5 Ways To Identify & Retain Fantastic Talent, with Matt Baxter of Wedge

Kage Spatz
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readAug 27, 2020

--

Matt Baxter

I believe in people and believe in giving people who are eager to learn the opportunity to bring new energy to the team.

As a part of my HR Strategy Series, I’m talking to top experts in the field to teach prospects what hiring managers are actually looking for, while also supporting business leaders in their hiring and retention strategies. Today I had the pleasure of talking with Matt Baxter.

Matt Baxter is the CEO of Wedge, the one-way recorded video screening tool that enables candidates to show their true selves. In addition to Wedge, he is the host of The Matt Baxter Show, a podcast focused on purpose, passion, and calling. A serial entrepreneur since the age of 15, Baxter owned and operated Stony Pointe Lawn Care for over 6 years, before selling the business in July 2015. He is a graduate of Hope College.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! First, please tell us what brought you to this specific career path?

I started my first business when I was 15 years old. It was a lawn care company with a little seed capital (a.k.a. a mower) from my dad. Over six years, that company flourished until I had about seven employees. I had the opportunity to sell the…

--

--

Kage Spatz
Authority Magazine

Acquire New Customers, Automated Sales, & Profitable Assets on our dime. Only pay AFTER New Cash flow hits your account. Apply today at Spacetwin.com