“How To Build A Successful Company Working With Your Spouse” With Beth Laird, CEO of Creative Nation

Caroline James
Authority Magazine
Published in
4 min readJul 18, 2018

I had the pleasure to interview Beth Laird. Beth discusses her company Creative Nation, why it’s been so successful, as well as the dynamic of working with her husband.

You’ve created one of the most successful publishing companies in Nashville. Was this always your vision for Creative Nation? How have you molded and shaped the brand into what it is today?

Thank you, that means a lot. My husband, Luke and I wanted to create the publishing company we always wanted to work for, where the creativity came first and the business second. And we always felt like the environment made a big difference in how comfortable and creative songwriters would feel — which has proven to be true at Creative Nation and why we’ve remained in a cozy house on Music Row. We only hire staff or sign songwriters that are uniquely talented but also that we like and respect as people outside of their craft. Each person has their own lane and special skill set they bring to the team.

What is the most rewarding part of working in the music industry for you?

I have a deep desire to help people become the best versions of themselves. I can’t sing, write or play music, so I still think it’s a magical gift I’m in awe of. I feel so much gratification when we set goals around what the writers define as success to them and then we help them accomplish those goals.

How has being a female impacted your career in the entertainment industry? Any adversities that you’ve faced? Do you feel there are any lessons that other women can gain from each other in the industry?

I’ve always wanted to be respected as a music executive, regardless of my gender. But I do realize it is different as a female and early on, I made a conscience decision to not make excuses about it or feel sorry for myself when I didn’t get equal treatment. I decided to use it to my advantage and to do business with songwriters and executives who prefer working with females. I just find ways to work around males who don’t want to work with me.

What are three tips you would give to others looking to create their own company in the music space?

1. Educate yourself on the field you want to start a company in. You won’t know everything, and shouldn’t worry about knowing everything, but you should have a good idea on how to differentiate yourself in the marketplace. For Luke and me, it was very easy to know what type of company and environment we wanted to create because we had both worked in various other publishing companies and could use that experience to know what we wanted to do differently or the same.

2. Hire, sign and work with people who are smarter than you and have specialized knowledge you don’t have. If I don’t think it’s my skill set, I don’t waste time trying to learn it. I either hire, contract out or just ask people who know more than me so it makes the team better and more diverse.

3. Trust your gut. At the end of the day, YOU are what makes your company different. Don’t try to please everyone or you will lose. Own your style, be uniquely you, and be willing to share that with everyone you work with. The stronger your culture gets, the more you will start attracting people like you and repelling the types of people you don’t want to work with.

It’s pretty incredible that you and your husband have built this brand together. How is it working with your significant other? What advice would you give to couples who are thinking about working together?

I know it’s not right for a lot of married couples to work together, but in our case, it works great. Instead of me working day and night on other songwriters’ careers and never seeing him, I get to dream and celebrate with him — and him with me — which makes it very rewarding! We also have very different skill sets that complement each other. He gets to be creative every day and I get to run the business. Plus, we are on different floors in our building! We still come home every night and ask “How did your day go?” It’s not perfect, but for us, it’s as close as it gets and allows us to be 50/50 partners in both business and life.

--

--