Ralph Clark of ShotSpotter: How Technology Can Reduce Gun Violence

Jamie Michael Hemmings
Authority Magazine
Published in
3 min readSep 5, 2018

Sadly, the most interesting situation I have encountered is not funny at all but very tragic but impactful. I have the opportunity to do a lot of ride alongs with local police and ended being dispatched to the scene of a shooting homicide, which was surreal to see the complete non-reaction of residents in the neighborhood and many of whom where young people. I was able to visually witness what normalized gun violence looked like.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Ralph Clark, CEO and Founder of ShotSpotter. ShotSpotter is the global leader in gunfire detection and location technology providing the most trusted, scalable and reliable gunfire alert and analysis available today.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

Born, raised and currently live in Oakland, CA. Married for 30 years and have 3 daughters and a son. First job out of college was working with IBM in Seattle on the Boeing Team. Attended Harvard Business School as a career pivot then went to work on Wall Street as an investment banker working with high growth tech companies before moving back to the Bay Area to pursue my passion of leading and building high tech companies.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

Sadly, the most interesting situation I have encountered is not funny at all but very tragic but impactful. I have the opportunity to do a lot of ride alongs with local police and ended being dispatched to the scene of a shooting homicide, which was surreal to see the complete non-reaction of residents in the neighborhood and many of whom where young people. I was able to visually witness what normalized gun violence looked like.

What do you think makes your company stand out?

There is a lot that makes our noble company stand out. The singular purpose of making a difference in the world; the amazingly cool technology that can identify, locate and alert on gunfire incidents within 30–45 seconds (backed by 31 issued patents), and lastly the fact that we are a poster child for what a successful IPO looks like having executed to four beat and raise quarters as a newly public company.

What advice would you give to other CEOs or founders to help their employees to thrive?

Be passionate about your work and understand the purpose of your work.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are?

So many people from afar and directly, but if I had to pick one, I would have to say Sister Marcella (rest in power) who was my third grade and then 8th grade teacher. She always believed in me and told me I would do amazing things.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

The thing that I am so grateful for is that my business purpose and any resulting success is focused on helping law enforcement agencies provide equal protection to all communities in addressing gun violence.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”?

Be humble but always know your worth.

Some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this :-)

While my wife and four kids are hovering over me as I respond to this question to answer Drake (for whatever reason) I am going to go for the brass ring and say President Barack Obama.

Jamie Michael Hemmings President & Co-Founder of Best Tyme. He is running a series highlighting black men in tech.

--

--

Jamie Michael Hemmings
Authority Magazine

Co-Founder Stretchy Hair Care I Author I Speaker I Advocate For Diversity In Tech