promote Sustainability and Climate Justice

An Interview With Monica Sanders

Monica Sanders
Authority Magazine
8 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Don’t be afraid to address how the climate movement has historically excluded people. Pioneers often carve their own paths.

According to the University of Colorado, “Those who are most affected and have the fewest resources to adapt to climate change are also the least responsible for the greenhouse gas emissions — both globally and within the United States.” Promoting climate justice is an incredibly important environmental responsibility that is slowly becoming more and more recognized. In this interview series, we are talking to leaders who are helping to promote sustainability and climate justice. As part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Michael Hawthorne Jr.

Michael Hawthorne Jr. an environmentalist and climate justice advocate. He co-founded Klean Energy Kulture with hip-hop producer Corey Dennard (Mr. Hanky) to promote clean energy in Black and Brown communities through music, events, and brand collaborations. Hawthorne’s previous experience includes notable work on campaigns such as Barack Obama’s 2008 presidential campaign, Al Gore’s Repower America initiative, Greenpeace, and the Sierra Club’s Beyond Coal Campaign.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit. Can you tell us a bit about how you grew up?

Hi, I’m Michael Hawthorne Jr., and I’m from a little town called Greenville, South Carolina. I grew up in a blue-collar neighborhood with my parents and two brothers. As a child, I was adventurous and always outside exploring creeks, woods, and parks, fostering an early love for nature and animals. I enjoyed watching sci-fi and horror movies and spent a lot of time at the library devouring books that sparked my curiosity.

Family played a big role in my upbringing, especially my cousins and my grandmother on my dad’s side, whose home was the family gathering spot. I was also a gamer who loved spending hours on the sticks when I wasn’t outside. My curiosity led me to read extensively, which silently built my passion for serving people. This passion drove me to attend South Carolina State University, a small HBCU, where I met the mother of my kids. Over the next two decades, I worked in politics, tech startups, and the climate movement.

Everyone has a cataclysmic moment or marker in their life which propels them to take certain actions, a “why”. What is your why?

Oh man! I remember it like it was yesterday. After failing miserably with my first tech startup in Los Angeles, I moved back to Arizona, feeling utterly defeated. I told my good friend, KiMi, that I never wanted to create another venture. He assured me that I hadn’t failed and that I was destined for greatness, but at that moment, I couldn’t see it.

I went from asking billionaires for investment capital to working third shift in a warehouse, loading boxes and selling credit repair services during the day. One night, while loading boxes, I had a chilling moment of clarity. I asked myself what made me happy and realized my passion for serving people and working on campaigns, particularly in the environmental field.

That realization reignited my drive, and weeks later, I joined the Sierra Club’s Beyond Coal Campaign. This was just the beginning of something amazing. My “why” is rooted in my desire to work towards my purpose, ensuring a better future for my kids and mitigating the climate crisis for frontline communities.

You are currently leading an organization that is making a difference for our planet. Can you tell us a bit about what you and your organization are trying to change?

The climate movement has struggled to mobilize communities of color, particularly Black communities, who are often affected by high energy burdens and health issues due to pollution. Working with leading environmental organizations like Greenpeace and the Sierra Club, I noticed that traditional tactics and messaging weren’t resonating with Black communities.

So, my co-founder and I created Klean Energy Kulture, a not-for-profit entertainment company and lifestyle brand. Our goal is to accelerate the adoption of clean energy within Black pop culture. We create lifestyle campaigns that showcase what a clean energy lifestyle looks like and implement clean energy projects in Black communities.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company or organization?

When Mr. Hanky and I started Klean Energy Kulture, we spent a year learning about the challenges and opportunities in the field. Initially, we thought we needed funding to make an impact. However, one night at a club, I noticed EVs pulling up without any charging stations and wondered about the club’s electric bills. That sparked an idea: what if we centered our first campaign around electrifying clubs?

The next day, I proposed the “Electrify the Club” campaign to our team, and they loved it. Our first event, in partnership with Uber, offered discounted EV rides to the club and sold out in three days without any marketing. The event was a huge success, attracting over 300 people, including representatives from the City of Atlanta Mayor’s office. It was incredible to see people enjoying themselves while being exposed to a clean energy lifestyle.

None of us can be successful without some help along the way. Did you have mentors or cheerleaders who helped you to succeed? Can you tell us a story about their influence?

Yes, I’ve had amazing cheerleaders. Elle and Elise, my daughters aged 9 and 7, have been my biggest inspirations. They constantly ask, “Daddy, is Klean Energy Kulture saving the world?” Their curiosity and support have motivated me to keep pushing forward, even during tough times.

Seeing my girls witness the growth of this venture and their budding interest in environmentalism has been incredibly rewarding. They remind me daily why this work is so important and inspire me to continue fighting for a cleaner future.

Thank you for that. Let’s now move to the central part of our discussion. Let’s start with a basic definition of terms so that everyone is on the same page. What does climate justice mean to you? How do we operationalize it?

Climate justice addresses the disproportionate impact of climate change on communities of color. For instance, Hurricane Katrina displaced many families who were already experiencing pollution and energy burdens.

In Arizona, I witnessed firsthand the detrimental effects of a proposed gas plant expansion adjacent to a Black community in Randolph. Despite initial victories in court, the utility company’s tactics eventually divided the community and allowed the project to proceed. This experience ignited a fire in me to fight for climate justice.

To achieve climate justice, we need to mobilize Black communities to take climate action. It’s not just about recycling; it’s about voting for leaders who will hold utilities accountable and make decisions that benefit the community.

Science is telling us that we have 7–10 years to make critical decisions about climate change. What are three things you or your organization are doing to help?

1. Clean Power Campaigns: We’re adding clean power to the grid to reduce the need for more gas or nuclear plants.

2. Entertainment for Awareness: We use entertainment to promote a clean energy lifestyle, creating a cultural shift towards sustainability.

3. Investment and Implementation: We leverage investment dollars from the Inflation Reduction Act to implement clean energy projects in urban areas, accelerating the transition.

Are there three things the community, society, or politicians can do to help you in your mission?

1. Join us! Sign up on our website to stay informed and get involved in the movement.

2. Advocate for funding to ensure that community members and elected officials are aware of available funds and push for their allocation to your area.

3. Vote wisely to elect pro-clean energy candidates to utility commissions and co-operative boards to retire old gas and coal plants and adopt cleaner alternatives.

How would you articulate how a business can become more profitable by being more sustainable and more environmentally conscious? Can you share a story or example?

Businesses can become incredibly profitable by embracing sustainability. For example, clubs that partner with us to electrify their venues can reduce their energy costs significantly while attracting a new, eco-conscious clientele. This dual benefit of cost savings and market expansion highlights the financial advantages of sustainable practices.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started promoting sustainability and climate justice” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1. It’s okay to not know everything: Embrace being an environmentalist even if you’re still learning. No one has all the answers.

2. Don’t be afraid to address how the climate movement has historically excluded people. Pioneers often carve their own paths.

3. Balance seriousness with enjoyment to sustain your passion for the long haul.

4. Learn to explain your solutions to a kindergartner. Clear communication is key to mobilizing support.

5. Always start by listening to the communities impacted by climate issues. Their insights are invaluable.

Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would like to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

I’d love to meet Rihanna! She’s doing incredible work through her foundation on climate change, especially considering its impact on her home country, Barbados. A breakfast or lunch with her would be amazing to discuss how we could collaborate to accelerate the clean energy transition through cultural influence.

How can our readers continue to follow your work online?

Website: https://www.kleanenergykulture.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kleanenergykulture

Twitter (X): https://x.com/kleanenergyk

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@KleanEnergyKulture

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/klean-energy-kulture/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kleanenergykulture

This was very meaningful, thank you so much. We wish you only continued success on your great work!

About the Interviewer: Monica Sanders JD, LL.M, is the founder of “The Undivide Project”, an organization dedicated to creating climate resilience in underserved communities using good tech and the power of the Internet. She holds faculty roles at the Georgetown University Law Center and the Tulane University Disaster Resilience Leadership Academy. Professor Sanders also serves on several UN agency working groups. As an attorney, Monica has held senior roles in all three branches of government, private industry, and nonprofits. In her previous life, she was a journalist for seven years and the recipient of several awards, including an Emmy. Now the New Orleans native spends her time in solidarity with and championing change for those on the frontlines of climate change and digital divestment. Learn more about how to join her at: www.theundivideproject.org

--

--

Monica Sanders
Authority Magazine

Monica Sanders JD, LL.M, is the founder of “The Undivide Project”, an organization dedicated to creating climate resilience in underserved communities.